MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#9
Javier Báez
AVG HR RBI
.254 10 28
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-0 / 190 NFBC ADP: 128.03
Position: 2BBorn: 12/1/1992 Birthplace: Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cubs (2011)


Latest News
June 23 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Baez went 2 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: He is 8 for 19 over a five-game stretch.
June 23 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 11-1. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
June 20 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Diego Padres 4-0. Baez scored once. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
June 20 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 3 with a double Monday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Diego Padres 3-2. Baez scored once. He ended the game with a .249 batting average.
Analysis: Baez has two hits and a double in each of the past two games.
June 18 4:57 PM PT5:57 PM MT6:57 PM CT7:57 PM ET19:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)6:57 PM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 4 with a double Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1. Baez scored once. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
Analysis: Baez registered his first multihit game since June 3 to break out of a 3-for-30 slump and gain some momentum heading into the Cubs' upcoming home series with San Diego. The talented infielder is batting .289 with an .873 OPS at Wrigley Field this season, significantly better than his .200 average and .610 OPS on the road.
June 18 10:57 PM PT11:57 PM MT12:57 AM CT1:57 AM ET1:57 ET5:57 GMT13:57 10:57 PM MST12:57 AM EST1:27 AM VEN9:57 UAE12:57 AM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Analysis: Baez continues to struggle mightily of late, having gone 3 for 30 with 11 strikeouts over his last 11 games. He's now batting a lowly .185 on the road for the season, though he has homered four times in 81 at-bats away from home.
June 15 9:54 AM PT10:54 AM MT11:54 AM CT12:54 PM ET12:54 ET16:54 GMT0:54 9:54 AM MST11:54 AM EST12:24 PM VEN20:54 UAE11:54 AM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 9-4. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
June 14 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 1 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the New York Mets 14-3. The homer was his 10th of the season. He ended the game with a .251 batting average.
June 12 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 2 with a walk Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Mets 6-1. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
Analysis: Baez is 2 for 22 with nine strikeouts over his last eight games.
June 11 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 7-5. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: Baez's season average has plunged 20 points thanks to a 2-for-20 slump with eight strikeouts over the past week. Those struggles may linger, as he's hitting just .197 on the road this season and the Cubs play their next six games away from home.
June 10 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 9-1. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
June 9 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-3. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Baez is 2 for 16 with six strikeouts in his last five games and has left 12 runners on base over that span.
June 9 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-1. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
June 8 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 6-5. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
June 7 9:22 AM PT10:22 AM MT11:22 AM CT12:22 PM ET12:22 ET16:22 GMT0:22 9:22 AM MST11:22 AM EST11:52 AM VEN20:22 UAE11:22 AM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 3 with a double and two RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 10-2. Baez scored once. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
Analysis: Baez's double was his seventh of the season and first since May 6. However, he has hit six homers since then. Among second basemen, his nine homers are tied for fifth and his 27 RBIs are sixth.
June 5 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Monday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .265 batting average.
June 3 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs topped the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
Analysis: Baez has hit two homers in his last four games and is 6 for 18 in his last five. He is 2 for 7 with a pair of doubles against Michael Wacha, St. Louis' scheduled starter for Sunday.
May 31 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the San Diego Padres 2-1. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
May 30 10:58 AM PT11:58 AM MT12:58 PM CT1:58 PM ET13:58 ET17:58 GMT1:58 10:58 AM MST12:58 PM EST1:28 PM VEN21:58 UAE12:58 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 4 Monday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 5-2. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
May 28 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
May 27 8:32 AM PT9:32 AM MT10:32 AM CT11:32 AM ET11:32 ET15:32 GMT23:32 8:32 AM MST10:32 AM EST11:02 AM VEN19:32 UAE10:32 AM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-0. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
May 25 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Francisco Giants 5-1. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
May 25 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 2 with an RBI Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Francisco Giants 5-4. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
Analysis: Baez also had a sacrifice fly and a sac bunt as he was moved into the leadoff spot. He's gone 8 for 13 with eight RBIs in his last four starts.
May 23 7:16 AM PT8:16 AM MT9:16 AM CT10:16 AM ET10:16 ET14:16 GMT22:16 7:16 AM MST9:16 AM EST9:46 AM VEN18:16 UAE9:16 AM CT-Baez went 3 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-4. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
Analysis: He's 7 for 11 with two homers and seven RBIs in his last three games.
May 19 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-3. Baez scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 18 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Javier Baez went 3 for 3 with a home run and five RBIs Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. The homer was his sixth of the season. Baez scored twice. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Analysis: Baez had his fist multihit game since May 7, going just 3 for 26 without a walk in his previous eight contests.
May 17 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Cincinnati Reds 9-5. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
May 14 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
May 13 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3. Baez scored once. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 4 Friday as the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 3-2. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
May 10 5:16 PM PT6:16 PM MT7:16 PM CT8:16 PM ET20:16 ET0:16 GMT8:16 5:16 PM MST7:16 PM EST7:46 PM VEN4:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 3-0. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
May 10 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 8-1. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
May 9 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 10-4 in the first game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 8 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 5-4. The homer was his fourth of the season. Baez stole a base. He ended the game with a .261 batting average.
May 6 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 4 with a double and an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the New York Yankees 11-6. Baez scored twice. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
Analysis: Baez is 9 for 21 with two homers, a double, a triple, five RBIs and six runs over his last six games.
May 5 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 1 Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 4 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 5 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. He ended the game with a .253 batting average.
May 4 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Javier Baez went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4. Baez added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
May 3 11:11 PM PT12:11 AM MT1:11 AM CT2:11 AM ET2:11 ET6:11 GMT14:11 11:11 PM MST1:11 AM EST1:41 AM VEN10:11 UAE1:11 AM CT-Javier Baez went 4 for 4 with a triple, a home run and three RBIs Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3. The homer was his third of the season. Baez scored twice. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
Analysis: Baez hit his second homer in as many days and tied his career high with hits. Dating to last season, he is 11 for 13 with seven RBIS in his last four games against the Phillies.
May 2 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-Javier Baez went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-2. The homer was his second of the season. Baez scored twice. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Analysis: Baez got a rare start at shortstop as Cubs manager Joe Maddon gave Addison Russell the night off.
Apr. 29 11:46 PM PT12:46 AM MT1:46 AM CT2:46 AM ET2:46 ET6:46 GMT14:46 11:46 PM MST1:46 AM EST2:16 AM VEN10:46 UAE1:46 AM CT-Javier Baez went 0 for 3 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
Apr. 9 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Baez had two hits and drove in two runs Saturday, a day after he was bruised around the left eye in an outfield collision and left the game.
Analysis: Joe Maddon said Baez, who was just 1 for 10 to start the season, will have a scheduled day off Sunday. ''I'm 100 percent normal,'' Baez said. ''I went to hit, and I was feeling good. Since I came out of the game, I was icing it, so the swelling was going down. It was kind of purple today, but I'm good.''
Apr. 7 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Baez is in Saturday's lineup one night after exiting the Cubs' loss at Milwaukee following an outfield collision with teammate Jayson Heyward in the sixth inning.
Analysis: Baez sustained a bruise around his left eye from Heyward's inadvertent elbow but told reporters he's otherwise fine. Cubs manager Joe Maddon added that the second baseman will receive a regularly scheduled day off in Sunday's series finale.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 ChC 52 213 25 36 6 0 9 20 15 95 5 1 .169 .227 .324
2015 ChC 28 76 4 22 6 0 1 4 4 24 1 2 .289 .325 .408
2016 ChC 142 421 50 115 19 1 14 59 15 108 12 3 .273 .314 .423
2017 ChC 63 197 27 50 10 1 10 28 10 53 2 2 .254 .290 .467
Career 285 907 106 223 41 2 34 111 44 280 20 8 .246 .289 .408

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 ChC Total 6 15 1 5 0 0 1 3 0 4 2 0 .333 .333 .533
    LDS 2 5 1 4 0 0 1 3 0 0 1 0 .800 .800 1.400
    LCS 4 10 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 1 0 .100 .100 .100
2016 ChC Total 17 68 8 18 4 0 2 8 2 21 2 0 .265 .282 .412
    LDS 4 16 4 6 0 0 1 2 1 4 0 0 .375 .412 .563
    LCS 6 22 3 7 4 0 0 5 1 4 2 0 .318 .333 .500
    WS 7 30 1 5 0 0 1 1 0 13 0 0 .167 .167 .267
Career 23 83 9 23 4 0 3 11 2 25 4 0 .277 .291 .434


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.