MLB Baseball

#58
Carl Edwards Jr.
ERA S K
3.09 2 42
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 170
Position: RPBorn: 9/3/1991 Birthplace: Newberry, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 48th Round by Rangers (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 16 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-5 on Tuesday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. improved to 4-3, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Monday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 4-3 on Saturday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Tuesday. Edwards Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 11-5 on Saturday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 5-1 on Tuesday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Saturday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 26 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST11:29 PM CST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-1 on Monday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 24 5:01 PM PT6:01 PM MT7:01 PM CT8:01 PM ET20:01 ET0:01 GMT8:01 5:01 PM MST7:01 PM EST6:01 PM CST7:31 PM VEN4:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. improved to 3-3, allowing one hit and one walk over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 17 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)2:36 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 7-3 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-4 on Friday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 10 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST3:41 PM CST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 4-3 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
July 3 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. fell to 2-3, allowing three runs - two earned - on four hits in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 7-4 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 29 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST2:59 PM CST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)2:59 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. fell to 2-2, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-7 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. improved to 2-1, allowing two hits over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-2 on Monday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
June 25 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Texas Rangers 3-2 on Saturday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
June 24 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. improved to 1-1, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Friday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Tuesday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
June 19 12:09 PM PT1:09 PM MT2:09 PM CT3:09 PM ET15:09 ET19:09 GMT3:09 12:09 PM MST2:09 PM EST1:09 PM CST2:39 PM VEN23:09 UAE1:09 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-3 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Friday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
June 17 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)2:43 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-3 on Friday. Edwards Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed three runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-2 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 12 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)2:51 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.81 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 1.65 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-5 on Friday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
June 1 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)2:17 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-0 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 29 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)2:54 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Sunday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 28 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST1:47 PM CST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Colorado Rockies 13-7 on Saturday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 25 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 1-0 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 9-4 on Tuesday. Edwards Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-0 on Friday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Wednesday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
May 16 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 8-2 on Monday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Washington Nationals defeated the Houston Astros 13-6 on Saturday. Edwards Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 12 12:57 PM PT1:57 PM MT2:57 PM CT3:57 PM ET15:57 ET19:57 GMT3:57 12:57 PM MST2:57 PM EST1:57 PM CST3:27 PM VEN23:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Thursday. Edwards Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 10 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Carl Edwards Jr. fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 4-2 on Tuesday. Edwards Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 27.00 ERA and 4.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 ChC 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 4.2 3 3 2 0 3 0 4 1.29 3.86
2016 ChC 0 1 2 - 3 36 0 0 36.0 15 15 15 4 14 1 52 0.81 3.75
2017 ChC 5 4 0 - 4 73 0 0 66.1 29 22 22 6 38 2 94 1.01 2.98
2018 ChC 3 2 0 - 2 58 0 0 52.0 36 17 15 2 32 1 67 1.31 2.60
2019 ChC 1 1 0 - 2 20 0 0 15.1 8 11 10 3 9 0 17 1.11 5.87
2019 SD 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 4 6 6 0 4 0 2 4.80 32.40
2019 Tot 1 1 0 - 2 22 0 0 17.0 12 17 16 3 13 0 19 1.47 8.47
2020 Sea 0 0 1 - 1 5 0 0 4.2 2 1 1 0 1 0 6 0.64 1.93
2021 Atl 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 3 3 3 1 1 0 1 12.00 81.00
2021 Tor 0 0 0 - 1 6 0 0 5.1 8 4 4 2 2 0 5 1.88 6.75
2021 Tot 0 0 0 - 1 7 0 0 5.2 11 7 7 3 3 0 6 2.47 11.12
2022 Was 4 3 2 - 3 39 0 0 43.2 32 17 15 5 20 0 42 1.19 3.09
Career 13 11 5 - 16 245 0 0 230.0 140 99 93 23 124 4 290 1.15 3.64

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 ChC 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 ChC 37 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC 74 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 247 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 ChC Total 0 1 0 - 0 8 0 0 6.1 5 2 2 0 4 0 4 2.84
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 1.2 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 0.00
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 4 2 2 0 2 0 2 6.75
2017 ChC Total 1 1 0 - 1 7 0 0 4.2 2 6 6 1 6 0 8 11.57
    LDS 1 1 0 - 1 5 0 0 2.1 2 6 6 1 4 0 4 23.14
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 0 0 0 0 2 0 4 0.00
Career 1 2 0 - 1 15 0 0 11.0 7 8 8 1 10 0 12 6.55


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 473 98 91 94.7 64.97
Curveball 177 84 76 80.2 24.31
Changeup 78 93 88 90.6 10.71

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.