MLB Baseball

#54
Sonny Gray
ERA W-L K
3.73 5-3 68
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 5-10 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 11/7/1989 Birthplace: Nashville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 22 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST11:45 AM CST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Gray (mid-back strain) came off the injured list Tuesday and will start against the Brewers.
Analysis: Gray went on the IL on Sept. 11 after really struggling in his first two starts of the month. The right-hander posted a 1.94 ERA while going 5-1 in his first seven starts.
Sep. 11 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 5-3, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-5 on Thursday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST3:51 PM CST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Gray, who's been dealing with some recent arm fatigue, is scheduled to make his next start Thursday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Gray will be in essence skipped a turn in Cincinnati's rotation, as he last pitched Sept. 1. That wasn't a good outing for the right-hander, who was shelled for six runs while recording only two outs against the Cardinals. Gray (5-2, 3.19) threw five shutout innings to beat Milwaukee in his previous start.
Sep. 1 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 5-2, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 0.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 16-2 on Tuesday. Gray struck out one, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST6:06 PM CST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 5-1, allowing four hits and two walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Thursday. Gray struck out four, ending the game with a 1.94 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Sonny Gray allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Thursday. Gray struck out six, ending the game with a 2.21 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 4-1, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-1 on Friday. Gray struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.05 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Sonny Gray fell to 3-1, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-3 on Sunday. Gray struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 3-0, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Monday. Gray struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.96 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 2-0, allowing two runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 12-7 on Wednesday. Gray struck out 11, ending the game with a 0.71 ERA and 0.55 WHIP on the season.
July 24 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST7:01 PM CST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Sonny Gray improved to 1-0, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-1 on Friday. Gray struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Oak 5 3 0 - 0 12 10 0 64.0 51 22 19 4 20 0 67 1.11 2.67
2014 Oak 14 10 0 - 0 33 33 2 219.0 187 84 75 15 74 2 183 1.19 3.08
2015 Oak 14 7 0 - 0 31 31 3 208.0 166 71 63 17 59 0 169 1.08 2.73
2016 Oak 5 11 0 - 0 22 22 0 117.0 133 80 74 18 42 0 94 1.50 5.69
2017 Oak 6 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 97.0 84 48 37 8 30 0 94 1.18 3.43
2017 NYY 4 7 0 - 0 11 11 1 65.1 55 31 27 11 27 1 59 1.26 3.72
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 27 27 1 162.1 139 79 64 19 57 1 153 1.21 3.55
2018 NYY 11 9 0 - 0 30 23 0 130.1 138 73 71 14 57 0 123 1.50 4.90
2019 Cin 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 175.1 122 59 56 17 68 1 205 1.08 2.87
2020 Cin 5 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 50.2 40 24 21 4 22 0 68 1.22 3.73
Career 75 63 0 - 0 196 187 6 1126.2 976 492 443 108 399 4 1062 1.22 3.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Oak 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Oak 31 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2016 Oak 22 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 NYY 30 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Cin 34 46 3 7 0 1 0 3 2 19 0 0 .152 .188 .196
Career 199 58 4 8 0 1 0 3 2 25 0 0 .138 .167 .172

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Oak Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.0 20 6 6 2 12 2 24 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 10 3 3 1 6 1 12 2.08
2017 NYY Total 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.2 8 10 8 2 12 0 12 4.32
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.1 3 3 3 1 4 0 2 8.10
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 1 2 1 0 2 0 4 1.80
Career 0 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 21.1 14 8 7 2 12 1 18 2.95


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 470 95 89 93.1 53.35
Curveball 248 84 78 80.8 28.15
Slider 136 86 78 83.1 15.44
Changeup 27 91 88 89.9 3.06

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.