London 2012
| Athlete Biographies | Schedules | Medals | Teams | Results
Select Event:
(AP Photo/Anja Niedringhaus)

LONDON (AP) Roger Bannister will forever be remembered for four laps around the track.

So it was fitting that the first man to break the four-minute mile 58 years ago was front and center at Olympic Stadium on Tuesday night to watch the men's 1,500 meters, known as the metric mile.

"I feel I never really left," the 83-year-old Bannister told The Associated Press after seeing Algeria's Taoufik Makhloufi break away down the stretch to take the Olympic gold medal, the one prize he never collected.

Read More...

    Interactives

  • athletics

    Track & Field

    The largest single sport at the Games, athletics encompasses all track and field disciplines and is comprised of roughly 2,000 athletes. Its roots go back long before the first modern Olympiad of 1896, and can be traced to the ancient Games of Greece, which began in the 8th century BC. Explore the history of the sport, the numerous events that make it up and those who have left their indelible mark on the Summer Games with gold medals and record-setting performances.

  • See all the interactives
Track & Field Medals
CountryTotal
 United States913729
 Russia85518
 Jamaica44412
 Kenya24511
 Germany1438
 Ethiopia3137
 Great Britain4116
 China1056
 Trinidad & Tobago1034
 Australia1203
Full Medal List
Track & Field
  • 08/0308/0308/0308/0303/0803/0803/0803/0812:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET19:2521:2520:2523:25
    Men's 1500m Round 1 - Heat 3
  • 08/0808/0808/0808/0808/0808/0808/0808/0811:45 AM PT12:45 PM MT1:45 PM CT2:45 PM ET18:4520:4519:4522:45
    Women's 1500m Final
w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC and Associated Press.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC and Associated Press is strictly prohibited.