MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Garrett Richards
ERA W-L K
3.80 12-10 130
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 210 NFBC ADP: 141.97
Position: SPBorn: 5/27/1988 Birthplace: Riverside, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Angels (2009)


Latest News
Aug. 30 11:58 AM PT12:58 PM MT1:58 PM CT2:58 PM ET14:58 ET18:58 GMT2:58 11:58 AM MST1:58 PM EST2:28 PM VEN22:58 UAE1:58 PM CT-Richards did not get a decision Saturday.
Analysis: Richards, who retired 13 of the final 14 hitters he faced, gave up three runs in seven innings.
Aug. 24 9:41 AM PT10:41 AM MT11:41 AM CT12:41 PM ET12:41 ET16:41 GMT0:41 9:41 AM MST11:41 AM EST12:11 PM VEN20:41 UAE11:41 AM CT-Richards allowed a season-high seven earned runs and 10 hits over five innings in Sunday's loss to Toronto.
Analysis: Richards is now 2-4 with a 5.12 ERA over his last seven outings, though he had posted three straight quality starts prior to facing the majors' most potent offense.
Aug. 19 11:18 AM PT12:18 PM MT1:18 PM CT2:18 PM ET14:18 ET18:18 GMT2:18 11:18 AM MST1:18 PM EST1:48 PM VEN22:18 UAE1:18 PM CT-Richards won his 12th game Tuesday against the Chicago White Sox, allowing two earned runs in seven innings of work.
Analysis: Richards owns a 3.79 ERA in his last three outings, though he's been fairly hittable with opponents batting .307 in that span.
July 4 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET19:28 GMT3:28 12:28 PM MST2:28 PM EST2:58 PM VEN23:28 UAE2:28 PM CT-Richards moved to 9-5 on Friday.
Analysis: Richards won his sixth consecutive start against Texas by striking out six Rangers in 7 2-3 innings and allowing one run.
June 28 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Richards earned his third win in four starts with a 4-2 victory over Seattle on Saturday.
Analysis: Richards (8-5, 3.54 ERA) gave up two runs in 7 2-3 innings and has a 2.28 ERA in his last four starts.
June 22 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Richards fell to 7-5 on Sunday.
Analysis: Richards gave up three runs in six innings as his two-start winning streak was snapped.
June 17 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Richards pitched seven innings of four-hit ball in a 4-1 win over the Arizona Diamondbacks on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Richards (7-4, 3.59 ERA) is 2-0 with a 1.29 ERA in his two starts since an 8-2 loss to the New York Yankees on June 6. He gave up six runs while failing to make it out of the first inning in that game.
June 12 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-Richards improved to 6-4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Richards pitched seven innings for the Angels, giving up two runs and four hits while striking out seven. He faces the D-Backs next.
June 7 9:41 AM PT10:41 AM MT11:41 AM CT12:41 PM ET12:41 ET16:41 GMT0:41 9:41 AM MST11:41 AM EST12:11 PM VEN20:41 UAE11:41 AM CT-Richards faced 10 batters and got only two outs, matching the shortest start of his career Saturday. He lasted 37 pitches, giving up six runs, five hits and two walks.
Analysis: Richards has alternated wins and losses in his last six starts. "I can't hang my head on this," he said. "I'm just going through a rough patch right now."
June 2 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Richards earned his fifth win Monday against Tampa Bay, yielding three runs in six innings of a 7-3 victory.
Analysis: Richards is 5-3 with a 3.26 ERA through nine starts.
May 28 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Richards lost for the second time in three starts Wednesday versus San Diego, giving up five runs for the second straight outing, though only three were earned in 6 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Richards has been mediocre of late, posting a 4.43 ERA in his last three games.
May 11 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Richards pitched 6 2-3 innings of one-hit ball while striking out 10 on Sunday.
Analysis: Richards has a 1.37 ERA in his last three starts.
Mar. 1 11:32 AM PT12:32 PM MT1:32 PM CT2:32 PM ET14:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-Richards thinks he is ready to get the new season started eight months after knee surgery ruined his breakout year.
Analysis: The Angels believe Richards needs just a bit more work before his big comeback. Richards will start for Triple-A Salt Lake on Tuesday before the Angels decide when he'll return to their rotation, manager Mike Scioscia says.
Feb. 20 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Richards hopes to ready to pitch for the Los Angeles Angels by opening day, ahead of the schedule projected when hurt his left knee last summer.
Analysis: Richards tore the patellar tendon in his left knee on Aug. 20 and had surgery two days later. Richards threw his second bullpen session since the injury on Friday, when pitchers and catchers reported to camp, and said he is at about 75 percent. The right-hander was 13-4 with a 2.61 ERA in 26 starts when he got hurt, a turnaround from his 7-8 record the previous year.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 LAA 0 2 0 - 0 7 3 0 14.0 16 11 9 4 7 0 9 1.64 5.79
2012 LAA 4 3 1 - 3 30 9 0 71.0 77 46 37 7 34 1 47 1.56 4.69
2013 LAA 7 8 1 - 2 47 17 1 145.0 151 73 67 12 44 4 101 1.34 4.16
2014 LAA 13 4 0 - 0 26 26 1 168.2 124 51 49 5 51 1 164 1.04 2.61
2015 LAA 12 10 0 - 0 25 25 1 161.0 149 75 68 15 50 2 130 1.24 3.80
Career 36 27 2 - 5 135 80 3 559.2 517 256 230 43 186 8 451 1.26 3.70

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 LAA 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 LAA 26 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 135 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 360 98 92 95.4 14.38
Curveball 140 82 74 78.9 5.59
Slider 804 90 84 87 32.11
Changeup 1 91 91 91 .04
Cut Fastball 1199 98 93 95.3 47.88

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.