MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Michael Pineda
ERA W-L K
4.82 6-12 207
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-7 / 260 NFBC ADP: 164.10
Position: SPBorn: 1/18/1989 Birthplace: Yaguate, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (2005)


Latest News
Oct. 1 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Pineda lost to Baltimore in his final start of the season, allowing five runs, six hits, two homers and three walks in 4 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Pineda leads the AL with 10.6 strikeouts per nine innings, but his 4.82 ERA is among the league's worst. ''It's mind-boggling,'' Yankees manager Joe Girardi said. ''It just doesn't make sense. And you look for reasons, and believe me, we'll look, and I'm sure we'll look a long time this winter.'' Pineda went winless in his final 10 starts of the year.
Sep. 20 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Pineda allowed two runs and struck out 11 over 5 1/3 innings Tuesday before the Yankees rallied to beat the Rays.
Analysis: The right-hander hasn't received a decision in four September outings while recording a 3.00 ERA. He went 1-2 with a 5.50 ERA in his previous six starts.
Aug. 30 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-Pineda allowed five runs - three in the first - over six-plus innings Monday in an 8-5 loss at Kansas City.
Analysis: He's allowed five runs in each of his last two starts, giving him 10 outings this season where he's given up five or more.
Aug. 23 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Pineda's season-long inconsistency continued in Monday's start at Seattle, where the former Mariner surrendered five runs in 5 1/3 innings while not receiving a decision.
Analysis: Pineda had put together two straight solid starts heading into the game, including a stint of five scoreless innings against a potent Toronto lineup last Tuesday. The towering right-hander resumes his frustrating season with a home start against Baltimore on Sunday.
Aug. 16 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Pineda was in line for the win Tuesday after pitching five scoreless innings, but the Blue Jays rallied to beat the Yankees.
Analysis: The right-hander has a 1.64 ERA in his past two outings after posting a 5.00 ERA in his previous six starts.
Aug. 12 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Pineda allowed two runs and eight hits in six innings Thursday, walking two and striking out three in a no-decision at Fenway Park.
Analysis: Pineda was far from spectacular but did provide a quality start after failing to record on in his previous two outings.
Aug. 5 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-The inconsistent Pineda struggled again Friday but picked up the win after allowing four runs over six innings against the Indians.
Analysis: Pineda (6-10, 5.17 ERA) has allowed at least five earned runs in eight of his 22 starts and two of fewer 10 times.
July 26 10:43 AM PT11:43 AM MT12:43 PM CT1:43 PM ET13:43 ET17:43 GMT1:43 10:43 AM MST12:43 PM EST1:13 PM VEN21:43 UAE12:43 PM CT-Pineda delivered a second straight outstanding start Monday, limiting Houston to one run and striking out eight over seven sharp innings in the Yankees' 2-1 win.
Analysis: After allowing 10 runs over 11 innings in back-to-back losses to begin July, Pineda bounced back by fanning eight over six shutout innings to defeat Baltimore on Wednesday. He'll attempt to keep his strong run going Sunday at lowly Tampa Bay.
July 15 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Pineda had his second straight poor outing Friday, allowing five runs and three homers in five innings of a loss to the Red Sox. The right-hander gave up five runs in six innings to suffer a defeat against the White Sox in his previous start.
Analysis: Those two outings are a definite step backwards for Pineda, who had a 2.75 ERA in six June starts.
July 7 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-Pineda gave up five runs and five hits in six innings as the White Sox beat the New York Yankees 5-0 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: This was a definite step backwards for Pineda, who had a 2.75 ERA in six June starts.
June 30 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Pineda had his second straight solid start Thursday, allowing one run and two hits while striking out a season-high 12 over six innings of the Yankees' 2-1 walkoff win over the Rangers.
Analysis: Pineda also allowed one run and two hits over six innings of the Yankees' 2-1 win over the Twins on Saturday, striking out eight in that one.
June 13 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Pineda gave up two runs and struck out eight in six innings in the Yankees' 4-1 loss to the Tigers on Sunday.
Analysis: Pineda has a 2.89 ERA in three June starts after posting an 8.85 ERA in his final four May outings.
June 7 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Pineda completed seven innings for the first time in 23 starts dating to July 10 and allowed three runs and four hits Tuesday to beat the Angels 6-3.
Analysis: Pineda has put together back-to-back solid outings to quiet talk about him losing his spot in the rotation and perhaps getting sent to the minors.
May 29 8:22 AM PT9:22 AM MT10:22 AM CT11:22 AM ET11:22 ET15:22 GMT23:22 8:22 AM MST10:22 AM EST10:52 AM VEN19:22 UAE10:22 AM CT-Pineda was shelled once again Saturday, surrendering six runs and nine hits over a season-low 3 2/3 innings in a loss at Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Pineda was decent in his last start but has been mostly terrible this season. He's now 2-6 with a 6.92 ERA in 10 outings and has allowed opponents to hit .322. He's not worth a fantasy roster spot at the moment.
May 23 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Pineda won for the first time since his season debut in a 5-4 victory against Oakland on Sunday.
Analysis: Pineda (2-5, 6.34 ERA) was 0-5 with a 6.05 ERA in his seven starts since a 16-6 victory over Houston on April 6. He allowed three runs in six innings Sunday while fanning six.
May 12 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Pineda took the loss Wednesday, allowing six runs in 5 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Pineda fell to 1-4 with little hope in sight.
May 1 10:40 AM PT11:40 AM MT12:40 PM CT1:40 PM ET13:40 ET17:40 GMT1:40 10:40 AM MST12:40 PM EST1:10 PM VEN21:40 UAE12:40 PM CT-Pineda took the loss Saturday, allowing two runs and five hits in five innings.
Analysis: Pineda had won his previous three starts at Fenway Park, giving up just one earned run in each victory.
Apr. 25 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Pineda served up a career-high four home runs in Sunday's loss to Tampa Bay.
Analysis: The big right-hander allowed seven runs in five innings in New York's 8-1 defeat. Pineda, whose ERA rose to 6.95 through four starts, gets another tough assignment Saturday in Boston.

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.