MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

Houston Astros (107-55)


Tue. 10/15 Wed. 10/16 Thu. 10/17 Fri. 10/18 Sat. 10/19
@ NYY 
W 4-1
Box | Recap
@ NYY 
Ppnd
@ NYY 
W 8-3
Box | Recap
@ NYY 
4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT
vs. NYY 
5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST6:08 PM CST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT

Hinch blows whistle, calls sign stealing suspicions 'a joke'

NEW YORK (AP) Astros manager AJ Hinch blew his own whistle Thursday on sign stealing and pitch tipping: He's had enough of allegations about Houston hitters going out of bounds to decipher what's coming at the plate.

Hinch eagerly weighed in again on an issue that won't seem to go away this postseason. He was asked before Game 4 of the AL Championship Series about reports that indicated the New York Yankees suspected the Astros of whistling from their dugout during the opener to communicate pitch selection to their batters.

Major League Baseball looked into it and concluded Houston didn't break any rules, a person familiar with the matter confirmed to The Associated Press. The person spoke on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to discuss it publicly.

 MORE
Leaders
AVG: M. Brantley.311
HR: A. Bregman41
RBI: A. Bregman112
SB: J. Marisnick10
W: J. Verlander21
ERA: G. Cole2.50
Saves: R. Osuna38
K: G. Cole326
General Batting (Rank)
AVG: .274 (1)
Runs: 920 (3)
Hits: 1538 (3)
Home Runs: 288 (3)
Stolen Bases: 67 (17)
OBP: .352 (1)
SLG: .495 (1)
Total Bases: 2781 (2)
General Pitching (Rank)
Earned Run Average: 3.66 (3)
Runs Allowed: 640 (2)
Saves: 47 (5)
Strikeouts: 1671 (1)
OpBA: .221 (1)
OBP: .283 (2)
SLG: .397 (3)
Run Support: 5.66 (3)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
9/30 R. Armenteros Called Up from Minors
9/30 D. Deetz Called Up from Minors
9/30 F. Martes Called Up from Minors
9/30 C. McHugh Removed From 10-Day IL (Right elbow dfiscomfort)
9/30 A. Sanchez Removed From 10-Day IL (Right shoulder surgery - out for season)
Show Transactions
Injuries
Date Player Status
9/6 Y. Gurriel Hamstring (day-to-day)
8/31 C. McHugh Right elbow dfiscomfort (10-day IL)
8/28 B. Peacock Right shoulder discomfort (10-day IL)
8/21 R. Pressly Right knee arthroscopic surgery (10-day IL)
8/21 A. Sanchez Right shoulder surgery - out for season (10-day IL)
Show Injuries

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.