MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Yu Darvish
ERA W-L K
1.80 1-0 7
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-5 / 220 NFBC ADP: 141.36
Position: SPBorn: 8/16/1986 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
May 29 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Darvish allowed three hits and a run with seven strikeouts in five strong innings Saturday. He came out after 81 pitches, just shy of the target Texas had for him after five rehab outings this month.
Analysis: It was the Japanese right-hander's return from last year's Tommy John surgery Saturday night.
May 22 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Darvish will start Saturday's game against Pittsburgh after being activated from the disabled list.
Analysis: It will be the Japanese star's first major league start since Aug. 9, 2014. Darvish, who missed all of last season recovering from Tommy John surgery performed in March 2015, threw six scoreless innings in an 87-pitch rehab start for Double-A Frisco on Sunday.
May 6 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Darvish was solid in his second minor league rehab start, giving up two hits and one run in three innings for Triple-A Round Rock on Friday night.
Analysis: Darvish struck out the first two New Orleans batters he faced. The Zephyrs, a Miami Marlins affiliate, nicked him for a run in the top of the second on Isaac Galloway's two-out single and a double by Tomas Telis.
May 1 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Darvish threw 18 of 32 pitches for strikes in a rehab start Sunday, the first game for the Texas Rangers ace since Tommy John surgery more than 13 months ago.
Analysis: Darvish worked two scoreless innings with two strikeouts and one walk for Double-A Frisco against Corpus Christi, an affiliate of the Houston Astros.
Apr. 22 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Darvish is taking part in minor league rehab starts as he continues his recovery from Tommy John surgery.
Analysis: The three-time All-Star, who last pitched in a major league game Aug. 9, 2014, is on track to return sometime in late May.
Apr. 21 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Darvish is close to throwing in a game for the first time since his elbow surgery last year. Darvish threw 47 pitches Thursday in his third session on the mound for live batting practice.
Analysis: The next scheduled step in his rehab is pitching in a game for Double-A Frisco next Tuesday night. The Japanese right-hander is on track to be back in the Rangers rotation by late May.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Tex 16 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 191.1 156 89 83 14 89 1 221 1.28 3.90
2013 Tex 13 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 209.2 145 68 66 26 80 1 277 1.07 2.83
2014 Tex 10 7 0 - 0 22 22 2 144.1 133 54 49 13 49 1 182 1.26 3.06
2016 Tex 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 0 1 0 7 0.80 1.80
Career 40 25 0 - 0 84 84 2 550.1 437 212 199 53 219 3 687 1.19 3.25

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Tex 29 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2013 Tex 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tex 22 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
Career 84 11 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .182 .182 .273

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Tex Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 53 98 89 93.9 65.43
Curveball 4 70 66 68.8 4.94
Slider 14 86 79 82.6 17.28
Changeup 1 89 89 89 1.23
Cut Fastball 9 91 87 89.2 11.11

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.