Gibbs replaces Kyle Busch in JGR Cup car

(AP Photo/Rick Scuteri, File)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) Ty Gibbs was promoted to NASCAR's top Cup series on Tuesday in an expected announcement that was void of any celebration as Joe Gibbs Racing continues to mourn the loss of Gibbs' father.

Coy Gibbs died in his sleep hours after his 20-year-old son won the Xfinity Series championship on Nov. 5 at Phoenix Raceway. He was 49, the same age as older brother, J.D., when he passed away in 2019.

Joe Gibbs, the NASCAR and NFL Hall of Famer, has lost both his sons a month before their 50th birthdays. Coy Gibbs was vice chairman of his father's NASCAR team at the time of his death.

Read More...

NASCAR Schedule
NASCAR CupNASCAR Cup Series ChampionshipNov. 612:00 PT1:00 MT2:00 CT3:00 ET15:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 北京时间1:00 MST2:00 CST3:00 EST0:00 UAE (+1)2:00 CT21:00 CET17:00 BRT TV: NBC
XFINITYNASCAR Xfinity Series Championship RaceNov. 53:00 PT4:00 MT5:00 CT6:00 ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 北京时间3:00 MST4:00 CST5:00 EST2:00 UAE (+1)4:00 CT23:00 CET19:00 BRT TV: USA
Gander RV & Outdoors TruckLucas Oil 150Nov. 47:00 PT8:00 MT9:00 CT10:00 ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 北京时间7:00 MST8:00 CST9:00 EST6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 CT3:00 CET23:00 BRT TV: FS1
Xfinity Leaders: Points
RankDriverPointsWins
1 T.Gibbs 4040 7
2 N.Gragson 4035 8
3 J.Allgaier 4034 3
4 J.Berry 4024 3
5 A.Allmendinger 2333 5
6 A.Hill 2273 2
7 S.Mayer 2239 0
8 B.Jones 2221 1
9 D.Hemric 2220 0
10 R.Herbst 2197 0
View Full Leaderboard

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.