MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
Drew Smyly
ERA W-L K
3.93 6-9 89
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-3 / 190 NFBC ADP: 169.71
Position: SPBorn: 6/13/1989 Birthplace: Little Rock, Arkansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Tigers (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 9 5:57 PM PT6:57 PM MT7:57 PM CT8:57 PM ET20:57 ET0:57 GMT8:57 5:57 PM MST7:57 PM EST8:27 PM VEN4:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-The Tampa Bay Rays are ending Drew Smyly's season after 153 innings.
Analysis: With the Rays out of contention, they told the 25-year-old left-hander of their decision before Tuesday night's game at the New York Yankees. Smyly was 9-10 with a 3.24 ERA, including 3-1 with a 1.70 ERA since he was acquired from Detroit on July 31 as part of a three-team trade that sent ace David Price from the Rays to the Tigers. Smyly's previous high was 126 innings for Class A Lakeland and Double-A Erie in 2011.
Aug. 28 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Smyly allowed one run and two hits through seven innings of Wednesday's 3-1 win over Baltimore.
Analysis: Smyly is 3-0 with a 0.88 ERA over his last four starts.
Aug. 23 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Smyly put together another outstanding outing Friday for the Rays, allowing two hits in a complete-game 8-0 victory at Toronto.
Analysis: The left-hander is 2-1 with a 1.55 ERA in his four starts with Tampa Bay.
Aug. 12 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Smyly pitched well for the Rays on Monday, allowing three hits with nine strikeouts over 7 2-3 innings in a 7-0 win at Texas.
Analysis: Smyly is 1-1 with a 2.08 ERA in two starts since joining the Rays.
July 31 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-The Rays received Smyly and minor league infielder Willy Adames Thursday in a three-team deal that sent David Price to the Detroit Tigers.
Analysis: Smyly is 6-9 with a 3.77 ERA in 20 games - 17 starts - for the Tigers.
July 26 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Smyly lost for the seventh time in 11 starts Friday, allowing two runs and four hits over 5 2-3 innings in a 2-1 defeat against the Angels.
Analysis: Smyly has been up and down all season and there appears to be little reason to invest in him the rest of the way - he's 2-3 over his last five starts with a 5.33 ERA.
July 21 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Smyly threw seven innings of one-run ball to beat Cleveland 5-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: Smyly improved to 6-8 and lowered his ERA back down to 3.80. He should remain a decent fantasy option down the stretch.
June 25 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Smyly had another strong effort and got enough support for his first win in three games, 8-2 over Texas on Tuesday.
Analysis: Smyly (4-6, 3.19 ERA) is 2-2 with a 1.44 ERA in his last four starts. He was given one run of support in back-to-back losses.
May 4 11:44 AM PT12:44 PM MT1:44 PM CT2:44 PM ET14:44 ET18:44 GMT2:44 11:44 AM MST1:44 PM EST2:14 PM VEN22:44 UAE1:44 PM CT-Smyly went from the bullpen to tossing seven shutout innings as a starter Saturday.
Analysis: Smyly wound up allowing two hits and two walks. "Smyly was outstanding," manager Brad Ausmus said. "I think he had nine days since his last start."
Apr. 24 11:13 AM PT12:13 PM MT1:13 PM CT2:13 PM ET14:13 ET18:13 GMT2:13 11:13 AM MST1:13 PM EST1:43 PM VEN22:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-Smyly did not get a decision Wednesday night.
Analysis: Smyly struck out seven in six innings, allowing two runs. He faces the ChiSox again in his next start.
Apr. 19 10:06 AM PT11:06 AM MT12:06 PM CT1:06 PM ET13:06 ET17:06 GMT1:06 10:06 AM MST12:06 PM EST12:36 PM VEN21:06 UAE12:06 PM CT-Smyly wasn't smiling after his performance Friday night for Detroit.
Analysis: Smyly allowed four runs and six hits in three innings in his first start since 2012. Hopefully you weren't planning on using him.
Feb. 24 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Detroit announced agreements with right-handers Jose Ortega, Luke Putkonen and Evan Reed, left-handers Kyle Lobstein and Drew Smyly, infielder Nick Castellanos and outfielder Steven Moya.
Analysis: Smyly is expected to move into the rotation after an impressive 2013 showing in the bullpen.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Det 4 3 0 - 0 23 18 0 99.1 93 49 44 12 33 1 94 1.27 3.99
2013 Det 6 0 2 - 6 63 0 0 76.0 62 20 20 4 17 1 81 1.04 2.37
2014 Det 6 9 0 - 0 21 18 0 105.1 111 48 46 14 31 1 89 1.35 3.93
2014 TB 3 1 0 - 0 7 7 1 47.2 25 9 9 4 11 1 44 0.76 1.70
2014 Tot 9 10 0 - 0 28 25 1 153.0 136 57 55 18 42 2 133 1.16 3.24
Career 19 13 2 - 6 114 43 1 328.1 291 126 119 34 92 4 308 1.17 3.26

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Det 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Det 21 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 28 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 114 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Det Total 1 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 2 1 1 0 3 1 4 1.93
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 1 1 0 3 1 2 5.40
2013 Det Total 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 3.0 1 2 1 0 3 0 3 3.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 2 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.0 0 2 1 0 1 0 1 4.50
Career 1 0 0 - 0 10 0 0 7.0 3 3 2 0 6 1 7 2.57


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1398 94 85 89.9 52.01
Curveball 750 83 72 77.5 27.9
Slider 436 89 80 84.6 16.22
Changeup 104 82 77 79.5 3.87

w12 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.