MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Trevor Bauer
ERA W-L K
4.26 12-8 168
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 200 NFBC ADP: 292.18
Position: SPBorn: 1/17/1991 Birthplace: North Hollywood, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2011)


Latest News
Oct. 31 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE10:14 PM CT-Bauer's rocky postseason likely ended Sunday in Game 5 of the World Series as he allowed three runs and six hits over four innings in a 3-2 loss.
Analysis: Bauer is 0-2 with a 5.54 ERA in four playoff starts and would only pitch in relief in Game 7, an unlikely scenario.
Oct. 27 10:16 PM PT11:16 PM MT12:16 AM CT1:16 AM ET1:16 ET5:16 GMT13:16 10:16 PM MST12:16 AM EST12:46 AM VEN9:16 UAE12:16 AM CT-Bauer started for Cleveland in the Indians' Game 2 loss to the Cubs in the World Series and had a rough and brief outing. In 3 2/3 innings, Bauer threw 87 pitches and gave up two runs on six hits with two strikeouts and two walks.
Analysis: Nine days after he walked off the mound with his stitched-up right pinkie dripping blood as if in some horror flick, Bauer never got into a flow against the Cubs. He started six of his first nine batters with balls while scattering pitches high, low and wide. He is scheduled to take the ball again Sunday in Game 5.
Oct. 25 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Bauer tested his pinkie finger - notoriously hurt while he was tinkering with a drone before the ALCS - during a simulated game Monday and said he's ready to start Game 2 of the World Series against the Cubs on Wednesday.
Analysis: He wore gauze over the finger - a no-no during an actual game - just to see if it could withstand the pressure placed on it when Bauer grips the ball and lets it rip. ''We took it off and it was completely white, so it was a non-issue,'' Bauer said. That was hardly the case in Game 3 of the ALCS, when Bauer lasted all of two outs and 21 pitches, the still fresh wound ripping open and caking Bauer's jersey, pants and portions of the mound in blood.
Oct. 23 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-Indians manager Terry Francona said Bauer will start Game 2 of the World Series against the Cubs on Wednesday if his cut finger is healed. Otherwise, right-hander Josh Tomlin will draw the assignment and Bauer will pitch Friday's Game 3 in Chicago.
Analysis: Bauer sliced his right pinky finger while performing maintenance on one of his drones prior to the ALCS against the Blue Jays. He attempted to pitch in Game 3 but departed in the first inning when blood started pouring out of the cut.
Oct. 21 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-The Indians are hoping Bauer will be available for the World Series after his Game 4 start in the AL Championship Series lasted less than an inning when his stitched right pinkie opened up and he had to be replaced because of excessive bleeding. Bauer sliced his finger open while repairing a drone prior to the ALCS.
Analysis: Bauer said Friday that his finger is healing and he's confident the added rest before the series opens Tuesday will allow him to pitch.
Oct. 16 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Bauer was forced to leave Game 3 of the ALCS on Monday after facing just four batters because blood began to drip from his injured finger.
Analysis: Bauer had been pushed back two days to Game 3 because he cut his right pinkie on a drone last week. He received stitches, but with two on and two out in the first inning Monday, there was already blood on his hand and coming out of his finger.
Oct. 12 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Bauer will not start Game 2 of the ALCS after cutting the pinkie finger on his right pitching hand.
Analysis: The Indians will push Bauer back to Monday's Game 3 in Toronto and move Josh Tomlin up to pitch Saturday's matchup. Bauer had two effective starts against the Blue Jays during the regular season, allowing just two runs and recording 16 strikeouts over 13 innings in those games.
Oct. 7 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Making his postseason debut, Bauer allowed three runs and struck out six over 4 2/3 innings while not receiving a decision in the Indians' 5-4 win over Boston in Game 1 of the ALDS.
Analysis: Bauer did give up a pair of solo homers but didn't walk a batter in an overall respectable showing. His performance is a positive sign for Cleveland, which needs the right-hander to step up in this series with Carlos Carrasco and Danny Salazar out with injuries.
Oct. 1 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Bauer tuned up for the biggest start of his career by allowing three runs and six hits over six innings Saturday at Kansas City.
Analysis: Bauer was told by manager Terry Francona that he would start Game 1 of the AL division series. Bauer, who has never pitched in the postseason, is 2-2 with a 7.28 ERA in his last five starts.
Sep. 18 5:48 PM PT6:48 PM MT7:48 PM CT8:48 PM ET20:48 ET0:48 GMT8:48 5:48 PM MST7:48 PM EST8:18 PM VEN4:48 UAE (+1)7:48 PM CT-With injuries to Carlos Carrasco and Danny Salazar, Bauer takes on added importance with Cleveland likely headed for the postseason. Unfortunately, he doesn't look much like a playoff performer right now.
Analysis: Bauer was tagged for six runs and a season-high 10 hits over 5 2/3 innings Sunday in a 9-5 loss to Detroit. He is 1-2 with a 9.56 ERA in his last three starts.
Sep. 14 8:35 AM PT9:35 AM MT10:35 AM CT11:35 AM ET11:35 ET15:35 GMT23:35 8:35 AM MST10:35 AM EST11:05 AM VEN19:35 UAE10:35 AM CT-Bauer surrendered six runs on six hits in 5 1/3 innings in the Indians' 8-1 loss to the White Sox on Tuesday.
Analysis: Bauer has been better away from home all season - a 3.61 ERA on the road and a 4.44 mark in Cleveland - but that wasn't the case Tuesday.
Sep. 8 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Bauer pitched a shaky five innings to get the victory Thursday against the Astros. He allowed five runs and seven hits with two walks.
Analysis: The right-hander tied a career high with his 11th win and is 4-1 with a 3.30 ERA in his past seven starts.
Sep. 4 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET13:30 ET17:30 GMT1:30 10:30 AM MST12:30 PM EST1:00 PM VEN21:30 UAE12:30 PM CT-Bauer shut down the Marlins after giving up three runs and three hits in the first, giving up just one more hit over the next 7 1/3 in the Indians' 8-3 win over the Marlins on Saturday.
Analysis: Bauer's put together a nice six-start stretch of late, posting a 2.61 ERA.
Aug. 24 4:09 PM PT5:09 PM MT6:09 PM CT7:09 PM ET19:09 ET23:09 GMT7:09 4:09 PM MST6:09 PM EST6:39 PM VEN3:09 UAE (+1)6:09 PM CT-Bauer lost for the first time in four starts Wednesday, allowing five runs - three earned - and nine hits in 6 2/3 innings against the Athletics.
Analysis: The right-hander was 2-0 with a 2.66 ERA in his previous three outings.
Aug. 9 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Bauer moved past his recent slump Tuesday when he allowed four hits over 6 1/3 scoreless innings in a 3-1 win over the Nationals.
Analysis: The right-hander had been 0-3 with an 8.37 ERA over his previous five starts.
July 22 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Bauer matched his shortest start of the season Friday, lasting four innings while allowing five runs and five hits - two homers - in a 5-1 loss at Baltimore.
Analysis: Bauer is 0-2 with a 7.47 ERA in his last three starts after going 2-0 with a 1.64 ERA in his previous three.
July 7 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Bauer was dealt his first loss since May 21 after allowing a season-high five runs over 5 2/3 innings Thursday against the Yankees.
Analysis: He entered this matchup on a roll, having earned the win in three straight appearances that included a five-inning relief stint in Friday's marathon with Toronto. Bauer had been 4-0 with a 1.48 ERA over his previous six outings.
July 1 6:09 PM PT7:09 PM MT8:09 PM CT9:09 PM ET21:09 ET1:09 GMT9:09 6:09 PM MST8:09 PM EST8:39 PM VEN5:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Having used seven of their eight relievers Friday, the Indians turned to Bauer, Saturday's scheduled starter, in the 15th inning at Toronto. He worked five scoreless innings to pick up the win as the Indians posted a 2-1 victory in 19.
Analysis: The right-hander has won four straight decisions behind a 1.48 ERA.
June 28 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Bauer won his third straight decision Monday, allowing two runs over six innings to beat the Braves.
Analysis: The right-hander is 3-0 with a 1.67 ERA over his last five starts.
June 23 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Bauer threw a three-hitter for his second career complete game and struck out 10 as the Indians defeated the Rays 6-1 on Wednesday.
Analysis: The right-hander is 2-0 with a 1.42 ERA in his last four starts while striking out 32 and walking just six in 31 2/3 innings.
June 7 10:16 PM PT11:16 PM MT12:16 AM CT1:16 AM ET1:16 ET5:16 GMT13:16 10:16 PM MST12:16 AM EST12:46 AM VEN9:16 UAE12:16 AM CT-Bauer pitched 7 1/3 strong innings and Rajah Davis homered to lead the Cleveland Indians to their sixth straight victory with a 3-1 win over the Seattle Mariners on Monday night.
Analysis: Bauer (4-2) gave up one run while scattering five hits. He walked one and struck out 10 to earn his first victory since May 10.
June 2 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Bauer got a no-decision Wednesday.
Analysis: Bauer allowed three runs with three walks and one dinger in seven innings.
May 11 9:45 AM PT10:45 AM MT11:45 AM CT12:45 PM ET12:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE11:45 AM CT-Bauer fanned a season-high seven and gave up three hits in seven innings in a 4-0 win in Houston on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Bauer (3-0, 3.86 ERA) is 2-0 with a 3.24 ERA in his three starts this season.
May 1 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE12:21 PM CT-Bauer was a bust Saturday.
Analysis: Bauer lasted four-plus innings and gave up three runs.
Mar. 30 12:43 PM PT1:43 PM MT2:43 PM CT3:43 PM ET15:43 ET19:43 GMT3:43 12:43 PM MST2:43 PM EST3:13 PM VEN23:43 UAE2:43 PM CT-Bauer, who made 30 starts last season and figured to be part of Cleveland's strong rotation in 2016, will be pitching out of the bullpen.
Analysis: Indians manager Terry Francona finalized his starting rotation on Wednesday, and it doesn't include Bauer, the quirky, hard-throwing right-hander who led the American League in walks in 2015 but has had a very solid spring camp. Francona named Cody Anderson and Josh Tomlin the club's No. 4 and No. 5 starters behind Corey Kluber, Carlos Carrasco and Danny Salazar.

w12 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.