MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
A.J. Ramos
ERA S K
2.81 40 73
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 5-10 / 200 NFBC ADP: 133.60
Position: RPBorn: 9/20/1986 Birthplace: Lubbock, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 21st Round by Marlins (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 19 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Ramos pitched the ninth Monday for his 38th save in 41 chances.
Analysis: He's 0-1 with six saves in six opportunities this month.
Sep. 19 10:33 PM PT11:33 PM MT12:33 AM CT1:33 AM ET1:33 ET5:33 GMT13:33 10:33 PM MST12:33 AM EST1:03 AM VEN9:33 UAE12:33 AM CT-Ramos notched his 37th save with a scoreless ninth inning that sealed Miami's 5-3 win at Philadelphia on Sunday.
Analysis: The Miami closer, who took the loss after allowing a run in 1 1/3 innings Friday against the Phillies, has been used heavily over the past week, so there's a chance Don Mattingly turns to Fernando Rodney if there's a save situation in Monday's game with Washington.
Aug. 9 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-The Marlins activated Ramos from the 15-day disabled list prior to Sunday's game at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Ramos, who fractured his right middle finger earlier this month, threw a simulated game without problems Friday. With Fernando Rodney having filled in ably, it's unclear as to whether Ramos will be immediately slotted back into the closer's role.
Aug. 3 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET20:56 ET0:56 GMT8:56 5:56 PM MST7:56 PM EST8:26 PM VEN4:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Ramos was terrible Wednesday, allowing three runs, two hits, three walks and a wild pitch - over 2/3 innings - that plated Chicago's winning run in the bottom of the ninth in the 5-4 loss.
Analysis: It's the second time in four appearances that Ramos has yielded three runs. This was only his second blown save.
July 26 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Ramos wasn't available Tuesday after jamming his finger in Monday's game.
Analysis: It's possible Ramos doesn't return before the weekend. ''We're going to be cautious with him,'' Marlins manager Don Mattingly said. Ramos has converted 31 of his 32 save opportunities.
July 18 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Ramos continued his outstanding season Monday when he struck out one en route to his 30th save in 31 chances in a 3-2, 11-inning win over the Phillies.
Analysis: The All-Star closer hasn't allowed a run over six innings while converting six saves in his last six appearances.
July 5 5:48 PM PT6:48 PM MT7:48 PM CT8:48 PM ET20:48 ET0:48 GMT8:48 5:48 PM MST7:48 PM EST8:18 PM VEN4:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-Ramos will make his first All-Star appearance.
Analysis: Ramos has converted 24 of 25 saves - heading into Tuesday's action - for one of the top bullpens in the game.
July 2 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Ramos blew his first save of the season after allowing a game-tying solo home run in the ninth inning Friday against Atlanta.
Analysis: Ramos had converted all 24 of his save chances this season and 33 straight dating back to September. Though he's been excellent this season, he now has competition for his closer's role after the Marlins acquired Fernando Rodney on Thursday.
June 23 7:50 AM PT8:50 AM MT9:50 AM CT10:50 AM ET10:50 ET14:50 GMT22:50 7:50 AM MST9:50 AM EST10:20 AM VEN18:50 UAE9:50 AM CT-Ramos gave up a pair of two-out singles in the ninth inning Wednesday but earned his 32nd consecutive save, including 23 this year.
Analysis: Ramos is second in the majors in saves and hasn't allowed a run in his last six appearances.
June 11 11:40 AM PT12:40 PM MT1:40 PM CT2:40 PM ET14:40 ET18:40 GMT2:40 11:40 AM MST1:40 PM EST2:10 PM VEN22:40 UAE1:40 PM CT-Ramos walked one and struck out one en route to his 19th save in Friday's 8-6 win over the D-backs.
Analysis: Ramos has been an outstanding option for fantasy owners. He's converted all 19 of his save opportunities and has a 2.13 ERA in 27 appearances.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Mia 0 0 0 - 1 11 0 0 9.1 8 4 4 2 4 0 13 1.29 3.86
2013 Mia 3 4 0 - 4 68 0 0 80.0 58 32 28 4 43 3 86 1.26 3.15
2014 Mia 7 0 0 - 3 68 0 0 64.0 36 16 15 1 43 7 73 1.23 2.11
2015 Mia 2 4 32 - 38 71 0 0 70.1 45 18 18 6 26 0 87 1.01 2.30
2016 Mia 1 4 40 - 43 67 0 0 64.0 52 21 20 1 35 3 73 1.36 2.81
Career 13 12 72 - 89 285 0 0 287.2 199 91 85 14 151 13 332 1.22 2.66



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 473 97 87 91.8 42.77
Curveball 57 78 72 75.1 5.15
Slider 373 84 76 80.1 33.73
Changeup 203 89 79 85.3 18.35

w12 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.