MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Evan Gattis
AVG HR RBI
.249 32 70
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-4 / 269 NFBC ADP: 249.60
Position: CBorn: 8/18/1986 Birthplace: Dallas, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 23rd Round by Braves (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 28 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Gattis hit his 32nd homer and singled Wednesday.
Analysis: He's homered 14 times in his last 35 games and has posted back-to-back two-hit performances.
Sep. 25 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Gattis hit his 31st homer Sunday.
Analysis: He's homered 13 times in his last 32 games.
Sep. 21 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Gattis' power surge continued Wednesday as he homered twice to reach 30 for the first time in his career.
Analysis: He's hit 12 of those homers in his past 28 games.
Sep. 20 7:21 AM PT8:21 AM MT9:21 AM CT10:21 AM ET10:21 ET14:21 GMT22:21 7:21 AM MST9:21 AM EST9:51 AM VEN18:21 UAE9:21 AM CT-Gattis hit his 28th home run of the season to help the Astros to their fifth straight win over the A's on Monday.
Analysis: Gattis is enjoying a bit of a power surge with four homers over his last eight games.
Sep. 17 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Gattis tied a career high with his 27th homer Friday.
Analysis: He's gone deep three times in his last five games.
Sep. 13 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET18:23 GMT2:23 11:23 AM MST1:23 PM EST1:53 PM VEN22:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Gattis belted his 26th home run of the season Monday, one shy of his career high from last year.
Analysis: Gattis went deep for the second straight game and for the seventh time in his last 16 games.
Sep. 11 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Gattis hit his 25th homer in Sunday's loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: The Astros begin a series against the Rangers on Monday, and Gattis is 7 for 14 against scheduled starter Martin Perez.
Sep. 3 5:48 PM PT6:48 PM MT7:48 PM CT8:48 PM ET20:48 ET0:48 GMT8:48 5:48 PM MST7:48 PM EST8:18 PM VEN4:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-Gattis hit a solo homer among his three hits in Saturday's 12-4 loss to Texas.
Analysis: Gattis is batting .405 with five home runs and 11 RBIs in his last 13 games, raising his average 20 points to .251.
Aug. 31 5:41 PM PT6:41 PM MT7:41 PM CT8:41 PM ET20:41 ET0:41 GMT8:41 5:41 PM MST7:41 PM EST8:11 PM VEN4:41 UAE (+1)7:41 PM CT-Gattis hit an RBI single to cap a three-run rally in the eighth inning Wednesday as the Astros beat the Athletics 4-3.
Analysis: He's batting .400 with four homers, two doubles, nine RBIs and 10 runs scored in his last 11 games.
Aug. 30 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Gattis continued to contribute Tuesday, belting a home run in Houston's 3-1 win over Oakland.
Analysis: Gattis is 13 for 32 (.406) with four homers, eight RBIs and 10 runs in his past 10 games.
Aug. 28 9:22 AM PT10:22 AM MT11:22 AM CT12:22 PM ET12:22 ET16:22 GMT0:22 9:22 AM MST11:22 AM EST11:52 AM VEN20:22 UAE11:22 AM CT-Gattis doubled, singled, drove in a run and scored once in Saturday's 6-2 win over the Rays.
Analysis: Gattis, who is batting .462 with three homers and seven RBIs in his last eight games, is 0 for 6 with three strikeouts lifetime against Chris Archer, Sunday's scheduled starter for Tampa Bay.
Aug. 27 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Gattis hit a game-ending homer one batter after Carlos Correa opened the ninth inning with a home run in Friday's 5-4 win over the Rays.
Analysis: Gattis has homered in consecutive games and is batting .435 with three homers and six RBIs in his last seven contests. The Astros face Tampa Bay rookie left-hander Blake Snell on Saturday, and Gattis is 7 for 20 with three extra-base hits in his last nine games against southpaws.
Aug. 24 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Gattis hit a two-run homer Wednesday to give him at least 20 home runs in each of his first four major league seasons.
Analysis: He's 8 for 19 with two homers, a double, four RBIs, four walks and seven runs scored in his last six games.
Aug. 20 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Gattis homered for one of his three hits Friday.
Analysis: He is 5 for 7 in the last two games.
Aug. 12 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Gattis went 4 for 5 with a pair of doubles Friday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 13 with a homer and four RBIs in his last three games.
Aug. 6 7:39 AM PT8:39 AM MT9:39 AM CT10:39 AM ET10:39 ET14:39 GMT22:39 7:39 AM MST9:39 AM EST10:09 AM VEN18:39 UAE9:39 AM CT-Gattis had three hits in Friday's 5-0 win over the Rangers.
Analysis: Gattis has now had two three-hit games in his last six contests but has otherwise been a bust, going 2 for 20 in his other six games since July 29.
July 31 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Gattis finished with three hits in Sunday's 11-0 loss to the Tigers.
Analysis: Gattis turned things around after he had just two hits - both homers - in 16 at-bats over his previous five games.
July 27 7:16 AM PT8:16 AM MT9:16 AM CT10:16 AM ET10:16 ET14:16 GMT22:16 7:16 AM MST9:16 AM EST9:46 AM VEN18:16 UAE9:16 AM CT-Gattis homered for the fourth time in his last four games Tuesday.
Analysis: He's batting .294 with five doubles and seven RBIs in his last nine contests.
July 23 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)10:58 PM CT-Gattis shined in Saturday's win over the Angels. He socked two home runs and knocked in four runs.
Analysis: Gattis had been struggling with a .175 average and one home run over his previous 12 contests.
July 22 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Gattis was out of the lineup with a bruised right hand on Friday.
Analysis: He was injured on Wednesday when he was hit by a pitch. Manager A.J. Hinch said he was feeling better on Friday and they didn't expect him to be out long.
July 21 9:16 AM PT10:16 AM MT11:16 AM CT12:16 PM ET12:16 ET16:16 GMT0:16 9:16 AM MST11:16 AM EST11:46 AM VEN20:16 UAE11:16 AM CT-Gattis was pulled Wednesday after getting hit by a pitch in the right hand in the fifth inning.
Analysis: X-rays were negative and Gattis said he's day to day "but no fracture."
July 11 9:32 AM PT10:32 AM MT11:32 AM CT12:32 PM ET12:32 ET16:32 GMT0:32 9:32 AM MST11:32 AM EST12:02 PM VEN20:32 UAE11:32 AM CT-Gattis hit an RBI double with two outs in the ninth off Ryan Madson to tie it at 1 - one of his two hits - and the Astros went on to beat the A's 2-1 in 10 innings on Sunday.
Analysis: Gattis was just 1 for 21 in July prior to Sunday's game.
July 7 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Gattis went 0 for 3 with two strikeouts in Thursday's loss to Oakland.
Analysis: Gattis is 1 for 18 in six games after a 7-for-19 stretch.
June 20 9:10 AM PT10:10 AM MT11:10 AM CT12:10 PM ET12:10 ET16:10 GMT0:10 9:10 AM MST11:10 AM EST11:40 AM VEN20:10 UAE11:10 AM CT-Gattis homered for the second straight game Sunday after going hitless in six straight.
Analysis: Gattis surely won't mind staying home for the Astros' upcoming series against the Angels. He's batting .300 with eight home runs and 16 RBIs in his last 12 games at Minute Maid Park. He's 1 for 34 in his last 10 road games.
June 18 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Gattis stopped an 0-for-23 skid with his 10th homer in Saturday's 5-4, 11-inning win over the Reds.
Analysis: Before slumping, Gattis had four homers and 10 RBIs over a nine-game stretch.
June 10 8:48 AM PT9:48 AM MT10:48 AM CT11:48 AM ET11:48 ET15:48 GMT23:48 8:48 AM MST10:48 AM EST11:18 AM VEN19:48 UAE10:48 AM CT-Gattis ended an 0-for-14 drought with a seventh-inning single in the Astros' loss to the Rangers.
Analysis: Gattis, who also drove in a run with a sacrifice fly, is batting .194 on the road and Houston still has five games remaining on a nine-game trip.
June 4 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET18:58 GMT2:58 11:58 AM MST1:58 PM EST2:28 PM VEN22:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Gattis matched career highs with four hits and four RBIs in Friday's rout of Oakland.
Analysis: Gattis homered among those four hits, giving him six in 16 games since being recalled from the minors on May 17. The slugger is hitting .292 with 13 RBIs following his return to the majors.
May 26 4:25 PM PT5:25 PM MT6:25 PM CT7:25 PM ET19:25 ET23:25 GMT7:25 4:25 PM MST6:25 PM EST6:55 PM VEN3:25 UAE (+1)6:25 PM CT-Gattis went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer in Wednesday's win over Baltimore.
Analysis: The designated hitter and now-backup catcher has been producing since being recalled from the minors on May 17. In eight games since the promotion, Gattis is hitting .355 with four homers.
May 17 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Gattis has been recalled from Double-A Corpus Christi.
Analysis: The slugger will DH and bat fourth in Tuesday's game against the White Sox. Gattis, hitting just .203 with one home run in 20 games, was sent to the minors on May 6 to prepare for a role as the Astros' backup catcher.
Apr. 30 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Gattis finished 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs in Friday's loss at Oakland.
Analysis: Gattis is heating up after a very slow start. He's 7 for 17 with six RBIs over his last four games after hitting .154 in his first nine following a return from sports hernia surgery.
Apr. 28 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Gattis had three RBIs with a sacrifice fly and bases-loaded double Wednesday.
Analysis: Gattis is the kind of meathead slugger who only helps your fantasy team when he's homering.
Feb. 16 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET18:42 GMT2:42 11:42 AM MST1:42 PM EST2:12 PM VEN22:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Gattis and the Astros have avoided salary arbitration by agreeing to a $3.4 million, one-year contract.
Analysis: Gattis had surgery Feb. 10 to repair a sports hernia, and the Astros said then he would be sidelined four to six weeks. Acquired from Atlanta in January 2015, Gattis hit .246 and led the Astros with 27 homers and 88 RBIs, both career highs.
Feb. 10 10:34 AM PT11:34 AM MT12:34 PM CT1:34 PM ET13:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE12:34 PM CT-Gattis returned from the disabled list Tuesday.
Analysis: Gattis had surgery to repair a sports hernia. In his first season with the Astros, he had a team-best 27 homers and 88 RBIs, both career highs. His big season boosted Houston to its first playoff appearance since 2005.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl 105 354 44 86 21 0 21 65 21 81 0 0 .243 .291 .480
2014 Atl 108 369 41 97 17 1 22 52 22 97 0 0 .263 .317 .493
2015 Hou 153 566 66 139 20 11 27 88 30 119 0 1 .246 .285 .463
2016 Hou 127 442 58 110 19 0 32 70 43 127 2 1 .249 .318 .509
Career 493 1731 209 432 77 12 102 275 116 424 2 2 .250 .301 .485

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Atl Total 4 14 3 5 0 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 .357 .438 .357
    LDS 4 14 3 5 0 0 0 1 2 3 0 0 .357 .438 .357
2015 Hou Total 6 23 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .174 .174 .174
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 5 19 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .211 .211 .211
Career 10 37 4 9 0 0 0 2 2 9 0 0 .243 .282 .243


w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.