MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Carlos Martinez
ERA W-L K
2.70 9-3 105
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-0 / 185 NFBC ADP: 280.45
Position: SPBorn: 9/21/1991 Birthplace: Puerto Plata, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Cardinals (2010)


Latest News
June 29 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Martinez held the Cubs to one run in six innings Sunday in a 4-1 victory, winning for the fifth time in six starts.
Analysis: Martinez has been lights out over the last month-plus for the Cardinals, going 6-1 with a 1.35 ERA in his last eight outings.
June 18 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Martinez lost for the first time in six starts Wednesday, giving up two runs - one earned - and five hits over 6 2-3 innings of a 3-1 defeat at Minnesota.
Analysis: Though he lost Wednesday, it wasn't due to a poor performance. Martinez has been a huge boon for the Cardinals' rotation, going 4-2 with a 1.19 ERA in his last seven outings.
June 11 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Martinez pitched efficiently into the seventh inning for a fifth straight start, helping the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Colorado Rockies 4-2 on Wednesday to avoid a series sweep.
Analysis: Martinez gave his owners a huge bonus with two hits at the plate.
June 6 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Martinez outpitched Brett Anderson again during their second low-scoring duel in six days, and the St. Louis Cardinals scratched across a pair of runs in the eighth inning to beat the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Friday night.
Analysis: Martinez (6-2, 2.94 ERA) allowed his only run in the second on a bases-loaded walk to Joc Pederson, ending his scoreless streak at 21 1-3 innings. The right-hander gave up three hits and had a career-high 11 strikeouts in seven innings to the Dodgers. Last Sunday, Martinez held them to one hit over seven innings and struck out eight in a 3-1 victory over Anderson, which followed an emotional tribute to Martinez's late teammate Oscar Taveras.
June 1 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Martinez earned his fifth victory Sunday against the Dodgers with another scoreless outing, allowing just one hit over seven innings of a 3-1 win.
Analysis: Martinez is 2-0 over his last three starts, throwing 20 1-3 scoreless innings.
May 26 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Martinez put together another strong start Monday against the Diamondbacks, throwing seven scoreless innings in the club's 3-2 win, though he wasn't able to earn a victory himself.
Analysis: Martinez is 4-2 with a 3.54 ERA through nine starts.
Apr. 25 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Martinez dazzled with eight strikeouts in seven scoreless innings Friday.
Analysis: The Cardinals pitching staff is an embarrassment of riches, as Martinez' strong start is only the latest in a long string of dominance. He is 2-0 with a 1.42 ERA as a starter this season.
Mar. 30 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-The St. Louis Cardinals have picked Carlos Martinez as their fifth starter. Cardinals manager Mike Matheny made the announcement about the rotation on Monday.
Analysis: The 23-year-old Martinez went 2-4 with a 4.03 ERA in 57 games for the NL Central champions last year. The right-hander made seven starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 2 1 1 - 1 21 1 0 28.1 31 16 16 1 9 1 24 1.41 5.08
2014 StL 2 4 1 - 6 57 7 0 89.1 90 41 40 4 36 8 84 1.41 4.03
2015 StL 9 3 0 - 0 17 16 0 100.0 84 31 30 10 41 2 105 1.25 2.70
Career 13 8 2 - 7 95 24 0 217.2 205 88 86 15 86 11 213 1.34 3.56

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 StL 57 12 0 3 0 0 0 2 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 StL 17 31 1 5 0 0 0 0 1 16 0 0 .161 .212 .161
Career 95 45 1 8 0 0 0 2 1 21 0 0 .178 .213 .178

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 12 0 0 12.2 7 5 5 0 3 1 11 3.55
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 1 2 2 0 1 0 2 9.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 6.0 5 3 3 0 1 1 5 4.50
2014 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 3 1 1 0 4 0 2 1.93
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 0 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 1 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 16 0 0 16.2 10 6 6 0 7 1 13 3.24


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 926 100 89 94.7 58.61
Curveball 52 85 77 81.9 3.29
Slider 312 88 79 84.6 19.75
Changeup 290 91 79 86.3 18.35

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.