MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#21
Vince Velasquez
ERA W-L K
4.95 6-7 113
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 203
Position: SPBorn: 6/7/1992 Birthplace: Montclair, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Astros (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 8 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed four runs on six hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Mets 10-7 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 3.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 6-7, allowing two runs on five hits in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-3 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed seven runs on five hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Miami Marlins 19-11 on Friday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 5-7, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the San Diego Padres 8-4 on Friday. Velasquez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST4:42 PM CST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 4-7, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Saturday. Velasquez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 9:48 PM PT10:48 PM MT11:48 PM CT12:48 AM ET0:48 ET4:48 GMT12:48 9:48 PM MST11:48 PM EST10:48 PM CST12:18 AM VEN8:48 UAE11:48 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 4-6, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3 on Monday. Velasquez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 31 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 3-6, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-1 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 24 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 3-5, allowing four hits and two walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-0 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 16 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed five runs - four earned - on five hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-8 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs on six hits in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Mets 7-2 on Friday. Velasquez struck out three, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-5, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Miami Marlins 6-2 on Friday. Velasquez struck out six, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 22 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run on one hit in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Saturday. Velasquez struck out five, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-4, allowing four runs on four hits in 2.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Atlanta Braves 15-1 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-8 on Friday. Velasquez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 12 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST7:28 PM CST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-0 on Wednesday. Velasquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 9 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Vince Velasquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Friday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
June 5 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST5:17 PM CST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Vince Velasquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the San Diego Padres 7-5 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 2 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-3, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-0 on Sunday. Velasquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 2 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3 on Saturday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-1 on Sunday. Velasquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 2-2, allowing one hit and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-4 on Friday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 12 12:05 AM PT1:05 AM MT2:05 AM CT3:05 AM ET3:05 ET7:05 GMT15:05 12:05 AM MST2:05 AM EST1:05 AM CST2:35 AM VEN11:05 UAE2:05 AM CT-Velasquez (right forearm strain) has been activated from the injured list but will work out of the bullpen.
Analysis: Velasquez pitched well early on but really struggled in his final two starts prior to hitting the IL, allowing eight runs and eight walks over 7 2/3 innings in those outings. Nick Pivetta will take his rotation spot, at least for now.
May 6 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on four hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0 on Monday. Velasquez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Mets 6-0 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out six, ending the game with a 1.99 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Friday. Velasquez struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs on four hits in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Monday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Vince Velasquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Washington Nationals 8-2 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Hou 1 1 0 - 0 19 7 0 55.2 50 28 27 5 21 0 58 1.28 4.37
2016 Phi 8 6 0 - 0 24 24 1 131.0 129 64 60 21 45 1 152 1.33 4.12
2017 Phi 2 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 72.0 74 44 41 15 34 1 68 1.50 5.13
2018 Phi 9 12 0 - 0 31 30 0 146.2 138 83 79 16 59 1 161 1.34 4.85
2019 Phi 6 7 0 - 0 30 20 0 103.2 103 59 57 24 41 2 113 1.39 4.95
Career 26 33 0 - 0 119 96 1 509.0 494 278 264 81 200 5 552 1.36 4.67

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Phi 24 40 4 8 1 0 0 0 1 16 0 0 .200 .220 .225
2017 Phi 16 24 1 6 0 0 0 1 1 4 0 0 .250 .280 .250
2018 Phi 32 40 2 9 1 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .225 .225 .250
2019 Phi 32 27 2 6 0 0 1 3 2 8 0 0 .222 .276 .333
Career 123 131 9 29 2 0 1 5 4 39 0 0 .221 .244 .260


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1284 98 88 94.1 68.52
Curveball 188 86 79 83.5 10.03
Slider 383 91 81 86.5 20.44
Changeup 19 91 88 89.3 1.01

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.