MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#41
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
4.40 6-11 218
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-6 / 183
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 17 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Sale (left elbow inflammation) received a platelet-rich plasma injecting in his pitching elbow and is expected to be shut down for the rest of the regular season.
Analysis: Struggling through a mediocre season, Sale will likely finish 6-11 with a 4.40 ERA, but he was coming off two solid starts in which he combined for 25 strikeouts - including the 2,000th of his career - and allowed only three earned runs in 14 2/3 innings.
Aug. 13 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed five runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-6 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 6-11, allowing two hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 3-0 on Thursday. Sale struck out 13, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST1:52 PM CST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-11, allowing eight runs on nine hits in 3.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out four, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-10, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-6 on Sunday. Sale struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 5-9, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 18 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 4-9, allowing two hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-0 on Thursday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 3-9, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 3-8, allowing five runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3 on Wednesday. Sale struck out five, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 26 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed five runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 8-7 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed four runs - three earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Friday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 15 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 3-7, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 4-3 on Monday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 2-7, allowing three hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-0 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 1-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 4-1 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 1-6, allowing four runs - two earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Friday. Sale struck out five, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 19 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed three runs on four hits and five walks in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 4-3 on Sunday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on three hits in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-4 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 17, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 8 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run on three hits in 8.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-1 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 14, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 1-5, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-1 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST1:39 PM CST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-5, allowing four runs - two earned - on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Sunday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-4 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 7.43 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-4, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 8-0 on Tuesday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with an 8.50 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST3:52 PM CST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-3, allowing five runs on seven hits in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Tuesday. Sale struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-2, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Tuesday. Sale struck out one, ending the game with an 8.00 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-1, allowing seven runs on six hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 12-4 on Thursday. Sale struck out four, ending the game with a 21.00 ERA and 2.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
2015 CWS 13 11 0 - 0 31 31 1 208.2 185 88 79 23 42 0 274 1.09 3.41
2016 CWS 17 10 0 - 0 32 32 6 226.2 190 88 84 27 45 2 233 1.04 3.34
2017 Bos 17 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 214.1 165 73 69 24 43 0 308 0.97 2.90
2018 Bos 12 4 0 - 0 27 27 0 158.0 102 39 37 11 34 0 237 0.86 2.11
2019 Bos 6 11 0 - 0 25 25 1 147.1 123 80 72 24 37 0 218 1.09 4.40
Career 109 73 12 - 15 312 232 16 1629.2 1312 590 548 172 374 14 2007 1.03 3.03

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 CWS 31 9 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2016 CWS 32 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Bos 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2018 Bos 27 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 312 25 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .120 .120 .160

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Bos Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
2018 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 5 3 0 15.1 11 7 7 1 8 0 24 4.11
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.1 5 2 2 0 2 0 9 2.84
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 1 2 2 0 4 0 5 4.50
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 5.0 5 3 3 1 2 0 10 5.40
Career 1 2 0 - 0 7 4 0 25.0 24 16 16 5 9 0 36 5.76


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1145 98 86 93.1 46.43
Slider 948 85 71 78.9 38.44
Changeup 373 90 81 85.2 15.13

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.