MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#4
George Springer
AVG HR RBI
.231 20 51
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 204 NFBC ADP: 233.99
Position: RFBorn: 9/19/1989 Birthplace: New Britain, Connecticut
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Astros (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 16 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Springer, who has been out since July 20 with a left quadriceps injury, won't play again this season.
Analysis: There was some hope that Springer might return for the last few games of the season, but interim manager Tom Lawless said on Tuesday that they decided to shut him down.
July 23 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Springer remains on the 15-day disabled list with a strained right quadriceps for the Astros.
Analysis: Springer, who could be a future first-round fantasy pick, has been shut down so he may not be back until next month.
July 20 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Springer hit his 20th homer Saturday against the White Sox.
Analysis: While he's only hitting .231, Springer remains one of the best young players in the game. He's likely a year or two away from being a first-round pick in fantasy.
July 11 5:28 PM PT6:28 PM MT7:28 PM CT8:28 PM ET20:28 ET0:28 GMT8:28 5:28 PM MST7:28 PM EST7:58 PM VEN4:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Springer has been scratched from Friday night's game against Boston with discomfort in his right knee.
Analysis: Springer is hitting .238 and leads the team with 19 home runs and 50 RBIs. He is listed as day to day.
July 10 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Springer hit his 19th home run of the season and second in as many days in Wednesday's 8-4 win at Texas.
Analysis: Springer has hit seven homers over his last 19 games with 14 RBIs.
July 9 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Springer was 2 for 4 with his 18th homer of the season in an 8-3 win at Texas on Tuesday.
Analysis: Springer has hit six homers in his last 18 games.
July 5 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Springer connected on his 17th homer Friday, driving in two runs in a 7-6 loss to the Angels.
Analysis: Springer has five homers over his last 14 games while drawing 10 walks.
June 27 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Springer homered to back up seven strong innings by Jarred Cosart in the Houston Astros' 6-1 victory over the Atlanta Braves on Thursday.
Analysis: Springer's solo homer off Juan Jaime in the seventh to pushed the lead to 6-1. He has three homers in six games and 15 this season, the most by a rookie in franchise history before the All-Star Break. Lance Berkman had the previous mark with 12 in 2000.
June 9 11:18 AM PT12:18 PM MT1:18 PM CT2:18 PM ET14:18 ET18:18 GMT2:18 11:18 AM MST1:18 PM EST1:48 PM VEN22:18 UAE1:18 PM CT-Springer drilled his 12th home run in Sunday's 14-5 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Springer is 4 for 15 with two homers and six RBIs in his last four games. He's hitting .251 in 47 games since getting recalled from the minors.
May 27 12:27 PM PT1:27 PM MT2:27 PM CT3:27 PM ET15:27 ET19:27 GMT3:27 12:27 PM MST2:27 PM EST2:57 PM VEN23:27 UAE2:27 PM CT-Springer went 4 for 4 with a home run, five runs scored and three RBIs in Monday's win in Kansas City.
Analysis: Springer is hitting everything thrown anywhere near the plate. He's now gone deep at least once in four straight contests and has 10 RBIs in three games. Over an eight-game hitting streak, Springer has five home runs, 13 runs scored and 13 RBIs with a 1.594 OPS.
May 25 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Springer hit two homers and knocked in five runs in Saturday's 9-4 win at Seattle.
Analysis: After a slow start, Springer is 8 for 22 with three homers and eight RBIs in his last six games. All three of those homers have come in the last two contests.
May 22 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Springer hit his fourth home run Wednesday in a 2-1 road loss to the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: After a slow start, Springer is batting .298 with four homers and 10 RBIs in his last 15 games.
May 11 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Springer went 2 for 5 his second career home run Saturday.
Analysis: Springer is a stud prospect feeling his way through the big leagues with a .227 average. Expect that to rise as he gets the hang of it.
May 7 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Springer had a career-best three hits and drove in a run in an 11-4 loss to Detroit on Tuesday.
Analysis: The Astros' top prospect has at least one hit in six straight games, going 8 for 25 (.320) with four RBIs. He's raised his average from .170 to .222 in that stretch.
Apr. 20 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Springer is 5 for 18 with six strikeouts.
Analysis: Springer should continue to get ABs with Houston's lineup in tatters. The UConn product has hit safely in his first four big-league games.
Apr. 16 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Springer is making his major league debut on Wednesday night, batting second and playing right field for the Houston Astros.
Analysis: He's the first of a group of top prospects expected to help the Astros back to respectability after three straight 100-loss seasons. The 24-year-old outfielder had 37 homers and 108 RBIs with 45 stolen bases combined in Double-A and Triple-A last year.
Apr. 16 11:13 PM PT12:13 AM MT1:13 AM CT2:13 AM ET2:13 ET6:13 GMT14:13 11:13 PM MST1:13 AM EST1:43 AM VEN10:13 UAE1:13 AM CT-Prized prospect George Springer will join the Houston Astros from Triple-A Oklahoma City on Wednesday. The 24-year-old outfielder had 37 homers and 108 RBIs with 45 stolen bases combined in Double-A and Triple-A last year.
Analysis: Springer told The Associated Press he received the news after Oklahoma City's win over Colorado Springs on Tuesday night, when he hit a grand slam.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Hou 78 295 45 68 8 1 20 51 39 114 5 2 .231 .336 .468
Career 78 295 45 68 8 1 20 51 39 114 5 2 .231 .336 .468

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.