Auto Racing
Results | Standings | Schedule | Stats | Drivers | Series:

NASCAR: Newman's team manipulated tires

(AP Photo/Steve Helber)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) NASCAR levied harsh penalties against Ryan Newman's race team Tuesday after determining Richard Childress Racing manipulated the tires Newman used at Auto Club Speedway in California.

There had been rampant speculation throughout the Sprint Cup garage that teams were drilling tiny holes in their tires to allow air to escape during a race. The process is known as "bleeding tires" and NASCAR last week at Martinsville Speedway warned crew chiefs about the penalties that would be levied against any team caught.

Newman was one of four drivers to have his tires taken by NASCAR after the March 22 race at Fontana. The tires were sent for an independent inspection, and NASCAR said Tuesday that Newman's tires were found to have violated a rule that "bars any modifications to the tire or wheel, including the valve stem hardware, that is used to release pressure."

Read More...

Sprint Cup Series

Nationwide Series

Camping World Truck Series

FROM THE NASCAR WIRE
Sunday Martinsville Notebook

Jeff Gordon rallies from penalty, but disappointment lingers

Mar. 29, 2015 (MORE)

FEATURED WRITERS

NASCAR Beat: The Official Podcast of NASCAR

AP NASCAR Podcast
  • AP Podcast

    AP Inside NASCAR

    From Daytona to the Chase, join host Brian Horton and auto racing writers Jenna Fryer and Mike Harris every week as they take a look at the world of NASCAR and offer trackside observations and behind-the-scenes information.

NASCAR News
- Wednesday, April 1, 2015 -

NASCAR Schedule
Sprint CupDuck Commander 500Apr. 114:46 PT5:46 MT6:46 CT7:46 ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 北京时间4:46 MST6:46 EST3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 CT1:46 CET TV: FOX
XFINITYAlert Today Florida 300Feb. 2112:30 PT1:30 MT2:30 CT3:30 ET15:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 北京时间1:30 MST3:30 EST0:30 UAE (+1)2:30 CT21:30 CET TV: FS1
Camping World TruckKansas 250May 85:49 PT6:49 MT7:49 CT8:49 ET20:49 ET0:49 GMT8:49 北京时间5:49 MST7:49 EST4:49 UAE (+1)7:49 CT2:49 CET TV: FS1

NASCAR Leaders: Points
RankDriverPointsWins
1 K.Harvick 263 2
2 J.Logano 239 1
3 M.Truex Jr. 231 0
4 B.Keselowski 206 1
5 K.Kahne 193 0
6 P.Menard 173 0
7 D.Hamlin 172 1
8 D.Earnhardt Jr. 172 0
9 A.Almirola 170 0
10 J.Johnson 168 1
11 M.Kenseth 168 0
12 D.Ragan 163 0
View Full Leaderboard
w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC and Associated Press.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.