MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Masahiro Tanaka
ERA W-L K
2.77 13-5 141
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205 NFBC ADP: 101.11
Position: SPBorn: 11/1/1988 Birthplace: Itami, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 27 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE2:11 PM CT-Tanaka's shortest stint with the New York Yankees is over with two outs in the second inning against the Boston Red Sox.
Analysis: In his 20th major league start after an unbeaten season in Japan, Tanaka was charged with seven hits and seven runs, five of them earned Saturday. He struck out two and walked two. Tanaka signed a $155 million, seven-year contract with the Yankees after going 24-0 with a 1.27 ERA last year with the Rakuten Golden Eagles.
Sep. 22 8:08 AM PT9:08 AM MT10:08 AM CT11:08 AM ET11:08 ET15:08 GMT23:08 8:08 AM MST10:08 AM EST10:38 AM VEN19:08 UAE10:08 AM CT-Tanaka made a triumphant return from an elbow injury that sidelined him for 2 1/2 months and a rejuvenated Derek Jeter got yet another big hit on his final homestand, leading the New York Yankees over the Toronto Blue Jays 5-2 Sunday.
Analysis: Tanaka allowed one run and five hits over 5 1-3 innings while striking out four and walking none. He's scheduled to take the mound against at Boston over the weekend.
Aug. 29 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Tanaka has been activated by the New York Yankees to start against Toronto following 2 1/2 months on the disabled list because of a partially torn elbow ligament.
Analysis: Tanaka was to have a limit of 70-75 pitches against the Blue Jays on Sunday. The right-hander had not pitched in a big league game since July 9, hoping the ulnar collateral ligament would not need surgery.
Aug. 29 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Tanaka is being sent back to New York because of general soreness in his right arm. Tanaka said before Friday night's game in Toronto that he wanted to be cautious.
Analysis: He hasn't pitched in a game since July 8 as he recovers from a partial tear in his elbow.
Aug. 28 10:10 AM PT11:10 AM MT12:10 PM CT1:10 PM ET13:10 ET17:10 GMT1:10 10:10 AM MST12:10 PM EST12:40 PM VEN21:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-New York Yankees star Masahiro Tanaka threw 49 pitches in a simulated game Thursday and did not report any unusual pain as he recovers from a partial tear of the ulnar collateral ligament.
Analysis: The Japanese right-hander is 12-4 with a 2.51 ERA in his first season in the majors, but he hasn't pitched since July 8. Manager Joe Girardi says Tanaka didn't shy away from any of his pitches Thursday, and Tanaka said any soreness he felt was normal for a session like this.
Aug. 20 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Tanaka says his injured elbow felt fine after facing batters for the first time in more than a month.
Analysis: New York Yankees pitching coach Larry Rothschild and manager Joe Girardi were pleased with Japanese All-Star's 35-pitch effort Saturday morning. Tanaka has been trying to work his way back from a partial ligament tear in his right elbow rather than face season-ending surgery.
Aug. 15 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Tanaka is scheduled to throw 25 pitches Saturday in his first bullpen session since going on the disabled list with a partial tear in his right elbow.
Analysis: The Yankees put Tanaka on the disabled list on July 9 and hope he can return next month. Tanaka says he has "no pain" in his comeback work and Girardi says "everything has been positive" so far. Tanaka threw on level ground for 12 minutes Friday. He also took grounders for 4 minutes and made pickoff throws to first base.
Aug. 5 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Tanaka has gone through a stepped-up workout in his effort to return the New York Yankees' rotation. Yankees manager Joe Girardi says Tanaka made 50 throws from 60 feet before Tuesday night's game against Detroit. That's twice as many tosses as Tanaka took Monday in his first action since being shut down in early July because of a small tear in his right elbow.
Analysis: Girardi says Tanaka's latest session had "increased intensity." The 25-year-old Tanaka will take a planned day off Wednesday and resume his workouts Thursday. The Japanese rookie was 12-4 with a 2.51 ERA before going on the disabled list. He is hoping to avoid Tommy John surgery. There is no timetable yet as to when Tanaka might be able to pitch again in a game for the Yankees.
July 11 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Tanaka accepts his elbow injury as ''a challenge'' and vows to return soon to help the team win.
Analysis: Tanaka was placed on the 15-day disabled list on Wednesday with a partially torn ulnar collateral ligament in his right elbow. He is 12-4 with a 2.51 ERA after spending seven years in Japan's Pacific League. Tanaka, who hopes to avoid surgery, issued a statement Friday that said ''I want to apologize to the Yankees organization, my teammates and our fans for not being able to help during this time.''
July 9 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Tanaka, who is on the 15-day disabled list with inflammation in his right elbow, was expected to meet with a team doctor Thursday night in Seattle. New York manager Joe Girardi said Tanaka has flown from New York to Seattle, where Dr. Christopher Ahmad, the team's head physician is attending a conference.
Analysis: "Probably within the next 24 hours we will have (an update)," Girardi said before Thursday's game against the Cleveland Indians. "Obviously you're curious to see what the diagnosis is and what they feel the time is necessary to get him back on the mound. So until then we just kind of wait to see what Dr. Ahmad says."
July 9 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Tanaka lost for the third time in four starts in Tuesday's 5-3 defeat at Cleveland.
Analysis: Tanaka gave up five runs and 10 hits, both season-worst marks. He's 1-3 with a 4.25 ERA over his last four outings.
July 4 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Tanaka matched a season high with four runs allowed Thursday but got enough support for a 7-4 victory over Minnesota, his major league-best 12th.
Analysis: Tanaka (12-3, 2.27 ERA) had lost his previous two starts, getting one run of support while giving up five in 16 innings.
June 29 10:37 AM PT11:37 AM MT12:37 PM CT1:37 PM ET13:37 ET17:37 GMT1:37 10:37 AM MST12:37 PM EST1:07 PM VEN21:37 UAE12:37 PM CT-Tanaka suffered Saturday's 2-1 loss to the BoSox.
Analysis: Tanaka, the top winner in the majors and the AL ERA leader, struck out eight and went the distance. The fantasy stud will try to regroup next week in Minnesota.
June 23 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Tanaka's string of consecutive starts with a victory came to an end at five on Sunday as he gave up three runs over seven innings in New York's 8-0 loss to Baltimore.
Analysis: The three runs matched a season-high against Tanaka, but he still owns a 1.72 ERA over his last eight starts.
June 12 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Tanaka is 10-1 after throwing his second complete game in Wednesday's win over Seattle.
Analysis: He's won four straight starts with a 1.21 ERA.
June 6 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)4:08 PM CT-Tanaka improved to 9-1 in Thursday's 2-1 win over Oakland.
Analysis: He allowed a run and five hits in six innings and is 3-0 with a 0.87 ERA in his last three starts.
May 26 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Tanaka surrendered a run and five hits while striking out six in Sunday's 7-1 win over the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: Tanaka bounced back from his first loss in the big leagues with another strong victory. He's won four of his last five starts.
May 10 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Tanaka allowed two runs in 6 2-3 innings to beat the Brewers 5-3 on Friday.
Analysis: Tanaka is now 5-0 with a 2.57 ERA. He's fanned 58 and walked just seven over 49 innings thus far.
May 4 11:28 AM PT12:28 PM MT1:28 PM CT2:28 PM ET14:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE1:28 PM CT-Tanaka improved to 4-0 on Saturday.
Analysis: Signed by the Yankees from Japan's Rakuten Golden Eagles during the offseason, Tanaka allowed three runs and eight hits in seven innings, striking out his last two batters to give him a season-low five or the day. Tanaka is 32-0 in regular season games since losing to Seibu on Aug. 19, 2012. He gets his first MLB at-bats next Friday in Milwaukee against the powerful Brewers.
Apr. 28 12:04 PM PT1:04 PM MT2:04 PM CT3:04 PM ET15:04 ET19:04 GMT3:04 12:04 PM MST2:04 PM EST2:34 PM VEN23:04 UAE2:04 PM CT-Tanaka struck out a season-high 11, including Mike Trout twice, and overcame an early bout of wildness Sunday night.
Analysis: Tanaka walked four in 6 1-3 innings against the Angels, who began the day leading the majors in homers. The $155 million rookie was on the hook for his first regular-season loss since August 2012 in Japan until Mark Teixeira homered leading off the seventh. It's been 20 months since the superstar lost a regular-season game - in any country. He faces the Rays next.
Apr. 23 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Tanaka nailed down his third win of the season Tuesday against Boston.
Analysis: The right-hander was strong again, limiting the Red Sox to two runs and seven hits over 7 1-3 innings while striking out nine. He's pitched at least seven innings in all four starts while compiling a 2.15 ERA.
Apr. 16 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Tanaka dominated again in Wednesday's 3-0 win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Tanaka struck out 10 and allowed two bunt hits in eight sparkling innings. You know what you are going to get in fantasy play with the Yankees newcomer - lots of strikeouts and a great effort. He has taken the majors by storm, there is simply no doubt about that.
Apr. 10 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Tanaka was outstanding in his Bronx debut Wednesday.
Analysis: The Japanese fantasy stud struck out 10 Orioles and allowed three runs in seven innings. Still Adam Jones, who fanned twice, wasn't impressed. "We're not the same hitters he faced over there. We groove, we hack," said Jones, who struck out twice before getting a single in his three at-bats off Tanaka. Next week, Tanaka gets his first taste of interleague play as he faces the Cubs.
Apr. 5 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Tanaka pitched seven innings in his major league debut for the New York Yankees, as he beat the Jays 7-3.
Analysis: Tanaka allowed three runs, two earned, and six hits, walked none and struck out eight. He threw 97 pitches, 65 strikes, and earned his 100th professional victory. "He's definitely the real deal," Blue Jays manager John Gibbons said.
Apr. 4 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Tanaka is scheduled to make his major league debut Friday.
Analysis: Tanaka will face the Blue Jays north of the border. His United States debut is next week in the Bronx.
Feb. 28 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET17:55 GMT1:55 10:55 AM MST12:55 PM EST1:25 PM VEN21:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Tanaka could make his first regular-season start in the New York Yankees' third or fourth game.
Analysis: The Yankees complete a three-game series at Houston on April 3, then have a day off before a three-game set at Toronto. Yankees manager Joe Girardi said Friday "I think that's pretty safe to say" the Japanese right-hander will start game three or four.
Feb. 12 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Tanaka has finished up his first throwing session with the team.
Analysis: Tanaka worked out Wednesday at the minor league part of the Yankees' spring training complex. Pitching coach Larry Rothschild said Tanaka "looked good" during a long toss session. It should be determined in the next couple days when the 25-year-old right-hander will throw off a mound.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 NYY 13 5 0 - 0 20 20 3 136.1 123 47 42 15 21 0 141 1.06 2.77
Career 13 5 0 - 0 20 20 3 136.1 123 47 42 15 21 0 141 1.06 2.77

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 NYY 20 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .111 .111 .111
Career 20 9 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .111 .111 .111

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 806 96 87 90.6 40.12
Curveball 116 80 69 72.9 5.77
Slider 444 89 79 83.2 22.1
Changeup 107 88 81 84.7 5.33
Split-Finger 414 91 83 86.4 20.61
Cut Fastball 122 94 86 88.9 6.07

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.