MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#28
J.D. Martínez
AVG HR RBI
.321 18 51
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 221 NFBC ADP: 34.61
Position: RFBorn: 8/21/1987 Birthplace: Miami, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 20th Round by Astros (2009)


Latest News
Aug. 23 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-With two hits Tuesday, Martinez extended his hitting streak to 13 games.
Analysis: He is batting .453 during the streak.
Aug. 21 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT-There seems to be no slowing Martinez, who went 2 for 4 with a pair of doubles and two RBIs Sunday against Boston.
Analysis: Since coming off the disabled list on Aug. 3, Martinez is batting .441 (30 for 68) with six homers, 11 RBIs, seven doubles and 14 runs in 18 games.
Aug. 21 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Martinez was a again a bright spot for the Tigers on Saturday in a 3-2 loss to Boston. He went 2 for 4 with his 18th home run.
Analysis: Martinez is 20 for 44 (.455) with five homers and eight RBIs in his last 11 games but Detroit is just 3-8 in that span.
Aug. 20 10:39 PM PT11:39 PM MT12:39 AM CT1:39 AM ET1:39 ET5:39 GMT13:39 10:39 PM MST12:39 AM EST1:09 AM VEN9:39 UAE12:39 AM CT-Martinez went 2 for 3 with his 17th home run in Friday's 10-2 loss to the Red Sox.
Analysis: Martinez has gone 18 for 40 with four homers and seven RBIs over his last 10 games.
Aug. 18 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Martinez pushed his hitting streak to nine games Thursday.
Analysis: He's batting .432 with three homers, two doubles and five RBIs over that stretch.
Aug. 17 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Martinez kept up his torrid pace with a three-hit game in a 4-1 loss to the Royals on Wednesday.
Analysis: Since returning from a near two-month stay on the disabled list due to a fractured right elbow, Martinez is batting .426 (23 for 54) with four homers and five doubles in 14 games.
Aug. 15 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Martinez provided all the Tigers' offense in Monday's 3-1 loss to the Royals. He went 2 for 4 with his 16th home run.
Analysis: Martinez has been on quite a surge since returning from the disabled list. He's also hitting .441 with five home runs and 16 RBIs in his last 25 games dating to before the injury.
Aug. 15 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Martinez stayed hot with Sunday's 3-for-5 effort at Texas that included a two-run homer.
Analysis: Martinez has been steadily raking since returning from a fractured right elbow on Aug. 3, hitting safely in 10 of 11 games. He's batting .405 with three homers and a 1.171 OPS during that strong stretch.
Aug. 9 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Martinez went 0 for 4 with two strikeouts Monday in Seattle as the Tigers kicked off a six-game road trip.
Analysis: It was his first hitless performance in six games since coming off the disabled list, and it was also his first road game. He's batting .241 away from home this season, compared to .351 in Detroit.
Aug. 5 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Martinez has been red hot since returning from the disabled list. He went 2 for 4 with a double in Friday's 4-3 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Martinez has gone 5 for 9 with a homer and two doubles in his three games back.
Aug. 5 9:10 AM PT10:10 AM MT11:10 AM CT12:10 PM ET12:10 ET16:10 GMT0:10 9:10 AM MST11:10 AM EST11:40 AM VEN20:10 UAE11:10 AM CT-A day after homering in his return from the DL, Martinez went 2 for 4 with a double in Thursday's loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez is batting .348 with four homers, four doubles and 10 RBIs in 12 interleague games this season and he'll get his first look at Mets fireballer Noah Syndergaard on Friday.
Aug. 3 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-In his first game since coming off the DL, Martinez hit a go-ahead home run off Chris Sale in Wednesday's 2-1 win over the White Sox.
Analysis: It appears to be safe to get Martinez back in your lineup. He should be in Detroit's starting lineup soon.
Aug. 3 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-The Tigers activated Martinez from the 15-day disabled list Wednesday.
Analysis: Martinez, who was out since mid-June with a fractured elbow, is hitting .286 with 12 homers and 39 RBIs in 65 games this season.
June 17 12:40 PM PT1:40 PM MT2:40 PM CT3:40 PM ET15:40 ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST2:40 PM EST3:10 PM VEN23:40 UAE2:40 PM CT-Martinez is expected to return to the majors before the Tigers wrap up a nine-game homestand Sunday versus the Mets.
Analysis: Sidelined with a fractured right elbow, Martinez is batting .320 with three doubles in five rehab games.
June 16 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Martinez left Thursday night's game against the Kansas City Royals with a fractured right elbow that he sustained when running into the wall while chasing a fly ball.
Analysis: Martinez managed to grab the ball hit by Paulo Orlando in the second inning and lobbed it to the infield, but it was clear something was wrong. He was examined by a trainer and Tigers manager Brad Ausmus before leaving the game. X-rays revealed the extent of the injury. Martinez will have a CT scan Friday to confirm the diagnosis. It's unclear how long he will be out.
June 15 9:36 AM PT10:36 AM MT11:36 AM CT12:36 PM ET12:36 ET16:36 GMT0:36 9:36 AM MST11:36 AM EST12:06 PM VEN20:36 UAE11:36 AM CT-Martinez hammered out a career-high three doubles and also drove in a run in Tuesday's 11-8 win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez has been on fire of late, going 21 for 42 with 10 RBIs over his last 11 games. He's been a doubles machine with six over his last three.
June 14 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Martinez went 3 for 6 - his fifth straight multihit game - and had a pair of RBIs in the Tigers' 10-9, 12-inning loss to the White Sox on Monday.
Analysis: Martinez has been on fire over his last 10 games, hitting .462 (18 of 39) with six extra-base hits.
June 11 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Martinez had two of the Tigers' six hits and drew a walk in Friday's 4-0 loss to the Yankees.
Analysis: It was the fifth multihit effort in seven games for Martinez, a span in which he's batting .440 with seven RBIs.
June 8 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Martinez went 2 for 3 Wednesday.
Analysis: Martinez is batting .409 with seven RBIs in the last six games.
June 5 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Martinez hit a go-ahead two-run homer in the sixth inning and finished 2 for 3 with three RBIs in Saturday's win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez has now driven in seven runs over his last five games and has been reliably productive this season, having amassed 12 homers and 33 RBIs.
May 23 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Martinez had two hits and drove in a run in a 9-4 win over Tampa Bay on Sunday.
Analysis: Martinez, batting .261, is 12 for 30 (.400) with seven extra-base hits and eight RBIs in his last seven games.
May 22 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Martinez continued his home run binge with a two-run blast in Saturday's win over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Four of Martinez's nine homers have come over his last six games. He's 10 for 25 with seven RBIs over that stretch.
May 17 8:26 AM PT9:26 AM MT10:26 AM CT11:26 AM ET11:26 ET15:26 GMT23:26 8:26 AM MST10:26 AM EST10:56 AM VEN19:26 UAE10:26 AM CT-Martinez homered for a second straight game and finished with three hits and two RBIs in Monday's win over Minnesota.
Analysis: The homer was the fourth in eight games for Martinez, who's 10 for 30 over that stretch.
Apr. 28 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Martinez drilled a three-run jack Wednesday.
Analysis: Martinez finished with four RBIs but went 1 for 3 with two walks the next day.
Apr. 18 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Martinez hit his second home run on Sunday.
Analysis: He is off to a hot start, recording hits in each game but one for a .372 batting average.
Apr. 14 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Martinez went 2 for 4 with a double on Wednesday.
Analysis: He tallied his fourth RBI on the season, all coming in the last three games.
Apr. 13 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Martinez was 4 for 5 with two RBIs in Tuesday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Martinez has hit safely in all six games for a .440 average.
Apr. 12 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Martinez went 2 for 4 with his first home run in Monday's 7-4 loss to Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Martinez finally got his power stroke going, but he's hit well overall so far. He's 7 for 20 while hitting safely in all five games.
Feb. 10 8:45 AM PT9:45 AM MT10:45 AM CT11:45 AM ET11:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Martinez and the Detroit Tigers finalized their $18.5 million, two-year contract Wednesday, a deal that avoided salary arbitration.
Analysis: Martinez will earn $6.75 million this year and $11.75 million in 2017. The 28-year-old outfielder can become a free agent after the 2017 World Series. He batted .282 with 38 home runs and 102 RBIs last season. He hit 23 homers in 2014 after he was released by Houston during spring training and the Tigers signed him.
Feb. 8 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-A person with knowledge of the deal says Martinez has agreed to an $18.5 million, two-year contract with the Detroit Tigers, avoiding salary arbitration. The person spoke Monday night on condition of anonymity because the deal had not been announced.
Analysis: The 28-year-old Martinez was eligible for arbitration through next year and can become a free agent after the 2017 World Series. Martinez batted .282 with 38 home runs and 102 RBIs last season. He hit 23 homers in 2014 after he was released by Houston during spring training and the Tigers signed him.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Hou 53 208 29 57 13 0 6 35 13 48 0 1 .274 .319 .423
2012 Hou 113 395 34 95 14 3 11 55 40 96 0 2 .241 .311 .375
2013 Hou 86 296 24 74 17 0 7 36 10 82 2 0 .250 .272 .378
2014 Det 123 441 57 139 30 3 23 76 30 126 6 3 .315 .358 .553
2015 Det 158 596 93 168 33 2 38 102 53 178 3 2 .282 .344 .535
2016 Det 85 330 53 106 26 2 18 51 33 85 1 1 .321 .385 .576
Career 618 2266 290 639 133 10 103 355 179 615 12 9 .282 .336 .486

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Det Total 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
    LDS 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
Career 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833


w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.