MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
Anthony Rizzo
AVG HR RBI
.286 32 78
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 240 NFBC ADP: 100.26
Position: 1BBorn: 8/8/1989 Birthplace: Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Red Sox (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 29 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Rizzo went 3 for 4 with a two-run homer in Sunday's season finale.
Analysis: Rizzo finished the year with 32 homers, 78 RBIs and 89 runs despite missing time with a back injury down the stretch. It wouldn't be surprising to see him go as early as the second round in fantasy drafts next season.
Sep. 24 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Rizzo was 3 for 5, recording his 26th double in Tuesday's 4-3 win over the Cardinals.
Analysis: Rizzo has seven doubles and four homers over his last 15 games.
Sep. 15 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Rizzo and Jorge Soler are back in the Chicago Cubs' starting lineup against the Cincinnati Reds on Monday night.
Analysis: Rizzo was sidelined for 18 games because of a lower back strain. He was down to bat third and play first base.
Aug. 27 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Rizzo is expected to return Monday against the Reds.
Analysis: Rizzo is out because of a strained lower back. An MRI before Chicago played Milwaukee on Tuesday night revealed the injury. Rizzo said he will miss an extended amount of time. Rizzo was hurt on Aug. 26 and has been out of the lineup for a week. The 25-year-old Rizzo is hitting .278 with 30 home runs and 71 RBIs.
July 29 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Rizzo drove in two runs in Monday's 4-1 win over Colorado.
Analysis: The Cubs are 11-4 when Rizzo has at least two RBIs.
July 28 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Rizzo was 2 for 4 in Sunday's 1-0 loss to the rival Cardinals.
Analysis: Rizzo is 20 for 57 (.351) over his last 15 games and ranks sixth in the national league with a .917 OPS.
July 23 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE2:25 PM CT-Rizzo was 2 for 4 with his 24th and 25th homers of the season in a 6-0 win over San Diego on Tuesday.
Analysis: Rizzo has now hit five home runs over his last four games. He's batting .340 with eight dingers in his last 13.
July 21 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Rizzo homered Sunday.
Analysis: Rizzo's .218 batting average and .345 slugging percentage against the Padres are his lowest figures against any NL opponent since he joined the Cubs. He faces the team that got rid of him Tuesday at the 'Friendly Confines.'
July 19 10:50 AM PT11:50 AM MT12:50 PM CT1:50 PM ET13:50 ET17:50 GMT1:50 10:50 AM MST12:50 PM EST1:20 PM VEN21:50 UAE12:50 PM CT-Rizzo rocked the fantasy world with two jacks Friday.
Analysis: Rizzo moved into a tie with Miami's Giancarlo Stanton for the NL home run lead at 22 with his sixth career multi-homer game, second this season. He is a stud and the Cubs could soon be contenders with players like him excelling. Rizzo is one homer shy of his total from last season. "That is cool," he said.
July 9 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Rizzo hit his 19th home run of the season in the nightcap of Tuesday's doubleheader with Cincinnati.
Analysis: Rizzo has homered in two of his last three games after going without one in a season worst-tying 11-game stretch.
July 8 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Rizzo hit his 18th home run in Monday's 9-3 loss at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Rizzo, one of the Final Vote All-Star candidates in the NL, is batting .272 with 18 homers and 47 RBIs in 87 games.
July 7 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Rizzo had two hits Sunday.
Analysis: The first baseman is a stud with a .871 OPS.
June 27 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Rizzo had three hits and scored a run in the Cubs' 5-3 win over Washington on Thursday night.
Analysis: Rizzo is batting .353 (18 for 51) in his last 13 games and has raised his average to .291.
June 25 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Rizzo had three hits, including a solo homer, in a 7-3 win over Cincinnati on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Rizzo's home run was his third in four games and 17th this season, leaving him six shy of matching his career-high mark from a year ago. The first baseman, who is batting .288, is 11 for 24 (.458) in his last six games.
June 11 12:14 PM PT1:14 PM MT2:14 PM CT3:14 PM ET15:14 ET19:14 GMT3:14 12:14 PM MST2:14 PM EST2:44 PM VEN23:14 UAE2:14 PM CT-Rizzo went 3 for 4 with a home run, two doubles and three RBIs in Tuesday's win over Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The first baseman is 10 for 25 with three homers, four doubles and eight RBIs in his last six games.
June 7 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Rizzo went 2 for 6 with a walk-off, two-run homer in a 5-3, 13-inning win over Miami on Friday.
Analysis: Rizzo is hitting .364 with four homers and 10 RBIs in his last nine games.
June 6 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Rizzo went 2 for 4 with his 11th home run in a 7-4 win over the Mets on Thursday.
Analysis: Rizzo is 10 for 27 (.370) with three homers and six RBIs in his last eight games.
May 23 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Rizzo went 2 for 3 with his eighth home run in Thursday's win over San Diego.
Analysis: His batting average has been stagnant at .275 in his last 20 games, but he's been getting on base at a .446 clip with 21 walks over that same time frame.
May 9 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Rizzo finished a triple shy of the cycle, scored three runs and drove in two more in a 12-5 win over the Chicago White Sox on Thursday night.
Analysis: Rizzo, now batting .294, is 10 for 28 (.357) with four homers and eight RBIs in his last eight games.
May 7 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Rizzo was 1 for 4 on Tuesday against the White Sox to extend a modest hitting streak to six games.
Analysis: Rizzo is 7 for 19 (.368) during the streak with a .556 on-base percentage.
May 4 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Rizzo went deep yet again in Saturday's 3-0 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Rizzo has homered in three straight games, a stretch during which he's gone 4 for 7 with six RBIs, six runs, six walks and no strikeouts.
May 3 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Rizzo went 2 for 3 with a homer and three RBIs in Friday's 6-5 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Rizzo, who also homered Wednesday, appears to be heating up. He has 19 walks and just 18 strikeouts on the season, an extremely positive sign for fantasy owners.
Apr. 25 10:09 AM PT11:09 AM MT12:09 PM CT1:09 PM ET13:09 ET17:09 GMT1:09 10:09 AM MST12:09 PM EST12:39 PM VEN21:09 UAE12:09 PM CT-Rizzo hit his third homer in Thursday's 5-2 loss to Arizona.
Analysis: Rizzo is batting .316 with 10 RBIs and 12 runs, very respectable numbers for one of last season's biggest disappointments.
Apr. 17 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Rizzo went 3 for 7 in Wednesday's DH.
Analysis: Don't use Rizzo this weekend if you are wary since he is a career .193 hitter against the Reds.
Apr. 10 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Rizzo matched a career high with four hits, and the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-5 on Wednesday night despite allowing five solo home runs.
Analysis: Rizzo, batting .375, is 10 for 15 (.667) during a personal-best string of four multihit performances.
Apr. 3 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Rizzo hit his first homer in Wednesday's 4-3 16-inning loss at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Rizzo's long ball was also his first hit. He's just 1 for 9 through the first two games.

126 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.