MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#6
Starling Marte
AVG HR RBI
.271 8 42
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-1 / 184 NFBC ADP: 55.17
Position: LFBorn: 10/9/1988 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Pirates (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 12 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 4 with a triple and three RBIs in Monday's 11-6 win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Marte is 5 for 11 over his last three games.
July 24 11:53 PM PT12:53 AM MT1:53 AM CT2:53 AM ET2:53 ET6:53 GMT14:53 11:53 PM MST1:53 AM EST2:23 AM VEN10:53 UAE1:53 AM CT-Marte was activated from the seven-day concussion disabled list Tuesday.
Analysis: Marte had been out since July 22. He is hitting .255 with five home runs and 21 stolen bases in 86 games.
July 19 11:24 AM PT12:24 PM MT1:24 PM CT2:24 PM ET14:24 ET18:24 GMT2:24 11:24 AM MST1:24 PM EST1:54 PM VEN22:24 UAE1:24 PM CT-Marte tripled and drove in two runs before leaving late in the game shortly after taking a fastball to the head Friday.
Analysis: Manager Clint Hurdle called the decision to remove Marte "precautionary" and he will be re-evaluated on Saturday.
July 9 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-The Pirates placed Marte on the bereavement list on Wednesday.
Analysis: Marte is batting .256 with 40 runs and 32 RBIs in 83 games.
June 24 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Pittsburgh Pirates manager Clint Hurdle said left fielder Starling Marte cleared a concussion test Wednesday and was feeling "much better" one day after leaving Tuesday night's game in the fifth inning with concussion-like symptoms.
Analysis: Marte was hurt after a head-first slide during a failed stolen base attempt. He made contact with Rays second baseman Sean Rodriguez on the play. Hurdle says Marte, who has a swollen finger on his right hand, was not available for Wednesday's game.
June 23 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Marte has rejoined the team after missing two games tending to a personal matter at home in the Dominican Republic.
Analysis: Marte was batting second in the Pirates' lineup for Monday night's game against Tampa Bay.
June 21 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-The Pirates will be without Marte for a couple days while the speedy outfielder attends to a personal matter in his native Dominican Republic.
Analysis: Manager Clint Hurdle says he thinks Marte will be back in time for Monday night's game at Tampa Bay. Jose Tabata got the start in left for Saturday night's game at the Chicago Cubs.
June 14 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Marte had another big game with four hits - including his fifth home run - in Friday's 8-6, 13-inning win at Miami.
Analysis: Following a terrible slump, Marte has gone 12 for 23 over his last five games.
May 18 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Marte left with tightness in his left hamstring during Pittsburgh's doubleheader with the New York Yankees on Sunday.
Analysis: The Pirates outfielder thought he might be ready for Tuesday's series opener against Baltimore.
May 18 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Marte went 3 for 3 with a home run and double in a 7-1 loss at Yankee Stadium on Saturday.
Analysis: Marte was 1 for 10 over his previous four games.
May 11 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Marte left the game Saturday for pinch-hitter Gaby Sanchez in bottom of the fourth inning because of lower back stiffness.
Analysis: His status going forward is uncertain.
May 3 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Marte's walkoff homer sent Pittsburgh home with a 6-5 win over Toronto on Friday.
Analysis: Marte finished the night with a career high-tying four hits. He has raised his average 36 points to .265 after going 7 for his last 12.
Apr. 16 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Marte is 2 for 9 with six strikeouts in the first two games of a series vs. the Reds.
Analysis: Marte has struck out 23 times - one behind former Pirate Garrett Jones for the highest total in the majors.
Apr. 9 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Marte scored three runs Tuesday.
Analysis: Marte has hit safely in nine straight at Wrigley Field (15 for 36) and has stolen 11 bases. Start him up Wednesday versus Jason Hammel.
Mar. 26 9:53 AM PT10:53 AM MT11:53 AM CT12:53 PM ET12:53 ET16:53 GMT0:53 9:53 AM MST11:53 AM EST12:23 PM VEN20:53 UAE10:53 AM CT-Marte and the Pittsburgh Pirates have completed their $31 million, six-year contract.
Analysis: Marte hit .280 with 12 homers, 35 RBIs and a team-high 41 steals last year, his first full season in the majors.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Pit 47 167 18 43 3 6 5 17 8 50 12 5 .257 .300 .437
2013 Pit 135 510 83 143 26 10 12 35 25 138 41 15 .280 .343 .441
2014 Pit 100 365 53 99 22 6 8 42 27 106 23 8 .271 .345 .430
Career 282 1042 154 285 51 22 25 94 60 294 76 28 .274 .337 .437

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 6 24 2 3 1 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .125 .192 .292
    LDS 5 19 1 1 0 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .053 .143 .211
    WC 1 5 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .400 .400 .600
Career 6 24 2 3 1 0 1 1 1 5 1 0 .125 .192 .292


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.