MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Hisashi Iwakuma
ERA W-L K
4.22 6-3 74
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 101.03
Position: SPBorn: 4/12/1981 Birthplace: Tokyo, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 30 11:41 AM PT12:41 PM MT1:41 PM CT2:41 PM ET14:41 ET18:41 GMT2:41 11:41 AM MST1:41 PM EST2:11 PM VEN22:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-Iwakuma notched his fourth win in his last five outings Saturday.
Analysis: Iwakuma gave up two runs and seven hits and worked out of the first two bases-loaded jams in 5 2/3 innings.
Aug. 25 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Iwakuma was shelled Monday by the Athletics, giving up a season-high seven runs and seven hits over 4 2-3 innings in an 11-5 loss.
Analysis: Iwakuma had been 3-0 with a 1.71 ERA over his last four starts.
Aug. 19 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Iwakuma won his third straight start Tuesday, following his no-hitter by holding Texas to two runs over seven innings in a 3-2 victory.
Analysis: Iwakuma is 3-0 with a 2.05 ERA in his last three starts against divisional foes.
Aug. 12 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Iwakuma has become the second Japanese-born pitcher in major league history to throw a no-hitter, leading the Seattle Mariners to a 3-0 victory over the Baltimore Orioles on Wednesday.
Analysis: Iwakuma struck out seven and walked three in throwing the first no-hitter by an American League pitcher in nearly three years. He joins Hideo Nomo, who threw two no-nos, as the only Japanese-born pitchers to accomplish the feat.
July 12 10:51 AM PT11:51 AM MT12:51 PM CT1:51 PM ET13:51 ET17:51 GMT1:51 10:51 AM MST12:51 PM EST1:21 PM VEN21:51 UAE12:51 PM CT-Iwakuma allowed three hits in eight innings of Saturday's 5-0 win over the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Iwakuma had allowed at least four runs in each of his first four starts, so this was easily his best of the season.
Apr. 24 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Iwakuma returned Monday for the M's.
Analysis: Iwakuma went to the disabled list with a strained back muscle after just three starts, last pitching April 20. He was 0-1 with a 6.61 ERA.
Apr. 9 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Iwakuma lost his 2015 fantasy debut as he worked six innings, allowing nine hits, five runs, striking out three and walking none.
Analysis: Iwakuma faces a tough matchup in his next start against the Dodgers, owners of baseball's highest payroll.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Sea 9 5 2 - 2 30 16 0 125.1 117 49 44 17 43 3 101 1.28 3.16
2013 Sea 14 6 0 - 0 33 33 0 219.2 179 69 65 25 42 4 185 1.01 2.66
2014 Sea 15 9 0 - 0 28 28 0 179.0 167 70 70 20 21 2 154 1.05 3.52
2015 Sea 6 3 0 - 0 14 14 1 89.2 80 43 42 14 18 0 74 1.09 4.22
Career 44 23 2 - 2 105 91 1 613.2 543 231 221 76 124 9 514 1.09 3.24

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Sea 33 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Sea 28 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2015 Sea 14 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 105 9 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .000 .100 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 614 93 84 88.8 46.59
Curveball 101 75 68 72.5 7.66
Slider 243 85 74 81.1 18.44
Split-Finger 347 89 78 84.4 26.33
Cut Fastball 13 88 85 86.2 .99

w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.