MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Chris Sale
3.41 13-11 274
Team: Chi White SoxHt / Wt: 6-6 / 180 NFBC ADP: 25.92
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)

Latest News
Oct. 2 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Sale set the Chicago White Sox's season strikeout record in the second inning of Friday night's game against the Detroit Tigers. By getting James McCann looking at a 3-2 breaking ball, Sale registered his 270th strikeout of the season.
Analysis: Sale entered the game with 267 strikeouts and broke the mark set by Hall of Famer Ed Walsh in 1908 when he struck out 269 batters. He became the third American League left-hander since 1972 to record at least 270 strikeouts in a season, joining David Price (2014) and Randy Johnson (1993, 1995, 1997).
Sep. 25 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Sale lost his fourth straight start Thursday against the Yankees, though he wasn't bad, yielding three runs over seven innings.
Analysis: Sale has put together three quality starts during this losing streak, but he's been backed with a 1.9 run-support average.
Sep. 19 11:21 AM PT12:21 PM MT1:21 PM CT2:21 PM ET14:21 ET18:21 GMT2:21 11:21 AM MST1:21 PM EST1:51 PM VEN22:21 UAE1:21 PM CT-Sale was beaten by the Tribe on Friday.
Analysis: Sale was charged with seven runs, one earned, in seven innings. The left-hander, who hasn't won since Aug. 21, struck out nine and leads the AL with 259.
Sep. 8 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Sale was beaten by the Tribe on Monday.
Analysis: Sale allowed three runs and struck out eight in seven innings. The lefty ace has fanned 247 this year, nearing the single-season team record of 269 set by Ed Walsh in 1908.
Sep. 2 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Sale struck out 10 but was reached for four runs in 6 1-3 innings Tuesday against Minnesota.
Analysis: Sale had a bit of an off night after going 3-0 with a 1.59 ERA over his previous four starts. He's now up to an MLB-leading 239 strikeouts on the season.
Aug. 22 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)4:09 PM CT-Sale won his third straight start Friday at Seattle, fanning 14 batters while yielding three runs in seven innings.
Analysis: Sale has struck out an absurd 29 batters over 14 innings in his last two outings, and his 222 strikeouts on the season are already the sixth-most in a single season in club history.
Aug. 17 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Sale dominated the Cubs Sunday, yielding one hit and matching a career high with 15 strikeouts over seven scoreless innings.
Analysis: Sale had gone five straight starts with single-digit strikeout totals, but seems to have clearly bounced back after allowing seven runs in back-to-back losses on July 30 and Aug. 4.
Aug. 11 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Sale allowed two runs and struck out seven over 7 1-3 innings to defeat the Angels Monday.
Analysis: Sale bounced back from two straight losing starts in which he was tagged for 14 runs and 18 hits over 10 1-3 innings.
June 30 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Sale has struck out at least 10 for the eighth straight game, matching the best run in major league history.
Analysis: Sale finished with 12 strikeouts in the Chicago White Sox's 2-1 win in 11 innings Tuesday night at St. Louis. Pedro Martinez also struck out 10 in eight straight starts in 1999 for Boston.
June 25 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Sale struck out 10 Wednesday but took his fourth loss after giving up six runs - five earned - and nine hits over 6 2-3 innings of a 6-1 loss at Minnesota.
Analysis: Sale has now struck out 10-plus batters in seven straight starts, totaling 85 over 52 innings in that span.
June 20 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Sale's brilliant start resulted in no decision Friday.
Analysis: Sale retired the first 17 batters and matched a season-high with 14 strikeouts while pitching two-hit ball over eight innings before closer David Robertson choked in the ninth inning.
June 9 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE1:46 PM CT-Sale won his third straight start Monday against Houston, striking out 14 while limiting the Astros to one run over eight innings in the 3-1 victory.
Analysis: Sale has been virtually untouchable during his winning streak, yielding only one run over 22 2-3 innings with 39 strikeouts.
June 4 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Sale struck out a season-high 13 in seven shutout innings and the Chicago White Sox beat the Texas Rangers 9-2 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Sale (5-2, 3.27 ERA) retired the final 14 hitters he faced while extending his scoreless streak to 19 2-3 innings.
May 29 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Sale dazzled in Thursday's first game of a doubleheader.
Analysis: Sale dominated the Orioles in the opener, setting a season high with 12 strikeouts, allowing four hits and no walks. He has 40 Ks in his last four starts.
May 19 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Sale allowed one run in eight innings of Chicago's 10-inning win over Cleveland on Monday.
Analysis: Sale has gone eight innings in back-to-back starts, striking out 18 and giving up three runs.
Apr. 25 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Sale has dropped his appeal of a five-game suspension for his actions during an April 23 brawl with the Kansas City Royals.
Analysis: Sale allowed five runs and seven hits Wednesday against Detroit and started serving the penalty Thursday. If there are not any postponements, he would be eligible to rejoin the active roster for the May 12 game against Milwaukee.
Apr. 13 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Sale was impressive in his season debut Sunday, striking out eight while yielding one run and five hits over six innings in a 6-2 victory versus Minnesota.
Analysis: Coming off a broken right foot suffered this spring, Sale simply looked like one of the most dominant pitchers in baseball, as he has been for the past few years.
Mar. 21 11:33 AM PT12:33 PM MT1:33 PM CT2:33 PM ET14:33 ET18:33 GMT2:33 11:33 AM MST1:33 PM EST2:03 PM VEN22:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Sale threw a bullpen session and says he's making progress while recovering from a broken foot.
Analysis: He threw from the mound on Friday, just three weeks after injuring his foot. Sale says he hopes to be back soon - maybe the second week of the regular season. Sale says he started throwing against a wall on one knee just four days after the broken foot was diagnosed on Feb. 27, but he needs to work on the other aspects of the game before he can return.
Feb. 28 10:34 AM PT11:34 AM MT12:34 PM CT1:34 PM ET13:34 ET18:34 GMT2:34 11:34 AM MST1:34 PM EST2:04 PM VEN22:34 UAE12:34 PM CT-Sale will miss the start of the season because of a broken foot.
Analysis: Sale, who was injured Feb. 27 in an accident at home, was expected to miss the April 6 opener in Kansas City but the team made it official on Wednesday. He will not resume baseball activities for at least 10 more days. White Sox executive vice president Ken Williams told MLB Network on Wednesday that the team was taking Sale on "a little slower road" rather than rush him back in time for the opener.

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.