MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#52
Michael Wacha
ERA W-L K
3.20 8-2 71
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/1/1991 Birthplace: Iowa City, Iowa
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cardinals (2012)


Latest News
June 20 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST12:56 PM CST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Wacha has been placed on the 10-day disabled list after leaving Wednesday's start at Philadelphia with a left oblique strain.
Analysis: Oblique injuries can take some time to heal, so it's unlikely Wacha will pitch again prior to the All-Star break. John Gant is the favorite to take the available rotation spot, though he'll likely represent a downgrade from Wacha, who's gone 8-2 with a 3.20 ERA so far during a bounce-back season.
June 15 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 8-2, allowing nine runs - eight earned - on seven hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 13-5 on Friday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 9 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST5:37 PM CST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 8-1, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-4 on Saturday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 2.47 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 3 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 7-1, allowing one hit and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-0 on Sunday. Wacha struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Wacha took a no-hitter into the ninth inning. He's allowed two runs or less in his last nine starts. He was the MVP of the 2013 NL Championship Series and an All-Star in 2015 before he was slowed by injuries. He made only had 24 starts in 20016 because of a shoulder inflammation.
May 29 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 6-1, allowing one run on two hits and four walks in 6.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 2.71 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits in 6.2 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out six, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 19 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST11:21 PM CST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 12-4 on Friday. Wacha struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 13 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Michael Wacha allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Diego Padres 2-1 on Saturday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 7 10:57 PM PT11:57 PM MT12:57 AM CT1:57 AM ET1:57 ET5:57 GMT13:57 10:57 PM MST12:57 AM EST11:57 PM CST1:27 AM VEN9:57 UAE12:57 AM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two runs - one earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Sunday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Michael Wacha allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Tuesday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 4-1, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the New York Mets 9-1 on Wednesday. Wacha struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 3-1, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Friday. Wacha struck out three, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 2-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 13-4 on Thursday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Michael Wacha improved to 1-1, allowing two runs on four hits and five walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-3 on Saturday. Wacha struck out five, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST2:34 PM CST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Michael Wacha fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 6-2 on Saturday. Wacha struck out two, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 StL 4 1 0 - 1 15 9 0 64.2 52 20 20 5 19 0 65 1.10 2.78
2014 StL 5 6 0 - 0 19 19 0 107.0 95 41 38 6 33 0 94 1.20 3.20
2015 StL 17 7 0 - 0 30 30 0 181.1 162 74 68 19 58 4 153 1.21 3.38
2016 StL 7 7 0 - 0 27 24 0 138.0 159 86 78 15 45 6 114 1.48 5.09
2017 StL 12 9 0 - 0 30 30 1 165.2 170 82 76 17 55 3 158 1.36 4.13
2018 StL 8 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 84.1 68 36 30 9 36 0 71 1.23 3.20
Career 53 32 0 - 1 136 127 1 741.0 706 339 310 71 246 13 655 1.28 3.77

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL 15 21 0 3 0 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2014 StL 19 29 1 1 0 0 0 2 0 18 0 0 .034 .034 .034
2015 StL 30 52 5 8 1 0 0 4 4 20 1 0 .154 .214 .173
2016 StL 27 39 1 1 0 0 0 0 3 22 0 0 .026 .095 .026
2017 StL 30 46 3 2 0 0 0 3 1 22 0 0 .043 .063 .043
2018 StL 15 25 3 2 0 0 0 1 1 9 0 0 .080 .115 .080
Career 136 212 13 17 1 0 0 13 9 101 1 0 .080 .117 .085

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 StL Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.2 16 9 9 3 12 3 33 2.64
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 1 1 1 1 2 0 9 1.23
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.2 7 0 0 0 2 1 13 0.00
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.2 8 8 8 2 8 2 11 7.45
2014 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 81.00
2015 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 4 4 3 3 1 5 8.31
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 4 4 3 3 1 5 8.31
Career 4 3 0 - 0 7 6 0 35.1 24 16 16 7 16 4 38 4.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL Total 5 7 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 StL Total 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 7 9 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 614 98 89 93.5 43.27
Curveball 212 79 73 75.8 14.94
Changeup 315 90 81 86 22.2
Cut Fastball 278 92 84 89.3 19.59

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.