MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#68
Dellin Betances
ERA S K
3.08 12 126
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-8 / 265 NFBC ADP: 217.98
Position: RPBorn: 3/23/1988 Birthplace: New York, New York
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 8th Round by Yankees (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 26 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Betances came on in the ninth inning Monday at Toronto in a non-save situation and failed to get an out. He walked two and committed an error while allowing two runs.
Analysis: Betances has been struggling for the last three weeks with a 15.00 ERA in his past eight appearances. He's allowed 11 hits and walked eight over six innings during that span.
Sep. 20 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Betances bounced back to pitch a perfect ninth inning Tuesday for his 12th save.
Analysis: The right-hander was 0-2 with two saves in three opportunities over his previous five appearances while allowing nine runs, 10 hits and four walks in four innings.
Sep. 16 11:21 PM PT12:21 AM MT1:21 AM CT2:21 AM ET2:21 ET6:21 GMT14:21 11:21 PM MST1:21 AM EST1:51 AM VEN10:21 UAE1:21 AM CT-Betances failed to protect a three-run lead in the ninth inning Thursday at Boston, recording just one out while being charged with four runs and the loss in a costly 7-5 defeat for the Yankees.
Analysis: Pitching for a third straight night, Betances walked one and allowed three hits - the last Hanley Ramirez's three-run walk-off homer. The Yankee closer seems to be feeling the effects of his heavy usage, as he's surrendered nine runs (seven earned) and 10 hits in four innings through his last five appearances.
Sep. 8 10:06 PM PT11:06 PM MT12:06 AM CT1:06 AM ET1:06 ET5:06 GMT13:06 10:06 PM MST12:06 AM EST12:36 AM VEN9:06 UAE12:06 AM CT-Betances probably will be unavailable again Thursday, according to Yankees manager Joe Girardi.
Analysis: The big closer threw 40 pitches Tuesday, his third straight day of work.
Sep. 6 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Betances allowed two runs before being removed in the ninth inning of Tuesday's game against Toronto. Blake Parker came on to record the final two outs and preserve the Yankees' 7-6 win.
Analysis: Pitching for the third consecutive day, Betances retired just one batter while walking three and surrendering two hits. After totaling 40 pitches, he surely won't be available for Wednesday's series finale.
Sep. 5 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Betances improved to 9 for 10 in save opportunities Monday since the Yankees traded Aroldis Chapman and Andrew Miller.
Analysis: In 14 appearances since Aug. 1, Betances has allowed one run and seven hits with 25 strikeouts and five walks over 15 2/3 innings.
Sep. 4 5:26 PM PT6:26 PM MT7:26 PM CT8:26 PM ET20:26 ET0:26 GMT8:26 5:26 PM MST7:26 PM EST7:56 PM VEN4:26 UAE (+1)7:26 PM CT-Betances notched his eighth save in Sunday's 5-2 win at Baltimore, working 1 1/3 scoreless innings with two strikeouts.
Analysis: Over his last 16 appearances spanning 17 innings, Betances has allowed one run and seven hits while walking eight and fanning 28.
Aug. 15 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Betances allowed a walk and a hit before coaxing a game-ending double play in Monday's 1-0 win over the Blue Jays. It was the fifth save of the season for the right-hander.
Analysis: Betances has worked 9 1/3 scoreless innings over his last 10 appearances.
Aug. 1 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Betances worked out of a major jam for his first save this season in the Yankees' 6-5 win over the Mets on Monday.
Analysis: Betances should get the save opportunities going forward with Andrew Miller and Aroldis Chapman gone, but there may not be many for the rebuilding Yankees.
July 5 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Betances received his third straight All-Star selection Tuesday, joining teammate Andrew Miller in the AL bullpen.
Analysis: Betances is 2-4 with a 2.63 ERA in 41 appearances while striking out 74 in 41 innings.
July 3 6:00 PM PT7:00 PM MT8:00 PM CT9:00 PM ET21:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 6:00 PM MST8:00 PM EST8:30 PM VEN5:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Betances had his seventh straight scoreless outing in Sunday's 6-3 win at San Diego.
Analysis: Since allowing runs in four consecutive appearances in early June, Betances has surrendered one run over 13 innings with one walk and 19 strikeouts in his past 13 games.
June 25 2:44 PM PT3:44 PM MT4:44 PM CT5:44 PM ET17:44 ET21:44 GMT5:44 2:44 PM MST4:44 PM EST5:14 PM VEN1:44 UAE (+1)4:44 PM CT-On Saturday, Betances, Andrew Miller and Aroldis Chapman combined to throw three scoreless innings for the third straight game.
Analysis: New York is 12-0 when Betances, Miller and Chapman pitch in the same game. The "No Runs DMC" relief trio has racked up 15 strikeouts in the past three games.
June 7 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Betances got back on track with two strikeouts in a perfect eighth inning Tuesday.
Analysis: Betances was 1-2 with an 11.57 ERA in his previous four appearances.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 NYY 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 2.2 1 2 2 0 6 0 2 2.63 6.75
2013 NYY 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 5.0 9 6 6 1 2 0 10 2.20 10.80
2014 NYY 5 0 1 - 5 70 0 0 90.0 46 15 14 4 24 1 135 0.78 1.40
2015 NYY 6 4 9 - 13 74 0 0 84.0 45 17 14 6 40 2 131 1.01 1.50
2016 NYY 3 6 12 - 17 73 0 0 73.0 54 31 25 5 28 0 126 1.12 3.08
Career 14 10 22 - 35 225 1 0 254.2 155 71 61 16 100 3 404 1.00 2.16


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 1 1 1 0 1 0 4 5.40
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 1 1 1 0 1 0 4 5.40
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.2 1 1 1 0 1 0 4 5.40


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 542 101 94 97.7 43.39
Curveball 707 89 79 84.3 56.61

w12 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.