MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#9
Yasmani Grandal
AVG HR RBI
.234 16 47
Team: LA DodgersHt / Wt: 6-1 / 225 NFBC ADP: 198.63
Position: CBorn: 11/8/1988 Birthplace: Havana, Cuba
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2010)


Latest News
Jan. 15 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET0:12 GMT8:12 5:12 PM MST7:12 PM EST7:42 PM VEN4:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-The Dodgers have reached one-year deals with closer Kenley Jansen, catcher Yasmani Grandal, infielder Justin Turner and reliever Luis Avilan, avoiding arbitration with all six of their players who had filed.
Analysis: Grandal will earn $2.8 million in the coming season after making $693,000 last year. Grandal had 16 homers and 47 RBIs last year. He became the starting catcher before a shoulder injury limited his second-half production. Grandal had shoulder surgery after the season.
Oct. 21 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Grandal is having arthroscopic surgery to repair an injury that bothered him during the season. The team says he will be ready for spring training
Analysis: Grandal had surgery Wednesday on his left shoulder AC joint, a problem that affected his hitting in the second half.
Sep. 15 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Grandal had two hits and drove in a run in a 4-1 win over Colorado on Monday.
Analysis: Grandal, batting .255, ended a hitless drought of 37 at-bats with a single in the sixth inning.
Sep. 6 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Grandal's massive slump continued with an 0 for 3 performance Saturday at San Diego.
Analysis: The All-Star catcher is now 0 for 33 over his last 11 games and batting an anemic .055 (3 for 55) since Aug. 7.
July 8 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Grandal is making a strong push at the plate for the Dodgers. He went 2 for 3 with a home run in a 7-2 loss to the Phillies.
Analysis: Grandal is 9 for 21 with four home runs and 10 RBIs over his last seven games.
July 1 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Grandal hit a two-run double in the 10th inning and had a two-run homer in a 6-4 win against Arizona on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Grandal, batting .269 with 31 RBIs, had two hits and homered for the second straight game. He was 1 for 15 in his previous five.
June 30 10:21 AM PT11:21 AM MT12:21 PM CT1:21 PM ET13:21 ET17:21 GMT1:21 10:21 AM MST12:21 PM EST12:51 PM VEN21:21 UAE12:21 PM CT-Grandal hit his 11th home run on Monday at Arizona.
Analysis: Six of Grandal's 11 homers have come in his last 16 games.
June 22 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Grandal was 3 for 5 with two home runs Sunday against the Giants.
Analysis: Grandal has five home runs in his last 10 games.
June 11 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Grandal hit his sixth homer Wednesday.
Analysis: Grandal failed to prove he was the better Yasmani since Yasmany Tomas had a homer for the D-Backs.
May 23 5:55 PM PT6:55 PM MT7:55 PM CT8:55 PM ET20:55 ET0:55 GMT8:55 5:55 PM MST7:55 PM EST8:25 PM VEN4:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-The Los Angeles Dodgers have activated catcher Yasmani Grandal from the seven-day concussion disabled list and have him in the lineup batting sixth against the St. Louis Cardinals.
Analysis: Grandal was batting .400 this month with three homers, four doubles and 15 RBIs in 16 games. Among National League catchers, he was among the leaders in batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage.
May 8 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Grandal drove in eight runs, hitting two homers and reaching base six times Thursday to power the Los Angeles Dodgers past the Milwaukee Brewers 14-4.
Analysis: He had totaled two home runs and just four RBIs this year before breaking loose at Miller Park. Grandal's two-run single capped a four-run sixth inning. He hit a three-run homer into the second deck in right field in the eighth and launched another three-run shot in the ninth. Grandal became the fifth player in team history to get at least eight RBIs in a game. He became the first to do it for the Dodgers since James Loney drove in nine against Colorado in 2006.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 SD 60 192 28 57 7 1 8 36 31 39 0 0 .297 .394 .469
2013 SD 28 88 13 19 8 0 1 9 18 18 0 0 .216 .352 .341
2014 SD 128 377 47 85 19 1 15 49 58 115 3 0 .225 .327 .401
2015 LAD 115 355 43 83 12 0 16 47 65 92 0 1 .234 .353 .403
Career 331 1012 131 244 46 2 40 141 172 264 3 1 .241 .351 .409

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 LAD Total 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 2 1 6 0 0 .100 .182 .100
    LDS 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 2 1 6 0 0 .100 .182 .100
Career 3 10 0 1 0 0 0 2 1 6 0 0 .100 .182 .100


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.