MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#19
Jon Jay
AVG HR RBI
.295 1 9
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 5-11 / 195 NFBC ADP: 440.14
Position: CFBorn: 3/15/1985 Birthplace: Miami, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Cardinals (2006)


Latest News
Jan. 17 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 CST3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-The Cardinals agreed to one-year contracts Friday with Jay and Peter Bourjos, leaving infielder Daniel Descalso as the team's final player in salary arbitration.
Analysis: The 28-year-old Jay set career highs last season with 151 hits, 67 RBIs and 27 doubles. He has hit .293 over the last four seasons, set a franchise record with 245 consecutive games in the outfield without an error and has a .995 fielding percentage.
Oct. 18 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 CST2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Jon Jay, slumping at the field and at the plate, was not in the St. Louis Cardinals' batting order for Friday night's Game 6 of the NL championship series. St. Louis leads the best-of-seven series against Los Angeles 3-2.
Analysis: Shane Robinson got his first start of the postseason in place of Jay, batting seventh and playing center field. Jay was batting .176 (3 for 17) in the NLCS. He failed to take charge on a catchable fly ball by Mark Ellis and the ball fell in for a double that keyed the Dodgers' go-ahead rally in Game 3.
Aug. 19 10:38 AM PT11:38 AM MT12:38 PM CT1:38 PM ET13:38 ET17:38 GMT1:38 CST10:38 AM MST12:38 PM EST1:08 PM VEN21:38 UAE12:38 PM CT-Jay drove in four runs with a homer and double to lead St. Louis to a 6-1 win over the Chicago Cubs on Sunday.
Analysis: Jay is batting .378 (28 for 74) with eight doubles and 15 RBIs in his last 18 games.
Aug. 8 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 CST2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Jay had three hits in St. Louis' 13-4 loss to the Los Angeles Dodgers on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Jay, batting .265, is 16 for 41 (.390) with three doubles and seven RBIs in his last 10 games.
Aug. 5 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 CST2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Jay had three hits and drove in two runs in St. Louis' 15-2 rout of Cincinnati on Sunday.
Analysis: Jay, batting .260, is 9 for 22 (.409) with seven RBIs in his last five games.
Aug. 3 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 CST1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Jay had two hits and drove in three runs in the Cardinals' 13-3 rout of Cincinnati on Friday night.
Analysis: Jay, batting .258 with 44 RBIs this season, is 6 for 14 (.429) with five RBIs during a streak of three straight multihit performances.
July 14 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 CST9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-Jay had four hits in Saturday's 6-4 loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: Jay has hit safely in eight of 10 games.
July 13 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 CST9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Jay's slump continued with a pathetic effort Friday in a 3-2 win over the Cubs.
Analysis: Jay went 0 for 4 and is hitting .204 in his last 28 games. Manager Mike Matheny must be baffled by Jay, who is vastly underperforming his ADP.
May 5 10:51 AM PT11:51 AM MT12:51 PM CT1:51 PM ET13:51 ET17:51 GMT1:51 CST10:51 AM MST12:51 PM EST1:21 PM VEN21:51 UAE12:51 PM CT-Jay homered and drove in the go-ahead run in the ninth to lead the St. Louis Cardinals to a 7-6 win over the Milwaukee Brewers on Saturday.
Analysis: Jay's four RBIs in the victory were a career high. He's 6 for 10 with six RBIs in the last three games after going 4 for 36 (.111) with no RBIs in his previous 12.
Apr. 16 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 CST2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Jay had two hits and two RBIs as St. Louis defeated Pittsburgh 10-6 on Monday.
Analysis: Jay is 5 for 11 in the last three games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 StL 105 287 47 86 19 2 4 27 24 50 2 4 .300 .359 .422
2011 StL 159 455 56 135 24 2 10 37 28 81 6 7 .297 .344 .424
2012 StL 117 443 70 135 22 4 4 40 34 71 19 7 .305 .373 .400
2013 StL 157 548 75 151 27 2 7 67 52 103 10 5 .276 .351 .370
2014 StL 17 44 3 13 2 1 1 9 3 5 1 1 .295 .354 .455
Career 555 1777 251 520 94 11 26 180 141 310 38 24 .293 .356 .402

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 StL Total 18 55 8 10 2 0 0 3 6 6 1 1 .182 .262 .218
    5 12 0 2 0 0 0 2 3 3 0 0 .167 .333 .167
    LCS 6 25 7 6 2 0 0 1 3 2 1 0 .240 .321 .320
    WS 7 18 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 .111 .111 .111
2012 StL Total 13 53 7 10 1 1 0 7 3 11 2 0 .189 .241 .245
    5 20 4 4 0 1 0 4 2 5 2 0 .200 .261 .300
    LCS 7 29 3 6 1 0 0 3 1 5 0 0 .207 .258 .241
    1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 StL Total 17 52 6 10 0 0 0 3 7 9 2 0 .192 .283 .192
    5 16 5 3 0 0 0 2 4 4 1 0 .188 .350 .188
    LCS 6 18 0 4 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .222 .211 .222
    WS 6 18 1 3 0 0 0 0 3 2 1 0 .167 .286 .167
Career 48 160 21 30 3 1 0 13 16 26 5 1 .188 .263 .219


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.