MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#6
Starling Marte
AVG HR RBI
.311 9 46
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-1 / 185 NFBC ADP: 22.73
Position: LFBorn: 10/9/1988 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Pirates (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 22 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Marte left with back tightness during his first start since returning to the Pirates following a 16-game absence caused by lower back discomfort. Marte immediately grabbed his lower back after fouling off a pitch in the third inning Thursday night.
Analysis: Marte is batting .311 with nine homers and 46 RBIs in 128 games.
Sep. 7 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Marte (back spasms) returned to action Wednesday and struck out as a pinch-hitter in the ninth inning.
Analysis: The All-Star outfielder had not played since Sept. 5. He went through another full workout and the club anticipates his return to the field in the near future.
Sep. 3 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Marte homered among his three hits in Saturday's 7-4 loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: Marte is batting .462 in his last six games and is 6 for 10 with a homer and two doubles lifetime against Chase Anderson, Milwaukee's scheduled starter for Sunday.
Sep. 2 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Marte recorded his second straight two-hit game Friday.
Analysis: He's 9 for 22 with a homer, two doubles and three stolen bases over his last five games.
Aug. 29 9:15 AM PT10:15 AM MT11:15 AM CT12:15 PM ET12:15 ET16:15 GMT0:15 9:15 AM MST11:15 AM EST11:45 AM VEN20:15 UAE11:15 AM CT-Marte had two hits, including his eighth homer, as the Pirates beat the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1 on Sunday for their eighth straight road victory.
Analysis: Marte had been just 4 for 31 over his previous seven games.
Aug. 27 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Marte had a hit for the third straight game Friday but hasn't provided much production lately.
Analysis: Marte is 3 for 26 with two RBIs in his last six games.
Aug. 16 10:40 AM PT11:40 AM MT12:40 PM CT1:40 PM ET13:40 ET17:40 GMT1:40 10:40 AM MST12:40 PM EST1:10 PM VEN21:40 UAE12:40 PM CT-Marte returned Monday after missing one game with a sore back, going 2 for 5 with an RBI and a run scored.
Analysis: Marte is 7 for 16 with five runs in his last four games
Aug. 14 10:51 AM PT11:51 AM MT12:51 PM CT1:51 PM ET13:51 ET17:51 GMT1:51 10:51 AM MST12:51 PM EST1:21 PM VEN21:51 UAE12:51 PM CT-Marte, who left Saturday's game in the eighth inning with upper back discomfort, was a late scratch from the lineup for Sunday.
Analysis: Marte went 2 for 4 with two runs scored and his 40th stolen base prior to departing in the eighth inning.
Aug. 11 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 3 with a run scored Thursday to snap out of a mini-funk.
Analysis: He was 0 for 11 in his previous three games.
Aug. 4 8:33 AM PT9:33 AM MT10:33 AM CT11:33 AM ET11:33 ET15:33 GMT23:33 8:33 AM MST10:33 AM EST11:03 AM VEN19:33 UAE10:33 AM CT-Marte was hit by two pitches Wednesday but stayed in the game, also scoring a run and stealing a base.
Analysis: The first one grazed his left hand, but the next one hit his left hand solidly. Marte has been hit by 15 pitches, third-most in the NL. He has a .553 OBP in his last nine games with four steals and seven runs scored.
Aug. 1 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Marte had a hit in his seventh straight game Sunday.
Analysis: He's 12 for 25 with four doubles, a triple, three RBIs, five runs scored and three stolen bases over that span.
July 30 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Marte singled and doubled Friday for half of the Pirates' four hits in a 3-1 loss at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Marte has a .591 OBP in his last five games,
July 28 8:12 AM PT9:12 AM MT10:12 AM CT11:12 AM ET11:12 ET15:12 GMT23:12 8:12 AM MST10:12 AM EST10:42 AM VEN19:12 UAE10:12 AM CT-Marte appears to be back on track as he went 2 for 3 with a double and an RBI on Wednesday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 14 over his last four games after batting .217 in his previous 16 contests.
July 24 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Marte went 3 for 4 with a double in the Pirates' 5-4 win over the Phillies on Sunday.
Analysis: Marte had cooled off a bit in July, hitting just .222, until Sunday's performance. Perhaps this will get him back on track.
July 21 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Marte was scratched due to flu-like symptoms minutes before Thursday's game against the Brewers.
Analysis: Marte, an NL All-Star, was 5 for 14 with one homer and two RBIs in his previous three games. He is batting .314 with seven homers and 34 RBIs in 87 games this season.
July 21 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Marte added to his growing stolen base total and finished 2 for 4 with a run scored in Wednesday's loss to Milwaukee.
Analysis: Marte's 33 steals are one fewer than the Brewers' Jonathan Villar's MLB-leading total and he's now racked up 13 over his last 15 games. On the down side, he's hitting just .232 with one home run in July.
July 17 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Marte homered - for one of his three hits - in the top of the 18th inning Sunday to give the Pirates a 2-1 win over the Nationals.
Analysis: Marte had just eight hits over 42 at-bats in previous 11 games.
July 9 12:57 PM PT1:57 PM MT2:57 PM CT3:57 PM ET15:57 ET19:57 GMT3:57 12:57 PM MST2:57 PM EST3:27 PM VEN23:57 UAE2:57 PM CT-Marte has been named to the NL All-Star team as an injury replacement for the Mets' Yoenis Cespedes.
Analysis: After finishing a close second to San Francisco's Brandon Belt in the NL Final Vote, Marte gets a well-deserved first All-Star nod. The 27-year-old entered Saturday hitting .316 and ranking second in the NL with 27 stolen bases.
June 30 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Marte went 3 for 4 and scored three runs in the Pirates' 8-1 win over the Mariners on Wednesday.
Analysis: Marte also walked for only the ninth time this year. He has struck out 63 times.
June 24 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Marte (sore left foot) went 2 for 5 in Friday's win over the Dodgers after being limited to pinch hitting in the previous two games.
Analysis: The outfielder was hurt while chasing Ramiro Pena's triple on Tuesday.
June 21 8:31 PM PT9:31 PM MT10:31 PM CT11:31 PM ET23:31 ET3:31 GMT11:31 8:31 PM MST10:31 PM EST11:01 PM VEN7:31 UAE (+1)10:31 PM CT-Marte was held out of the starting lineup for the second consecutive game Thursday with a sore left foot. He pinch hit in the seventh inning and flied out.
Analysis: The outfielder was hurt while chasing Ramiro Pena's triple on Tuesday.
June 20 8:59 AM PT9:59 AM MT10:59 AM CT11:59 AM ET11:59 ET15:59 GMT23:59 8:59 AM MST10:59 AM EST11:29 AM VEN19:59 UAE10:59 AM CT-Marte went 3 for 5 and stole a base in his first start since taking a one-hopper off his face Wednesday against the Mets, but the Pirates lost 10-5 to the Cubs on Sunday.
Analysis: Marte's average is up to .337. Now, perhaps he can do something about the disparity between his 57 strikeouts and only seven walks.
June 15 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Marte sat out for the second straight game Friday after leaving Wednesday's game against the Mets after being hit by a bouncing ball in the left cheek.
Analysis: Marte was shaken up after making a diving attempt on Yoenis Cesepdes' single to left field in the fifth inning. He has no vision problems.
June 15 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-Marte stayed hot with a two-run homer and a single in Tuesday's 4-0 win over the Mets.
Analysis: It was the fourth straight multihit effort for Marte, a span in which he's 9 for 17 and has scored four runs.
June 13 9:39 AM PT10:39 AM MT11:39 AM CT12:39 PM ET12:39 ET16:39 GMT0:39 9:39 AM MST11:39 AM EST12:09 PM VEN20:39 UAE11:39 AM CT-Marte has been a bright spot during the Pirates' slide. He had two more hits and knocked in a run in Sunday's 8-3 loss to the Cardinals.
Analysis: Marte, who went 7 for 13 in the series, is batting a career-best .332 on the season.
June 11 9:49 AM PT10:49 AM MT11:49 AM CT12:49 PM ET12:49 ET16:49 GMT0:49 9:49 AM MST11:49 AM EST12:19 PM VEN20:49 UAE11:49 AM CT-Marte went 2 for 5 with a triple and a run scored in Friday's 9-3 extra-inning loss to the Cardinals.
Analysis: Following a 1 for 8 stretch over three games, Marte has three hits and three runs in his last two. He's been a bright spot for the Pirates with a .322 average, 18 doubles and 22 RBIs in 57 games.
June 7 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Marte was removed for a pinch hitter in the seventh inning of Game 1 of Tuesday's doubleheader because of a bruised left ankle. He then sat out the second game.
Analysis: His status going forward is uncertain.
June 5 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-Marte recorded his second straight three-hit game in Saturday's win over the Angels.
Analysis: Marte has been on fire of late, hitting .389 with a pair of homers and four stolen bases over a nine-game stretch. He's batting .340 with 11 steals in 24 games since May 6.
June 4 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Marte went 3 for 4 with a solo homer and a double in a 9-2 defeat to the Los Angeles Angels on Friday.
Analysis: Marte is batting .344 (11 for 32) with two homers in his last eight games.
May 28 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Marte was 3 for 4 with a jack Friday night.
Analysis: Marte is 10 for 31 in a seven-game tear.
May 16 11:39 AM PT12:39 PM MT1:39 PM CT2:39 PM ET14:39 ET18:39 GMT2:39 11:39 AM MST1:39 PM EST2:09 PM VEN22:39 UAE1:39 PM CT-Marte was placed on the paternity list by the Pittsburgh Pirates on Monday.
Analysis: Marte batted .369 on the Pirates' just-completed nine-game homestand to increase his season batting average to .326 in 36 games. He also had three home runs, 14 RBIs and 12 stolen bases. Players on paternity leave can miss up to three days.
May 11 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Pirates manager Clint Hurdle and Marte were ejected in the middle of the sixth inning while disputing a play at second base. They were Pittsburgh's first ejections of the season.
Analysis: Marte was hit on the back of the left hand by a pitch from Alfredo Simon, the third batter plunked in the game overall. Marte tried to steal, but was tagged out by Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips. He was originally ruled safe, but the call was reversed on review. Hurdle came out of the dugout to argue with the umpires and was ejected. Marte got his glove and started back onto the field and was ejected as he went past the umpires.
May 2 8:17 AM PT9:17 AM MT10:17 AM CT11:17 AM ET11:17 ET15:17 GMT23:17 8:17 AM MST10:17 AM EST10:47 AM VEN19:17 UAE10:17 AM CT-Marte went 2 for 5 on Sunday.
Analysis: Marte is 4 for 16 against Jason Hammel, who he faces Monday.
Apr. 25 8:21 AM PT9:21 AM MT10:21 AM CT11:21 AM ET11:21 ET15:21 GMT23:21 8:21 AM MST10:21 AM EST10:51 AM VEN19:21 UAE10:21 AM CT-Marte went nuts Sunday.
Analysis: Marte was 4 for 6 with a pair of RBIs. He's a good play Monday since he is 17 for 26 (.654) in seven career games in Denver and 3 for 3 vs. the Rockies' Chad Bettis.
Apr. 22 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 5 with a double and two RBIs on Thursday.
Analysis: He also scored two runs. Marte has five doubles in his last six games.
Apr. 11 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Marte went 2 for 5 on Sunday with a pair of singles.
Analysis: He has at least two hits in three of his last four games.

w12 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.