MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Josh Tomlin
ERA W-L K
6.70 2-6 36
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 190 NFBC ADP: 391.72
Position: SPBorn: 10/19/1984 Birthplace: Tyler, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 19th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
May 22 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-6, allowing five runs - four earned - on nine hits in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-1 on Monday. Tomlin struck out four, ending the game with a 6.70 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has lost three straight starts behind a 5.94 ERA.
May 17 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-5, allowing six runs on seven hits in 2.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-4 on Wednesday. Tomlin struck out five, ending the game with a 6.86 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin was knocked around a bit after yielding two runs over 15 innings in his previous two starts. His next start will be Monday at Cincinnati, and at Great American Ball Park last May, he permitted two runs and five hits while striking out seven over 7.2 innings of a 7-2 victory.
May 12 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Josh Tomlin fell to 2-4, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 1-0 on Friday. Tomlin struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 6 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Josh Tomlin allowed one run on three hits in 7.0 innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Saturday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with a 7.12 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has gotten better with each start after being ripped for 13 runs over 6 1/3 innings in losing his first two. He's gone 2-1 with a 4.13 ERA in his last four outings.
Apr. 30 1:41 PM PT2:41 PM MT3:41 PM CT4:41 PM ET16:41 ET20:41 GMT4:41 1:41 PM MST3:41 PM EST4:11 PM VEN0:41 UAE (+1)3:41 PM CT-Josh Tomlin improved to 2-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Seattle Mariners 12-4 on Sunday. Tomlin struck out three, ending the game with an 8.87 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tomlin has yet to put together a noteworthy start, though he's won two of his last three outings while getting a wealth of offensive support in both victories. The right-hander will still be worth a look when he goes up against struggling Kansas City on Friday.
Apr. 25 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Tomlin (1-3) allowed three runs - all in the fifth - on eight hits with six strikeouts and no walks over six innings of a 4-2 loss to the Astros on Tuesday.
Analysis: After posting an 18.47 ERA in his first two starts, Tomlin has a 4.50 mark in his last two.
Apr. 8 11:02 AM PT12:02 PM MT1:02 PM CT2:02 PM ET14:02 ET18:02 GMT2:02 11:02 AM MST1:02 PM EST1:32 PM VEN22:02 UAE1:02 PM CT-Tomlin had a miserable season debut Friday as he lost to Arizona, allowing six runs and seven hits in 4 2/3 innings with a walk and six strikeouts.
Analysis: Tomlin, a key contributor in the Indians' run to the World Series last year, was sharp for three innings. Then Arizona scored twice in the fourth before erupting in the fifth.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Cle 6 4 0 - 0 12 12 1 73.0 72 38 37 10 19 3 43 1.25 4.56
2011 Cle 12 7 0 - 0 26 26 0 165.1 157 80 78 24 21 2 89 1.08 4.25
2012 Cle 5 8 0 - 0 21 16 0 103.1 126 74 73 18 25 3 56 1.46 6.36
2013 Cle 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.00 0.00
2014 Cle 6 9 0 - 0 25 16 1 104.0 120 66 55 18 14 3 94 1.29 4.76
2015 Cle 7 2 0 - 0 10 10 2 65.2 47 22 22 13 8 0 57 0.84 3.02
2016 Cle 13 9 0 - 0 30 29 0 174.0 187 97 85 36 20 2 118 1.19 4.40
2017 Cle 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 47.0 63 36 35 7 4 0 36 1.43 6.70
Career 51 45 0 - 0 134 118 4 734.1 774 413 385 126 111 13 493 1.21 4.72

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Cle 27 2 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2012 Cle 21 5 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .400 .400 .400
2016 Cle 30 5 1 2 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .400 .400 .600
2017 Cle 9 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 136 16 2 7 1 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .438 .438 .500

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Cle Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.2 15 9 9 1 5 0 11 4.58
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 0 1 0 4 3.60
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 1 1 0 2 0 6 1.59
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.0 8 6 6 1 2 0 1 7.71
Career 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.2 15 9 9 1 5 0 11 4.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Cle Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 280 90 83 87.5 39.89
Curveball 137 78 71 74.4 19.52
Changeup 43 86 81 83.2 6.13
Cut Fastball 242 89 82 85.4 34.47

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.