MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Josh Tomlin
ERA W-L K
6.07 4-8 56
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 391.72
Position: SPBorn: 10/19/1984 Birthplace: Tyler, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 19th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
June 20 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed five runs on eight hits in 4.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Tuesday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 6.07 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 15 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 4-8, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 12-5 on Thursday. Tomlin struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin, who makes his next start Tuesday at Baltimore, has yielded eight runs and 16 hits over 7.2 innings in his last two outings.
June 10 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Tomlin fell to 3-8, allowing four runs - three earned - on nine hits in 2.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Saturday. Tomlin did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: This is the third time this season that Tomlin has failed to complete three innings.
June 2 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Tomlin fell to 3-7, allowing three runs on seven hits in 7.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-0 on Friday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin really shouldn't be on anybody's fantasy radar.
May 29 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 3-6, allowing one run on six hits in 9.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-1 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the right-hander's first complete game since Sept. 15, 2015, also against Kansas City and No. 5 for his career. He threw seven innings of one-run ball at Kansas City on May 6 and makes his next start Friday in KC. He is 3-0 with a 1.45 ERA and 0.81 WHIP in his last six starts against the Royals.
May 22 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-6, allowing five runs - four earned - on nine hits in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Monday. Tomlin struck out four, ending the game with a 6.70 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has lost three straight starts behind a 5.94 ERA.
May 17 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-5, allowing six runs on seven hits in 2.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4 on Wednesday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 6.86 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin was knocked around a bit after yielding two runs over 15 innings in his previous two starts. His next start will be Monday at Cincinnati, and at Great American Ball Park last May, he permitted two runs and five hits while striking out seven over 7.2 innings of a 7-2 victory.
May 12 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-4, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 1-0 on Friday. Tomlin struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 6 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed one run on three hits in 7.0 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Saturday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 7.12 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has gotten better with each start after being ripped for 13 runs over 6 1/3 innings in losing his first two. He's gone 2-1 with a 4.13 ERA in his last four outings.
Apr. 30 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 2-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Seattle Mariners 12-4 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with an 8.87 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has yet to put together a noteworthy start, though he's won two of his last three outings while getting a wealth of offensive support in both victories. The right-hander will still be worth a look when he goes up against struggling Kansas City on Friday.
Apr. 25 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Tomlin (1-3) allowed three runs - all in the fifth - on eight hits with six strikeouts and no walks over six innings of a 4-2 loss to the Astros on Tuesday.
Analysis: After posting an 18.47 ERA in his first two starts, Tomlin has a 4.50 mark in his last two.
Apr. 8 11:02 AM PT12:02 PM MT1:02 PM CT2:02 PM ET14:02 ET18:02 GMT2:02 11:02 AM MST1:02 PM EST1:32 PM VEN22:02 UAE1:02 PM CT-Tomlin had a miserable season debut Friday as he lost to Arizona, allowing six runs and seven hits in 4 2/3 innings with a walk and six strikeouts.
Analysis: Tomlin, a key contributor in the Indians' run to the World Series last year, was sharp for three innings. Then Arizona scored twice in the fourth before erupting in the fifth.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Cle 6 4 0 - 0 12 12 1 73.0 72 38 37 10 19 3 43 1.25 4.56
2011 Cle 12 7 0 - 0 26 26 0 165.1 157 80 78 24 21 2 89 1.08 4.25
2012 Cle 5 8 0 - 0 21 16 0 103.1 126 74 73 18 25 3 56 1.46 6.36
2013 Cle 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.00 0.00
2014 Cle 6 9 0 - 0 25 16 1 104.0 120 66 55 18 14 3 94 1.29 4.76
2015 Cle 7 2 0 - 0 10 10 2 65.2 47 22 22 13 8 0 57 0.84 3.02
2016 Cle 13 9 0 - 0 30 29 0 174.0 187 97 85 36 20 2 118 1.19 4.40
2017 Cle 4 8 0 - 0 14 14 1 75.2 100 53 51 14 6 0 56 1.40 6.07
Career 53 47 0 - 0 139 123 5 763.0 811 430 401 133 113 13 513 1.21 4.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Cle 27 2 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2012 Cle 21 5 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .400 .400 .400
2016 Cle 30 5 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .400 .400 .600
2017 Cle 14 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 141 16 2 7 1 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .438 .438 .500

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Cle Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.2 15 9 9 1 5 0 11 4.58
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 0 1 0 4 3.60
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 1 1 0 2 0 6 1.59
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.0 8 6 6 1 2 0 1 7.71
Career 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.2 15 9 9 1 5 0 11 4.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Cle Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 428 91 83 87.8 37.41
Curveball 250 78 71 74.7 21.85
Changeup 64 87 81 83.3 5.59
Cut Fastball 402 89 82 85.6 35.14

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.