MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#6
Starling Marte
AVG HR RBI
.271 3 15
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 23.11
Position: CFBorn: 10/9/1988 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Pirates (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 18 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 4 with a triple and an RBI Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the St. Louis Cardinals 11-10. Marte scored twice. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
Analysis: Marte had his fourth straight two-hit game and is batting .305 over his last 15.
Aug. 18 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 4 Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 11-7. Marte scored once. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Marte had his third straight two-hit game after going 3 for 18 in his previous five.
Aug. 16 3:10 PM PT4:10 PM MT5:10 PM CT6:10 PM ET18:10 ET22:10 GMT6:10 3:10 PM MST5:10 PM EST5:40 PM VEN2:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 5 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-6. Marte scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: Marte went 4 for 9 with two steals in the two-game set at Miller Park. He had gone nine games without even attempting a steal. Marte reached double figures in stolen bases for the sixth time in as many seasons.
Aug. 15 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1. Marte added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Aug. 13 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-1. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
Analysis: Marte is 4 for 26 (.154) in his last seven games, all against Detroit or Toronto. He might be happy the Pirates are done with AL opponents until late September. He's hit .274 against the NL this year and .132 versus the AL.
Aug. 12 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Aug. 11 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 2 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Aug. 10 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 5 with a double Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Detroit Tigers 7-5. Marte scored twice. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Aug. 9 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Detroit Tigers 10-0. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Aug. 8 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Detroit Tigers 6-3. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Aug. 7 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 4 Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Detroit Tigers 3-0. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Aug. 7 6:49 AM PT7:49 AM MT8:49 AM CT9:49 AM ET9:49 ET13:49 GMT21:49 6:49 AM MST8:49 AM EST9:19 AM VEN17:49 UAE8:49 AM CT-Starling Marte went 3 for 5 with two doubles Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the San Diego Padres 5-4. Marte scored once. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Marte is batting a pedestrian .267 with four doubles and no homers in 18 games since returning from suspension.
Aug. 6 11:30 PM PT12:30 AM MT1:30 AM CT2:30 AM ET2:30 ET6:30 GMT14:30 11:30 PM MST1:30 AM EST2:00 AM VEN10:30 UAE1:30 AM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the San Diego Padres 5-2. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Aug. 5 9:29 AM PT10:29 AM MT11:29 AM CT12:29 PM ET12:29 ET16:29 GMT0:29 9:29 AM MST11:29 AM EST11:59 AM VEN20:29 UAE11:29 AM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the San Diego Padres 10-6. Marte added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
Aug. 3 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Starling Marte went 3 for 5 with a double Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Cincinnati Reds 6-0. Marte scored three times. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
Analysis: Marte has hit safely in 11 of 15 games since returning from an 80-game suspension stemming from testing positive for performance enhancing drugs.
Aug. 3 7:31 AM PT8:31 AM MT9:31 AM CT10:31 AM ET10:31 ET14:31 GMT22:31 7:31 AM MST9:31 AM EST10:01 AM VEN18:31 UAE9:31 AM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Cincinnati Reds 5-2. Marte scored once. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
Aug. 1 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the Cincinnati Reds 9-1. Marte scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
Analysis: Marte has cooled off considerably after batting .306 with four steals and eight runs scored over his first eight games back from his lengthy PED suspension. He's 2 for 19 with seven strikeouts since.
July 31 8:00 AM PT9:00 AM MT10:00 AM CT11:00 AM ET11:00 ET15:00 GMT23:00 8:00 AM MST10:00 AM EST10:30 AM VEN19:00 UAE10:00 AM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 5 Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the San Diego Padres 7-1. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
July 30 6:47 AM PT7:47 AM MT8:47 AM CT9:47 AM ET9:47 ET13:47 GMT21:47 6:47 AM MST8:47 AM EST9:17 AM VEN17:47 UAE8:47 AM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 4-2. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
July 29 10:39 AM PT11:39 AM MT12:39 PM CT1:39 PM ET13:39 ET17:39 GMT1:39 10:39 AM MST12:39 PM EST1:09 PM VEN21:39 UAE12:39 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 3 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
July 26 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the San Francisco Giants 2-1. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
Analysis: Marte's five-game hit streak came to an end and it got even worse when the left-fielder misplayed a fly ball with two outs in the bottom of the seventh inning that allowed the go-ahead run to score.
July 26 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 5 with an RBI Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates fell to the San Francisco Giants 11-3. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
July 25 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the San Francisco Giants 10-3. Marte scored twice and stole a base. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
July 24 7:34 AM PT8:34 AM MT9:34 AM CT10:34 AM ET10:34 ET14:34 GMT22:34 7:34 AM MST9:34 AM EST10:04 AM VEN18:34 UAE9:34 AM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 5 with an RBI Sunday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 13-3. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
July 23 8:23 AM PT9:23 AM MT10:23 AM CT11:23 AM ET11:23 ET15:23 GMT23:23 8:23 AM MST10:23 AM EST10:53 AM VEN19:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Starling Marte went 3 for 5 with an RBI Saturday as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 7-3. Marte added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
Analysis: Marte was 2 for 12 in his first three games back from suspension, but he has five hits and three stolen bases in the last two games.
July 22 9:29 AM PT10:29 AM MT11:29 AM CT12:29 PM ET12:29 ET16:29 GMT0:29 9:29 AM MST11:29 AM EST11:59 AM VEN20:29 UAE11:29 AM CT-Starling Marte went 2 for 5 Friday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Colorado Rockies 13-5. Marte scored four times and stole two bases. He ended the game with a .239 batting average.
July 20 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Starling Marte went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
July 19 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates topped the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2. Marte scored once. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
July 18 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Starling Marte went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Pittsburgh Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3. Marte scored once. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
Analysis: Marte made his return from an 80-game suspension for violating the performance-enhancing drug policy. He also walked in the sixth inning, coming around to score on Josh Harrison's home run that tied the game.
Apr. 18 12:19 PM PT1:19 PM MT2:19 PM CT3:19 PM ET15:19 ET19:19 GMT3:19 12:19 PM MST2:19 PM EST2:49 PM VEN23:19 UAE2:19 PM CT-Marte will bat leadoff and play left field for the Pirates when he returns from his 80-game suspension Tuesday against Milwaukee.
Analysis: Marte was able to get in 12 minor league games and went 6 for 14 over the final three with Triple-A Indianapolis. The 2016 All-Star was hitting .241 with two home runs and seven RBIs in 13 major league games before beginning his ban for testing positive for a performance-enhancing substance on April 18. He will be ineligible for the postseason should the Pirates make it.
Apr. 9 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Marte went 4 for 5 and hit a walk-off two-run homer in the Pirates' 6-5 win over the Braves on Sunday.
Analysis: Marte was 4 for 16 in his first four games before this breakout performance.
Apr. 7 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 4 with two RBIs, a run scored and was hit by a pitch Friday against Atlanta.
Analysis: He went 1 for 9 with an RBI in his first two games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Pit 47 167 18 43 3 6 5 17 8 50 12 5 .257 .300 .437
2013 Pit 135 510 83 143 26 10 12 35 25 138 41 15 .280 .343 .441
2014 Pit 135 495 73 144 29 6 13 56 33 131 30 11 .291 .356 .453
2015 Pit 153 579 84 166 30 2 19 81 27 123 30 10 .287 .337 .444
2016 Pit 129 489 71 152 34 5 9 46 23 104 47 12 .311 .362 .456
2017 Pit 43 177 29 48 6 1 3 15 12 37 12 2 .271 .333 .367
Career 642 2417 358 696 128 30 61 250 128 583 172 55 .288 .344 .441

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 6 24 2 3 1 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .125 .192 .292
    WC 1 5 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .400 .400 .600
    LDS 5 19 1 1 0 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .053 .143 .211
2014 Pit Total 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2015 Pit Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 8 32 2 4 1 0 1 1 1 7 1 0 .125 .176 .250


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.