MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#3
Sandy León
AVG HR RBI
.245 4 15
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 5-10 / 240 NFBC ADP: 282.01
Position: CBorn: 3/13/1989 Birthplace: Maracaibo, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
May 28 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the Seattle Mariners 5-0. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
May 27 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)6:29 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 4 with an RBI Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Seattle Mariners 6-0. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
May 25 7:38 AM PT8:38 AM MT9:38 AM CT10:38 AM ET10:38 ET14:38 GMT22:38 7:38 AM MST9:38 AM EST10:08 AM VEN18:38 UAE9:38 AM CT-Sandy Leon went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Texas Rangers 9-4. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
May 23 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Texas Rangers 11-6. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 20 8:37 AM PT9:37 AM MT10:37 AM CT11:37 AM ET11:37 ET15:37 GMT23:37 8:37 AM MST10:37 AM EST11:07 AM VEN19:37 UAE10:37 AM CT-Sandy Leon went 2 for 4 Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 18 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
May 13 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 1 Saturday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3. Leon scored twice. He ended the game with a .240 batting average.
Analysis: Leon, who also walked twice, is 7 for 19 with three homers, a double, seven RBIs and seven runs scored over his last five games.
May 12 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Friday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4. Leon scored once. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
Analysis: Leon is now 6 for 18 with three homers and seven RBIs over his last four starts, turning around a miserable 13-game stretch in which he went 4 for 40 with one RBI.
May 10 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-7. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
May 7 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 2 for 4 with two home runs and four RBIs Sunday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Minnesota Twins 17-6. The homers were his third and fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: After starting the series with the fewest home runs in the in the major leagues, the Red Sox hit nine homers over the three games at Target Field, with three by Leon and two apiece by Andrew Benintendi and Chris Young.
May 6 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 3 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Boston Red Sox beat the Minnesota Twins 11-1. The homer was his second of the season. Leon scored twice. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
Analysis: Leon was just 4 for 40 at the plate over his previous 13 games.
May 2 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Boston Red Sox topped the Baltimore Orioles 5-2. He ended the game with a .196 batting average.
May 1 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Sandy Leon went 1 for 3 Monday as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-2. He ended the game with a .189 batting average.
Apr. 28 6:52 AM PT7:52 AM MT8:52 AM CT9:52 AM ET9:52 ET13:52 GMT21:52 6:52 AM MST8:52 AM EST9:22 AM VEN17:52 UAE8:52 AM CT-Sandy Leon went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Boston Red Sox fell to the New York Yankees 3-0. He ended the game with a .180 batting average.
Apr. 9 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Leon capped a 2-for-4 day with a tie-breaking two-run single in the eighth inning to lift the Red Sox to Sunday's 7-5 win over Detroit.
Analysis: The defensive-minded catcher has so far done his best to prove that last season's solid offensive performance was no fluke. Leon is off to a 7-for-16 start and has knocked in five runs over his first four games.
Apr. 6 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Leon hit a three-run homer in the 12th inning - his third hit of the game - to lead Boston to a 3-0 victory over the Pittsburgh Pirates on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Through two games, Leon already has five hits. After catching all 12 innings Wednesday, however, it seems unlikely he'll start Thursday's series finale with the Pirates in the afternoon.
Apr. 3 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Leon singled twice and scored Monday against the Pirates.
Analysis: Leon appeared sparingly in the majors since debuting in 2012 with Washington before appearing in 78 games with Boston last season and hitting .310 with seven homers and 35 RBIs.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.