MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Ivan Nova
ERA W-L K
5.07 6-11 63
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 235 NFBC ADP: 618.53
Position: SPBorn: 1/12/1987 Birthplace: Palenque, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2004)


Latest News
Jan. 28 12:28 PM PT1:28 PM MT2:28 PM CT3:28 PM ET15:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Nova and the New York Yankees have agreed to a $4.1 million, one-year contract and avoided salary arbitration.
Analysis: The agreement Thursday was $100,000 under the midpoint between the $4.6 million Nova had asked for in arbitration and the $3.8 million he had been offered. He can make $100,000 in performance bonuses.
Sep. 24 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Nova, who had allowed at least three earned runs in each of his previous seven outings, kept the Blue Jays scoreless through five before departing after a two-out walk to Martin in the sixth. He suffered his ninth loss.
Analysis: Starting in place of Masahiro Tanaka (right hamstring), Nova took the mound for the first time since allowing six runs in 1 2-3 innings of a Sept. 12 loss to Toronto.
Sep. 16 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Nova, who is 6-8 with a 5.11 ERA in 14 starts since returning from elbow ligament replacement surgery, is moving to the bullpen, manager Joe Girardi said.
Analysis: Girardi didn't completely rule out Nova making another start this season.
Sep. 13 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-Nova was horrendous Saturday in Game 2 of a doubleheader.
Analysis: Nova was charged with six runs and recorded only five outs in a horrible effort.
Aug. 26 11:03 AM PT12:03 PM MT1:03 PM CT2:03 PM ET14:03 ET18:03 GMT2:03 11:03 AM MST1:03 PM EST1:33 PM VEN22:03 UAE1:03 PM CT-Nova lost for the third time in four starts Tuesday, giving up a season-high seven runs over four innings in a 15-1 defeat to Houston.
Analysis: Nova has been disastrous lately with a 7.17 ERA in his last four starts.
Aug. 21 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Nova fell to 5-5 on Thursday.
Analysis: Nova had won four of his previous five starts, but he failed to get to the sixth Thursday, needing 94 pitches for five innings. "You're going to have days like this," Nova said. "Not going to feel perfect every time you go out there."
July 1 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE2:53 PM CT-Nova suffered his first loss Tuesday.
Analysis: Nova yielded two solo homers and eight hits and two walks while striking out seven in 5 1-3 innings.
June 25 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Nova stifled the Phillies on three hits over 6 2-3 scoreless innings, leading the New York Yankees to a 10-2 romp over the hapless Phils on Wednesday.
Analysis: The 28-year-old right-hander had not pitched in the majors since April 19, 2014, when he gave up a career-high four homers in a loss at Tampa Bay. He had Tommy John surgery 10 days later and the Yankees, seeking to stabilize an erratic rotation, activated him after three minor league rehab outings.
Feb. 3 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)2:42 PM CT-The Yankees are going to activate right-hander Ivan Nova from the disabled list Wednesday to make his first start since Tommy John surgery almost 14 months ago.
Analysis: Manager Joe Girardi said Nova was ready to return to the Yankees despite a rough final rehabilitation outing for the 28 year old, who is 40-22 in five big seasons.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 NYY 1 2 0 - 1 10 7 0 42.0 44 22 21 4 17 2 26 1.45 4.50
2011 NYY 16 4 0 - 0 28 27 0 165.1 163 74 68 13 57 3 98 1.33 3.70
2012 NYY 12 8 0 - 0 28 28 0 170.1 194 100 95 28 56 3 153 1.47 5.02
2013 NYY 9 6 0 - 0 23 20 3 139.1 135 49 48 9 44 3 116 1.28 3.10
2014 NYY 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.2 32 19 19 6 6 0 12 1.84 8.27
2015 NYY 6 11 0 - 0 17 17 0 94.0 99 54 53 13 33 0 63 1.40 5.07
Career 46 33 0 - 1 110 103 3 631.2 667 318 304 73 213 11 468 1.39 4.33

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 NYY 28 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 NYY 28 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2013 NYY 23 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 110 14 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .071 .071 .071

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 NYY Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32
Career 1 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 8.1 7 4 4 2 4 0 8 4.32


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 996 98 89 93 65.18
Curveball 455 84 76 80 29.78
Changeup 77 88 84 86.6 5.04

w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.