MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#55
Josh Bell
AVG HR RBI
.236 14 34
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 230 NFBC ADP: 304.23
Position: 1BBorn: 8/14/1992 Birthplace: Irving, Texas
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 2nd Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
June 24 8:34 AM PT9:34 AM MT10:34 AM CT11:34 AM ET11:34 ET15:34 GMT23:34 8:34 AM MST10:34 AM EST11:04 AM VEN19:34 UAE10:34 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3. The homer was his 14th of the season. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Analysis: It's the second homer in three games for the 24-year-old, who's now gone deep five times while producing 12 RBIs in 20 contests this month. Bell is 4 for 11 over his last three games
June 22 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 with an RBI Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2. Bell added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
June 22 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3. The homer was his 13th of the season. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: After struggling to a .198 average in May, Bell is hitting .274 (17 for 62) with four homers and 10 RBIs through his first 18 games of June. The 24-year-old sports a .306 average and a 1.077 OPS against right-handers this month.
June 20 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 7-3. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
June 19 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 5 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 8-1. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
June 18 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Chicago Cubs 7-1. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
June 18 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 with a double Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Chicago Cubs 4-3. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
June 16 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Bell went 2 for 4 with a triple, a home run and three RBIs Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Chicago Cubs 9-5. The homer was his 12th of the season. Bell scored twice. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
Analysis: He is 10 for 26 over the last eight games.
June 15 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-1. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
June 14 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Colorado Rockies 5-2. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
June 12 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Bell went 1 for 1 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Colorado Rockies 7-2. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: He's 7 for 16 over a five-game stretch.
June 11 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
June 10 5:45 PM PT6:45 PM MT7:45 PM CT8:45 PM ET20:45 ET0:45 GMT8:45 5:45 PM MST7:45 PM EST8:15 PM VEN4:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Josh Bell went 3 for 5 with a triple and an RBI Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Miami Marlins 7-6. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: Bell set a season high with three hits and matched a personal best.
June 9 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 12-7. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
June 9 8:32 AM PT9:32 AM MT10:32 AM CT11:32 AM ET11:32 ET15:32 GMT23:32 8:32 AM MST10:32 AM EST11:02 AM VEN19:32 UAE10:32 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 2 with a double and an RBI Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 7-1. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
June 7 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Baltimore Orioles 9-6. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
June 6 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
June 5 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 5 with an RBI Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the New York Mets 11-1. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
June 4 9:18 PM PT10:18 PM MT11:18 PM CT12:18 AM ET0:18 ET4:18 GMT12:18 9:18 PM MST11:18 PM EST11:48 PM VEN8:18 UAE11:18 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the New York Mets 4-2. The homer was his 11th of the season. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
Analysis: After going 13 straight games without homering, Bell has connected for one in each of the first two matchups in this series. The 24-year-old hit just .128 (6 for 47) over a 12-game stretch prior to Friday's 2-for-4, two-RBI performance, so it appears he's breaking out of his slump.
June 2 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the New York Mets 12-7. The homer was his 10th of the season. Bell scored twice. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
June 1 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-5. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
May 30 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Bell went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-0. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
Analysis: He's 3 for 30 with eight strikeouts in his last seven games.
May 29 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET20:47 ET0:47 GMT8:47 5:47 PM MST7:47 PM EST8:17 PM VEN4:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 2 with an RBI Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
May 29 8:10 AM PT9:10 AM MT10:10 AM CT11:10 AM ET11:10 ET15:10 GMT23:10 8:10 AM MST10:10 AM EST10:40 AM VEN19:10 UAE10:10 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 7-2. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 28 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 5 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the New York Mets 5-4. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
May 27 10:15 AM PT11:15 AM MT12:15 PM CT1:15 PM ET13:15 ET17:15 GMT1:15 10:15 AM MST12:15 PM EST12:45 PM VEN21:15 UAE12:15 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 8-1. He ended the game with a .237 batting average.
May 25 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 5 with a double Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Atlanta Braves 9-4. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
May 25 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 6 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Atlanta Braves 12-5. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
May 24 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-5. Bell scored twice. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: Bell is hitting .314 with four homers, four doubles and 11 RBIs over his last 11 games.
May 23 9:04 PM PT10:04 PM MT11:04 PM CT12:04 AM ET0:04 ET4:04 GMT12:04 9:04 PM MST11:04 PM EST11:34 PM VEN8:04 UAE11:04 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-2. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
May 21 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Philadelphia Phillies 1-0. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
May 20 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 19 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Bell is 8 for 22 with four homers, three doubles and 10 RBIs over a seven-game hit streak.
May 18 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Washington Nationals 10-4. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Analysis: Bell homered for the second straight game and for the fourth time in his last six contests. He's had one hit in each of those six games, with the other two being doubles, and has driven in nine runs.
May 17 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Washington Nationals 6-1. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: Bell has hit three of his eight homers in the last five games. His other two hits in that span were doubles.
May 16 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 8-4. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
May 15 6:57 AM PT7:57 AM MT8:57 AM CT9:57 AM ET9:57 ET13:57 GMT21:57 6:57 AM MST8:57 AM EST9:27 AM VEN17:57 UAE8:57 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
May 14 9:06 AM PT10:06 AM MT11:06 AM CT12:06 PM ET12:06 ET16:06 GMT0:06 9:06 AM MST11:06 AM EST11:36 AM VEN20:06 UAE11:06 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 2 with a double Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
May 13 10:08 AM PT11:08 AM MT12:08 PM CT1:08 PM ET13:08 ET17:08 GMT1:08 10:08 AM MST12:08 PM EST12:38 PM VEN21:08 UAE12:08 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-4. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Analysis: Bell had entered the day in an 0-for-14 slump and didn't even start two of Pittsburgh's previous three games.
May 12 8:27 AM PT9:27 AM MT10:27 AM CT11:27 AM ET11:27 ET15:27 GMT23:27 8:27 AM MST10:27 AM EST10:57 AM VEN19:27 UAE10:27 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-1. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 11 8:32 AM PT9:32 AM MT10:32 AM CT11:32 AM ET11:32 ET15:32 GMT23:32 8:32 AM MST10:32 AM EST11:02 AM VEN19:32 UAE10:32 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
May 10 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
May 9 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 4 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 12-1. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 7 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-2. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
May 6 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a double Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
Analysis: Bell is hitting .351 in his last 10 games.
May 6 9:45 PM PT10:45 PM MT11:45 PM CT12:45 AM ET0:45 ET4:45 GMT12:45 9:45 PM MST11:45 PM EST12:15 AM VEN8:45 UAE11:45 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and an RBI Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Milwaukee Brewers 4-0. The homer was his fifth of the season. Bell scored twice. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
May 4 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-2. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
Analysis: Bell is 9 for 29 (.310) with two homers, three RBIs and six runs over his last eight games.
May 3 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Cincinnati Reds 7-2. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
May 2 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Cincinnati Reds 12-3. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
May 1 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Josh Bell went 0 for 3 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
Analysis: Bell had hit safely in his previous four games while going 6 for 14 with two homers, three RBIs and five runs scored.
Apr. 30 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Josh Bell went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Miami Marlins 10-3. The homer was his fourth of the season. Bell stole a base. He ended the game with a .257 batting average.
Analysis: Bell is starting to see the ball better, going 6 for 14 with two homers and three walks in his last four games.
Apr. 29 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Miami Marlins 4-0. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Apr. 29 11:43 PM PT12:43 AM MT1:43 AM CT2:43 AM ET2:43 ET6:43 GMT14:43 11:43 PM MST1:43 AM EST2:13 AM VEN10:43 UAE1:43 AM CT-Josh Bell went 1 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Miami Marlins 12-2. Bell scored once. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Apr. 27 9:41 PM PT10:41 PM MT11:41 PM CT12:41 AM ET0:41 ET4:41 GMT12:41 9:41 PM MST11:41 PM EST12:11 AM VEN8:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Bell hit his third homer of the season Wednesday in a win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Bell has reaches base in 11 straight games, going 10 for 30 with three homers, five RBIs, five runs and five walks.
Apr. 21 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Bell homered for the second straight game Friday, hitting a two-run shot against the Yankees.
Analysis: He's 5 for 15 over his last four games after hitting .156 in his first 12.
Apr. 19 5:38 PM PT6:38 PM MT7:38 PM CT8:38 PM ET20:38 ET0:38 GMT8:38 5:38 PM MST7:38 PM EST8:08 PM VEN4:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Bell hit his first homer of the season Wednesday in St. Louis.
Analysis: He's 4 for 12 over his last three games after hitting .156 in his first 12.
Feb. 1 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Bell underwent left knee surgery on Wednesday and could miss the start of spring training later this month. Bell told the team last month he was dealing with discomfort in the knee. Team doctors recommended surgery to remove a loose body they believe was causing the problem. Bell is expected to return to baseball activities in two to four weeks.
Analysis: The 24-year-old Bell, a second-round pick by the Pirates in 2011, hit .273 with three home runs and 19 RBIs in 45 games in 2016 after making his big-league debut on July 8. He is expected to compete for playing time at first, though he also saw time in right field last season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Pit 45 128 18 35 8 0 3 19 21 19 0 1 .273 .368 .406
2017 Pit 75 250 35 59 12 2 14 34 29 56 2 1 .236 .317 .468
Career 120 378 53 94 20 2 17 53 50 75 2 2 .249 .335 .447


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.