London 2012
| Athlete Biographies | Schedules | Medals | Teams | Results
Select Event:
(AP Photo/Sergey Ponomarev)

LONDON (AP) From Vino to Wiggo to a British team bent on perfection, there was no shortage of storylines at the London Olympics, and no lack of drama during the cycling program.

There was Alexander Vinokourov winning gold in the men's road race, ruining the dreams of British fans hoping to see their own Mark Cavendish lead the field down the Mall, and the sight of Dutch star Marianne Vos roaring through the rain to win the women's race.

There was Kristin Armstrong's time trial title defense, and the sound of a massive crowd packed around Hampton Court Palace as Bradley Wiggins - fresh of his Tour de France triumph - delivered the home nation the gold medal in the men's time trial.

Read More...

    Interactives

  • cycling

    cycling

    In 1896, cycling made its debut at Athens' Neo Phaliron Velodrome in the first modern Games. It hasn't missed an Olympiad since. Having expanded to four very different events - road, track, mountain and BMX - the sport seems to have something for everybody. Whether it be the grueling 250 km marathon ending at The Mall, the pure speed sprints of the Velodrome or the navigation of the rugged hills of the BMX Track, the appeal of modern cycling is as diverse as its disciplines.

  • See all the interactives
Cycling Medals
CountryTotal
 Great Britain82212
 Germany1416
 Australia1236
 France1304
 United States1214
 Colombia1113
 Netherlands1023
 China0213
 New Zealand0123
 Russia0022
Full Medal List

Featured Athlete

Mike Day
Mike Day
  • Country: United States of America
  • Born: 10/9/1984
  • Height: 6'3" / 1.91m
  • Sport: Cycling
Cycling
  • 08/0308/0308/0308/0303/0803/0803/0803/088:00 AM PT9:00 AM MT10:00 AM CT11:00 AM ET15:0017:0016:0019:00
    Women's Keirin First Round
  • 08/0308/0308/0308/0303/0803/0803/0803/088:00 AM PT9:00 AM MT10:00 AM CT11:00 AM ET15:0017:0016:0019:00
    Women's Keirin First Round - Heat 1
  • 08/0308/0308/0308/0303/0803/0803/0803/088:05 AM PT9:05 AM MT10:05 AM CT11:05 AM ET15:0517:0516:0519:05
    Women's Keirin First Round - Heat 2
  • 08/0308/0308/0308/0303/0803/0803/0803/088:10 AM PT9:10 AM MT10:10 AM CT11:10 AM ET15:1017:1016:1019:10
    Women's Keirin First Round - Heat 3
  • 08/0308/0308/0308/0303/0803/0803/0803/088:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET15:1817:1816:1819:18
    Men's Team Pursuit First Round
w1 © 2014 by STATS LLC and Associated Press.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.