MLB Baseball

#48
José Álvarez
ERA S K
5.28 1 15
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 5-11 / 195
Position: RPBorn: 5/6/1989 Birthplace: Barcelona, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Red Sox (2005)


Latest News
June 11 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Jose Alvarez recorded his first save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
June 8 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Jose Alvarez blew his second save, allowing one run on one hit in 0.2 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.02 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Jose Alvarez improved to 2-1, allowing no hits and two walks over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
May 28 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST10:09 PM CST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE10:09 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Friday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 25 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST4:34 PM CST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the New York Mets 9-3 on Wednesday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 24 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE10:44 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the New York Mets 13-3 on Monday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 21 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST5:16 PM CST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Jose Alvarez walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 2-1 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 21 10:45 PM PT11:45 PM MT12:45 AM CT1:45 AM ET1:45 ET5:45 GMT13:45 10:45 PM MST12:45 AM EST11:45 PM CST1:15 AM VEN9:45 UAE11:45 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 8-7 on Friday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 18 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST3:59 PM CST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Jose Alvarez fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on three hits in 0.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Wednesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 11 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST5:04 PM CST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 7-1 on Wednesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
May 10 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST11:08 PM CST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE11:08 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-5 on Monday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 6 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE10:51 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed two runs on three hits in 0.1 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-1 on Thursday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Tuesday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST5:29 PM CST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 9-3 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out two, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 6:16 PM PT7:16 PM MT8:16 PM CT9:16 PM ET21:16 ET1:16 GMT9:16 6:16 PM MST8:16 PM EST7:16 PM CST8:46 PM VEN5:16 UAE (+1)7:16 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Monday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Washington Nationals 12-3 on Sunday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST4:56 PM CST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the New York Mets 5-4 on Tuesday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cleveland Guardians 4-2 on Saturday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Jose Alvarez allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 0.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Monday. Alvarez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Jose Alvarez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 2-1 on Saturday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST6:13 PM CST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Jose Alvarez improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 0.1 scoreless innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Friday. Alvarez struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Det 1 5 0 - 0 14 6 0 38.2 42 26 25 7 16 1 31 1.50 5.82
2014 LAA 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 0.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1.50 0.00
2015 LAA 4 3 0 - 1 64 0 0 67.0 58 29 26 5 23 4 59 1.21 3.49
2016 LAA 1 3 0 - 1 64 0 0 57.1 71 29 22 4 15 4 51 1.50 3.45
2017 LAA 0 3 1 - 3 64 0 0 48.2 50 23 21 7 12 5 45 1.27 3.88
2018 LAA 6 4 1 - 4 76 0 0 63.0 51 20 19 3 22 2 59 1.16 2.71
2019 Phi 3 4 1 - 3 67 1 0 59.0 66 25 22 8 18 4 51 1.42 3.36
2020 Phi 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 6.1 7 1 1 0 3 0 6 1.58 1.42
2021 SF 5 2 0 - 0 67 1 0 64.2 53 23 17 2 19 1 42 1.11 2.37
2022 SF 2 1 1 - 3 21 0 0 15.1 17 10 9 3 9 1 15 1.70 5.28
Career 22 25 4 - 15 447 8 0 420.2 416 186 162 39 137 22 360 1.31 3.47

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Det 14 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2016 LAA 64 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 SF 67 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .000 .500 .000
Career 447 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 2 0 0 .000 .429 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Det Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
2021 SF Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 150 93 88 90.9 54.95
Slider 27 82 78 80.3 9.89
Changeup 96 84 79 81.5 35.16

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.