MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#16
José Fernández
ERA W-L K
2.54 12-4 175
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 243 NFBC ADP: 33.32
Position: SPBorn: 7/31/1992 Birthplace: Santa Clara, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Marlins (2011)


Latest News
July 24 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Fernandez allowed allowed two runs and struck out seven in seven innings of Saturday's 7-2 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Fernandez improved his Marlins Park record to 26-1, and remains a top tier fantasy performer.
July 18 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Fernandez allowed two runs and four hits while striking out 14 over 6 1/3 innings in Monday's 3-2, 11-inning win over the Phillies.
Analysis: Since a rare horrendous start against the Braves on July 2, Fernandez has gone 1-0 with a 1.35 ERA with 22 strikeouts over 13 1/3 innings in his last two outings.
July 8 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Fernandez bounced back Friday, allowing an unearned run and striking out eight over seven innings to beat the visiting Reds. It came after the right-hander gave up a career high-tying six earned runs in a loss at Atlanta in his previous outing.
Analysis: Fernandez has been a lock at home in his career, going 25-1 with a 1.43 ERA in 36 starts at Marlins Park.
July 5 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Fernandez was named to his second All-Star team.
Analysis: Heading into Tuesday's schedule, Fernandez was 10-4 with a 2.69 ERA. He's fanned 146 and walked 31.
July 3 10:20 AM PT11:20 AM MT12:20 PM CT1:20 PM ET13:20 ET17:20 GMT1:20 10:20 AM MST12:20 PM EST12:50 PM VEN21:20 UAE12:20 PM CT-Fernandez had a rare rough outing Saturday, giving up a career-high nine runs - six earned - and eight hits over 5 2/3 innings in a 9-1 loss to Atlanta.
Analysis: Fernandez had been 7-1 with a 1.18 ERA over his previous nine starts. We expect him to bounce back quickly in his next outing.
July 2 5:21 PM PT6:21 PM MT7:21 PM CT8:21 PM ET20:21 ET0:21 GMT8:21 5:21 PM MST7:21 PM EST7:51 PM VEN4:21 UAE (+1)7:21 PM CT-Fernandez gave up two homers and a career-high nine runs and the Atlanta Braves beat the Miami Marlins 9-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Fernandez (10-4) drove in the decisive runs as a pinch-hitter in Miami's 7-5 12-inning win over Atlanta on Friday night. Manager Don Mattingly thought about sending Fernandez home early during the extra-inning game - a common practice in the majors for pitchers before scheduled starts - but kept him around for his bat. The lopsided loss put a quick end to the feel-good victory from the night before.
June 26 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Fernandez allowed one run in seven innings and struck out 13 in Sunday's 6-1 win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Fernandez improved his career record at Marlins Park to 24-1 with a 1.48 ERA. The right-hander has been pretty good everywhere else, too. This year he has a 2.28 ERA and 138 strikeouts in 94 2/3 innings. He is next slated to take the ball Saturday in Atlanta. In his lone start of the season against the Braves on June 21, he struck out seven over seven scoreless innings of one-hit ball.
June 25 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Fernandez faces the Cubs in Sunday's finale.
Analysis: Fernandez (9-3, 2.36 ERA) is 23-1 all-time at home and has never faced Chicago. He briefly left the Marlins' dugout in the first inning Saturday after a foul ball bounced off his right hand, but returned not long afterward.
June 15 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-The Marlins spoiled an impressive start by Fernandez in Tuesday's 3-2 loss in 10 innings to the Braves. He left with a 2-0 lead after allowing one hit through seven innings while striking out seven and walking two.
Analysis: Fernandez returned to the mound after being skipped in the rotation for rest.
June 12 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Fernandez retired the first 17 batters he faced but ran into trouble in the sixth inning of the Marlins' 5-3 loss to the Diamondbacks on Saturday.
Analysis: Fernandez gave up five straight hits and lost for the first time since April 23. The four runs were the most Fernandez has allowed in a game since that loss, a 7-2 defeat at San Francisco. He struck out eight with no walks but the four runs were one more than he'd given up over his previous six starts combined.
June 1 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Fernandez won his seventh consecutive start Tuesday by tossing seven scoreless innings in a 3-1 win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Fernandez (8-2, 2.53 ERA) yielded three hits, walked none and struck out six while improving to 22-1 all-time in Miami. He is 5-0 with a 1.45 ERA in his last five starts there and has a 1.60 ERA during his overall win streak. Fernandez has also fanned 64 in 45 innings.
May 27 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Fernandez won his sixth consecutive start with yet another dominant outing Thursday at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: The Miami ace racked up 12 strikeouts while holding the Rays to one run over seven innings. Second in the majors with 90 strikeouts in 60 2/3 innings, Fernandez has amassed 58 K's and a 1.89 ERA over his winning streak.
May 22 9:30 AM PT10:30 AM MT11:30 AM CT12:30 PM ET12:30 ET16:30 GMT0:30 9:30 AM MST11:30 AM EST12:00 PM VEN20:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-Fernandez won his fifth straight start by tossing six strong innings Saturday against Washington.
Analysis: The Miami ace held the Nationals to one run on four hits and racked up nine strikeouts in another superb effort. Fernandez's 78 strikeouts trails only Clayton Kershaw for tops in the majors and he's posted a 2.03 ERA over the winning streak.
May 16 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Fernandez struck out 11 over seven innings and drove in two runs during a three-run sixth to help the Miami Marlins defeat the Washington Nationals 5-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: Fernandez (5-2, 3.21 ERA) is 4-0 with a 2.16 ERA in his last four starts. He tossed seven scoreless innings and fanned 11 in a 4-1 win over Milwaukee on May 9.
May 10 11:57 AM PT12:57 PM MT1:57 PM CT2:57 PM ET14:57 ET18:57 GMT2:57 11:57 AM MST1:57 PM EST2:27 PM VEN22:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Fernandez dominated Milwaukee on Monday, striking out 11 over seven scoreless innings in Miami's 4-1 win.
Analysis: The Miami ace has won three straight starts but had been a bit shaky of late, posting a 4.76 ERA over his previous three assignments.
Apr. 29 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Fernandez allowed two runs and five hits in six innings Thursday, striking out eight and walking three.
Analysis: Fernandez next starts against a powerful Arizona team.
Apr. 19 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Fernandez looked sharp on Monday, holding the Nationals to one run and three hits in six innings of a 6-1 win.
Analysis: He did walk four but also struck out nine.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Mia 12 6 0 - 0 28 28 0 172.2 111 47 42 10 58 5 187 0.98 2.19
2014 Mia 4 2 0 - 0 8 8 0 51.2 36 19 14 4 13 1 70 0.95 2.44
2015 Mia 6 1 0 - 0 11 11 0 64.2 61 21 21 4 14 0 79 1.16 2.92
2016 Mia 12 4 0 - 0 19 19 0 120.2 89 38 34 8 35 3 175 1.03 2.54
Career 34 13 0 - 0 66 66 0 409.2 297 125 111 26 120 9 511 1.02 2.44

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Mia 28 50 5 11 1 1 1 5 0 20 0 0 .220 .216 .340
2014 Mia 8 16 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2015 Mia 11 18 2 3 1 0 1 2 0 4 0 0 .167 .167 .389
2016 Mia 20 34 2 9 2 0 0 6 1 8 0 0 .265 .286 .324
Career 67 118 10 25 4 1 2 14 1 38 0 0 .212 .217 .314


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1032 100 89 94.6 54.17
Curveball 1 73 73 73 .05
Slider 629 88 78 83.4 33.02
Changeup 243 92 83 88.1 12.76

w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.