MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Steven Souza Jr.
AVG HR RBI
.242 10 31
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 267.87
Position: RFBorn: 4/24/1989 Birthplace: Everett, Washington
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
July 16 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET20:56 ET0:56 GMT8:56 5:56 PM MST7:56 PM EST8:26 PM VEN4:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Souza had two hits and drove in the Rays' lone run in Saturday's 2-1 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: He was 0 for 16 with eight strikeouts in his previous four contests.
July 6 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Souza was in the starting lineup one day after being pulled Tuesday night for not running hard out of the batter's box in what turned into a triple after his routine fly ball dropped between two Los Angeles outfielders.
Analysis: "It was over the second the game was over," Rays manager Kevin Cash said. Souza admitted his mistake. "I was really impressed with the way he handled it," Cash said. "He owned it. He had a lapse. We all have lapses. We'll look to move past it now."
July 6 10:20 AM PT11:20 AM MT12:20 PM CT1:20 PM ET13:20 ET17:20 GMT1:20 10:20 AM MST12:20 PM EST12:50 PM VEN21:20 UAE12:20 PM CT-Souza went 2 for 2 with an RBI and a steal Tuesday, but he was pulled from the game shortly after he tripled and scored in the fourth inning.
Analysis: Souza says he was removed by manager Kevin Cash for not running hard the whole play, saying "it's a bit embarrassing." Souza is 5 for 12 in four games since being sidelined by a strained hip.
July 4 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Souza went 2 for 4 with an RBI on Monday.
Analysis: Souza may be getting his timing back after missing 17 games with a hip injury. He went 1 for 7 with three strikeouts in his first two games back before Monday's performance.
June 14 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Souza Jr. returned Saturday after missing 17 games due to a strained left hip and went 1 for 3.
Analysis: Souza was picked off first base by Verlander after a second-inning infield single.
May 24 10:29 AM PT11:29 AM MT12:29 PM CT1:29 PM ET13:29 ET17:29 GMT1:29 10:29 AM MST12:29 PM EST12:59 PM VEN21:29 UAE12:29 PM CT-Souza had three hits and drove in a run in a 7-6 loss to Miami on Monday.
Analysis: Souza is batting .350 in his last 10 games and has raised his average to .279.
May 17 8:16 AM PT9:16 AM MT10:16 AM CT11:16 AM ET11:16 ET15:16 GMT23:16 8:16 AM MST10:16 AM EST10:46 AM VEN19:16 UAE10:16 AM CT-Souza had three hits, including an RBI single, in Monday's 13-2 win at Toronto.
Analysis: The Tampa outfielder has been swinging the bat well of late, registering a .317 average with three home runs over an 11-game stretch.
Apr. 25 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Souza had a two-run homer and a solo shot in Sunday's win over the Yankees.
Analysis: Souza's five home runs are tied for the team lead and he's 5 for 12 with five RBIs over a three-game tear.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Was 21 23 2 3 0 0 2 2 3 7 0 0 .130 .231 .391
2015 TB 110 373 59 84 15 1 16 40 46 144 12 6 .225 .318 .399
2016 TB 72 269 31 65 11 1 10 31 19 101 4 4 .242 .296 .401
Career 203 665 92 152 26 2 28 73 68 252 16 10 .229 .306 .400


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.