MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Shelby Miller
ERA W-L K
3.02 6-17 171
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 195 NFBC ADP: 153.52
Position: SPBorn: 10/10/1990 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cardinals (2009)


Latest News
Jan. 15 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-The Arizona Diamondbacks agreed to a one-year contract with Miller on Friday.
Analysis: An All-Star last season, Miller arrived in Arizona in an offseason trade that sent 2015 No. 1 overall draft pick Dansby Swanson and outfielder Ender Inciarte to Atlanta. He will make $4.35 million.
Dec. 8 6:41 PM PT7:41 PM MT8:41 PM CT9:41 PM ET21:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)8:41 PM CT-The Diamondbacks have made official their acquisition of Miller from the Atlanta Braves for overall No. 1 draft pick Dansby Swanson, outfielder Ender Inciarte and pitching prospect Aaron Blair.
Analysis: The Diamondbacks also get minor league left-hander Gabe Speier in a trade that gives Arizona its second top-flight starter of this offseason. Free agent Zack Greinke finalized a $206.5 million, six-year contract with the team on Tuesday.
Oct. 5 11:25 AM PT12:25 PM MT1:25 PM CT2:25 PM ET14:25 ET18:25 GMT2:25 11:25 AM MST1:25 PM EST1:55 PM VEN22:25 UAE1:25 PM CT-Miller snapped his 24-start winless streak in his final start of the season Sunday.
Analysis: He held St. Louis scoreless over eight innings, allowing three hits and walking three while striking out seven. Miller was 0-16 with a 3.83 ERA during his skid, and he had lost his previous eight starts.
Sep. 22 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Miller's bad luck continued Monday as he fell to 5-16 after giving up two runs over six innings in a 4-0 loss to the Mets.
Analysis: The Braves offense has been absolutely pathetic behind Miller, who is 0-15 over his last 22 games with a 1.36 run-support average.
Sep. 11 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Miller's winless stretch reached 21 games Thursday with a 7-2 defeat to the New York Mets.
Analysis: Miller (5-14, 2.86 ERA) is one shy of matching Carl Morton's franchise mark from 1975-76. He is 0-13 with a 3.51 ERA in his last 21 starts and the Braves have provided him with a run support average of 1.47.
Sep. 6 5:34 PM PT6:34 PM MT7:34 PM CT8:34 PM ET20:34 ET0:34 GMT8:34 5:34 PM MST7:34 PM EST8:04 PM VEN4:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Miller extended his winless streak to 20 games Saturday with one of the worst performances of his career.
Analysis: Miller (5-13, 2.81 ERA) gave up seven runs in 4 1-3 innings in an 8-2 loss to Washington and dropped to 0-12 since May 17. His 20 consecutive winless starts is the longest such streak by a Braves pitcher since the franchise moved to Atlanta in 1966.
Sep. 1 9:12 AM PT10:12 AM MT11:12 AM CT12:12 PM ET12:12 ET16:12 GMT0:12 9:12 AM MST11:12 AM EST11:42 AM VEN20:12 UAE11:12 AM CT-Miller's winless streak reached 19 consecutive starts when the Braves were shut out by Miami Monday.
Analysis: Miller fell to 0-11 over the unlucky stretch despite yielding just one run in seven innings. The 2015 All-Star has received a woeful 1.6 runs of support per start over the winless streak.
Aug. 31 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-The Atlanta Braves have moved Miller into Mike Foltynewicz's rotation spot for Monday night's game against the Miami Marlins. Foltynewicz is suffering from fever and viral symptoms.
Analysis: Miller (5-11) will try to snap an 18-start winless streak, the longest in a single season since the Braves moved to Atlanta in 1966.
Aug. 27 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Miller is now winless in 18 consecutive starts after a 6-3 loss to Colorado on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Miller (5-11, 2.62 ERA) took a 3-0 lead into the seventh but didn't make it out while getting charged with four runs. He's matched the Braves' second-longest winless streak since 1966 and has the longest in a single season.
Aug. 22 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Miller's winless stretch extended to 17 starts Friday as he gave up five runs - three earned - over 6 1-3 innings in a 5-3 loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: Miller is 0-9 with a 3.11 ERA in his last 17 s tarts with a 1.6 run-support average.
Aug. 17 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Miller again pitched well without being rewarded, yielding a run on two hits and fanning 10 in a seven-inning no decision Sunday against Arizona.
Analysis: Miller has now gone 16 straight starts since last winning on May 17. The hard-luck hurler is 0-8 despite a 3.03 ERA over the stretch.
July 7 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Miller failed to win for the ninth straight start Sunday despite a solid outing against the Phillies.
Analysis: Miller is 0-3 with a 2.80 ERA in nine starts since his last win.
July 1 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Miller gave up a season-high five runs in five innings in a 6-1 loss to Washington on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Miller (5-4, 2.20 ERA) was 2-2 with a 1.84 ERA in his previous 10 outings. He gave up one run and three hits in seven innings against the Nationals on June 24.
June 25 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE2:07 PM CT-Miller gave up one run and three hits in seven innings Wednesday against Washington but remained winless in seven starts after a 2-1 loss in 11 innings.
Analysis: Miller (5-3, 1.94 ERA) is 0-2 with a 2.70 ERA in his last seven outings and has received a combined seven runs of support.
June 19 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Miller suffered his third loss of the season Thursday against Boston, yielding four runs over 5 2-3 innings - though only one was earned.
Analysis: Miller's 3.47 ERA over his last four outings is a lot less impressive than his season mark of 1.99.
June 9 12:15 PM PT1:15 PM MT2:15 PM CT3:15 PM ET15:15 ET19:15 GMT3:15 12:15 PM MST2:15 PM EST2:45 PM VEN23:15 UAE2:15 PM CT-Miller was excellent Monday against the Padres, but his winless streak extended to four starts.
Analysis: Miller, who gave up one run over seven innings in the 5-3 loss, stayed at 5-2 while lowering his ERA to 1.84.
June 3 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-Miller surrendered a season-high four runs over 4 1-3 innings Tuesday's 7-6 loss at Arizona, though he wasn't saddled with the defeat.
Analysis: It wasn't an abysmal outing but it was not nearly close to the standard Miller has set for himself this season. His ERA climbed from 1.48 to 1.89.
May 29 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Miller lost despite a quality outing, giving up one run over seven innings in Thursday's 7-0 defeat against San Francisco.
Analysis: Miller has been one of baseball's best pitchers this season, posting a 1.48 ERA over 10 starts.
May 6 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Miller was outstanding Tuesday against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Miller pitched a complete-game shutout against the Phillies, allowing only three hits while striking out eight. His ERA now sits at 1.66.
Apr. 9 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Miller had a splendid debut for Atlanta but did not get a decision in a 2-0 win over Miami on Wednesday.
Analysis: Miller allowed four hits and two walks in five innings while striking out four. He's slated to face the Marlins again Monday night.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 StL 1 0 0 - 0 6 1 0 13.2 9 2 2 0 4 0 16 0.95 1.32
2013 StL 15 9 0 - 0 31 31 1 173.1 152 65 59 20 57 0 169 1.21 3.06
2014 StL 10 9 0 - 0 32 31 1 183.0 160 78 76 22 73 4 127 1.27 3.74
2015 Atl 6 17 0 - 0 33 33 2 205.1 183 82 69 13 73 8 171 1.25 3.02
Career 32 35 0 - 0 102 96 4 575.1 504 227 206 55 207 12 483 1.24 3.22

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 StL 6 3 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .667 .667 1.000
2013 StL 31 53 3 4 1 0 1 2 1 29 0 0 .075 .109 .151
2014 StL 32 48 6 9 5 0 0 4 2 25 0 0 .188 .220 .292
2015 Atl 33 56 1 3 2 0 0 0 4 29 0 0 .054 .117 .089
Career 102 160 10 18 9 0 1 6 7 83 0 0 .113 .155 .188

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 4 2 2 0 1 0 4 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.1 4 2 2 0 1 0 4 5.40
2013 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 9.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 9.00
2014 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 11 5 5 0 5 0 7 4.82
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 2 2 0 3 0 4 3.18
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 6 3 3 0 2 0 3 7.36
Career 0 0 0 - 0 5 2 0 13.2 16 8 8 1 6 0 12 5.27

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 StL Total 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 5 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 2144 99 90 94 66.6
Curveball 316 82 73 78.1 9.82
Changeup 54 91 84 86.7 1.68
Split-Finger 11 88 85 87 .34
Cut Fastball 694 91 84 87.2 21.56

w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.