MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#99
Hyun-jin Ryu
ERA W-L K
3.44 12-5 105
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-2 / 254 NFBC ADP: 133.94
Position: SPBorn: 3/25/1987 Birthplace: Incheon, South Korea
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2012)


Latest News
July 22 12:03 PM PT1:03 PM MT2:03 PM CT3:03 PM ET15:03 ET19:03 GMT3:03 12:03 PM MST2:03 PM EST2:33 PM VEN23:03 UAE2:03 PM CT-Ryu allowed two runs over seven innings to win 5-2 at Pittsburgh on Monday.
Analysis: Ryu has won back-to-back starts behind a 1.38 ERA. He's 11-5 with a 3.39 mark on the season.
July 14 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Ryu struck out a season-high 10 over six innings of two-hit ball to beat San Diego 1-0 on Sunday.
Analysis: Ryu, who improved to 10-5, carries a 3.44 ERA into the season's second half.
July 9 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE2:30 PM CT-Ryu was shelled for a career-worst seven earned runs and 10 hits in just 2 1-3 innings of a 14-5 loss at Detroit on Tuesday.
Analysis: Few could have seen the nightmarish outing coming for Ryu, who had been 6-2 with a 3.14 ERA in his previous nine starts.
June 28 5:07 PM PT6:07 PM MT7:07 PM CT8:07 PM ET20:07 ET0:07 GMT8:07 5:07 PM MST7:07 PM EST7:37 PM VEN4:07 UAE (+1)7:07 PM CT-Ryu suffered his fourth loss Friday despite a decent showing against the Cardinals, yielding three runs over seven innings with seven strikeouts.
Analysis: For whatever reason, Dodger Stadium continues to be unkind to Ryu. He's 3-3 with a 5.03 ERA in seven starts there compared to a 6-1 record and 1.62 in eight road outings.
June 23 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Ryu threw six strong innings and the Dodgers beat the Padres 2-1 Sunday.
Analysis: Ryu had few problems against the light-hitting Padres, as he won for the sixth time in seven starts since missing more than three weeks with shoulder inflammation. He faces the NL champion Cards next.
May 2 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-The team activated Ryu from the DL to start Wednesday night against the New York Mets.
Analysis: Ryu had been out since late April with shoulder inflammation.
Apr. 28 2:19 PM PT3:19 PM MT4:19 PM CT5:19 PM ET17:19 ET21:19 GMT5:19 2:19 PM MST4:19 PM EST4:49 PM VEN1:19 UAE (+1)4:19 PM CT-Ryu struggled at Dodger Stadium again in a 6-1 loss to Colorado on Sunday.
Analysis: Ryu (3-2, 3.00 ERA) gave up six runs and nine hits in five-plus innings. The Korean-born lefty is 0-2 with a 9.69 ERA in his three starts at Dodger Stadium, but 3-0 with a 0.00 ERA in four road starts.
Apr. 18 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Ryu improved to 3-1 with his second straight scoreless outing, limiting the Giants to four hits and a walk over seven innings in Thursday's win.
Analysis: With the performance, Ryu gained a measure of retribution after San Francisco blasted him for eight runs - six earned - and eight hits in just two innings of an 8-4 loss on April 4, which was coincidentally his only home start thus far. In four road starts he's 3-0 with 26 scoreless innings under his belt.
Apr. 12 11:42 AM PT12:42 PM MT1:42 PM CT2:42 PM ET14:42 ET18:42 GMT2:42 11:42 AM MST1:42 PM EST2:12 PM VEN22:42 UAE1:42 PM CT-Ryu gave up two hits in seven dominant innings, and the Los Angeles Dodgers beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-0 on Friday night.
Analysis: Ryu (2-1, 2.57 ERA) struck out eight and walked one, retiring 18 of his last 19 batters. The only hits off the South Korean left-hander were a pair of singles by Miguel Montero. Ryu was tagged for eight runs and eight hits in two innings during his previous start, an 8-4 loss to San Francisco on April 4.
Apr. 5 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Ryu was knocked around for eight runs - six earned - and eight hits in just two innings while being tagged with the loss in Friday's 8-4 defeat to San Francisco.
Analysis: It was a dismal day for Ryu, but fantasy owners shouldn't be too alarmed. The Giants offense is playing well and Ryu had thrown 12 scoreless innings in his first two starts.
Mar. 23 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Ryu earned the win as the Dodgers beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-5 at Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday.
Analysis: Beginning his second season in the majors, Ryu held the Diamondbacks to two hits in five shutout innings. He struck out five and walked one. The left-hander had a strong rookie season last year, going 14-8 with a 3.00 ERA in 30 starts after seven seasons in South Korea. "Overall, I'm really satisfied," Ryu said through an interpreter.
Mar. 9 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Clayton Kershaw and Hyun-Jin Ryu will be the Dodgers' starting pitchers in their two-game season-opening series in Australia against the Arizona Diamondbacks. The games will be played March 22-23 at Sydney Cricket Ground.
Analysis: Ryu got the start in Game 2 because of an injury to Zack Greinke, who strained his right calf while throwing four pitches in his only spring appearance on Feb. 27 against Arizona.
Feb. 28 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE10:49 PM CT-Ryu allowed two hits over two innings in his first spring training start, pitching the Los Angeles Dodgers to a 5-0 victory over the Chicago White Sox on Friday.
Analysis: Ryu, who was 14-8 with a 3.00 ERA as a rookie last year, didn't have a walk or a strikeout.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 LAD 14 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 192.0 182 67 64 15 49 4 154 1.20 3.00
2014 LAD 12 5 0 - 0 20 20 0 117.2 119 48 45 8 23 2 105 1.21 3.44
Career 26 13 0 - 0 50 50 2 309.2 301 115 109 23 72 6 259 1.20 3.17

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD 30 58 5 12 3 1 0 5 2 23 0 0 .207 .233 .293
2014 LAD 20 38 4 6 2 0 0 2 0 12 0 0 .158 .158 .211
Career 50 96 9 18 5 1 0 7 2 35 0 0 .188 .204 .260

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 LAD Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 9 4 4 0 2 0 5 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 6 4 4 0 1 0 1 12.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 3 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
Career 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 9 4 4 0 2 0 5 3.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 LAD Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 - .000 -
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 995 95 83 90.6 52.2
Curveball 232 76 65 72.8 12.17
Slider 224 87 76 82.4 11.75
Changeup 370 87 70 81.5 19.41
Cut Fastball 85 90 85 87.5 4.46

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.