MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#17
Yonder Alonso
AVG HR RBI
.213 9 23
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 230
Position: 1BBorn: 4/8/1987 Birthplace: Havana, Cuba
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Reds (2008)


Latest News
May 20 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Houston Astros 3-1. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 19 4:23 PM PT5:23 PM MT6:23 PM CT7:23 PM ET19:23 ET23:23 GMT7:23 4:23 PM MST6:23 PM EST6:53 PM VEN3:23 UAE (+1)6:23 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 2 Saturday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Houston Astros 5-4. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
May 18 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 Friday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Houston Astros 4-1. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
May 16 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE2:47 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Detroit Tigers 6-0. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
May 15 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 3 with a double Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Detroit Tigers 9-8. Alonso scored once. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
May 14 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Monday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Detroit Tigers 6-3. He ended the game with a .216 batting average.
May 12 5:00 PM PT6:00 PM MT7:00 PM CT8:00 PM ET20:00 ET0:00 GMT8:00 5:00 PM MST7:00 PM EST7:30 PM VEN4:00 UAE (+1)7:00 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 3 with an RBI Saturday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Kansas City Royals 6-2. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
May 11 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 10-9. The homer was his ninth of the season. Alonso scored twice. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
May 9 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Milwaukee Brewers 6-2. Alonso scored once. He ended the game with a .218 batting average.
May 8 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
May 6 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the New York Yankees 7-4. He ended the game with a .210 batting average.
May 5 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the New York Yankees 5-2. He ended the game with a .207 batting average.
May 4 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 Friday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the New York Yankees 7-6. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
May 3 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Toronto Blue Jays 13-4. Alonso scored once. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 3 4:52 PM PT5:52 PM MT6:52 PM CT7:52 PM ET19:52 ET23:52 GMT7:52 4:52 PM MST6:52 PM EST7:22 PM VEN3:52 UAE (+1)6:52 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 13-11. He ended the game with a .212 batting average.
May 2 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Texas Rangers 12-4. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
May 1 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Texas Rangers 8-6. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Apr. 30 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 1 with two RBIs Monday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Texas Rangers 7-5. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
Apr. 29 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Seattle Mariners 10-4. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
Apr. 28 4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 3 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Seattle Mariners 12-4. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .236 batting average.
Apr. 27 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Seattle Mariners 6-5. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Apr. 26 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-4. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Apr. 25 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Chicago Cubs 4-1. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
Apr. 24 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET21:12 ET1:12 GMT9:12 6:12 PM MST8:12 PM EST8:42 PM VEN5:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Chicago Cubs 10-3. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
Apr. 23 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Baltimore Orioles 2-1. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
Apr. 22 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Baltimore Orioles 7-3. Alonso scored once. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Apr. 21 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Baltimore Orioles 4-0. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .206 batting average.
Apr. 20 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Friday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Baltimore Orioles 3-1. He ended the game with a .183 batting average.
Apr. 19 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 5 Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Minnesota Twins 2-1. He ended the game with a .196 batting average.
Apr. 17 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Minnesota Twins 6-1. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .196 batting average.
Apr. 13 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4. He ended the game with a .191 batting average.
Apr. 12 6:11 PM PT7:11 PM MT8:11 PM CT9:11 PM ET21:11 ET1:11 GMT9:11 6:11 PM MST8:11 PM EST8:41 PM VEN5:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 5 Thursday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Detroit Tigers 9-3. He ended the game with a .186 batting average.
Apr. 11 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 2 with two RBIs Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Detroit Tigers 5-1. Alonso scored once. He ended the game with a .184 batting average.
Apr. 10 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Detroit Tigers 2-1. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Apr. 8 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Kansas City Royals 3-1. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
Apr. 7 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 1-0. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Apr. 6 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Friday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Kansas City Royals 3-2. He ended the game with a .192 batting average.
Apr. 4 5:38 PM PT6:38 PM MT7:38 PM CT8:38 PM ET20:38 ET0:38 GMT8:38 5:38 PM MST7:38 PM EST8:08 PM VEN4:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
Apr. 4 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE12:00 AM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Los Angeles Angels 13-2. He ended the game with a .222 batting average.
Apr. 3 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE12:35 AM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the Cleveland Indians beat the Los Angeles Angels 6-0. The homer was his second of the season. Alonso scored twice. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Apr. 1 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 2 for 4 with a double Sunday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Seattle Mariners 5-4. Alonso scored once. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
Mar. 31 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 2 with a home run and four RBIs Saturday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Seattle Mariners 6-5. The homer was his first of the season. Alonso scored twice. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Mar. 31 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 1 for 2 with a home run and four RBIs Saturday as the Cleveland Indians topped the Seattle Mariners 6-5. The homer was his first of the season. Alonso scored twice. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Mar. 30 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Yonder Alonso went 0 for 4 Thursday as the Cleveland Indians fell to the Seattle Mariners 2-1. He ended the game with a .000 batting average.
Feb. 22 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Hoping to improve his power statistics, Alonso altered his swing last season and the baseball began to fly. After hitting just 39 home runs in his first seven major league seasons, Alonso connected for 28 in 142 games for Oakland and Seattle.
Analysis: The Indians are counting on his surge to continue. Following first baseman Carlos Santana's departure as a free agent to Philadelphia, the Indians were left with a run-producing void in their lineup and signed the 30-year-old Alonso, who became something of a poster boy for MLB's new elevation trend.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Cin 22 29 2 6 2 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .207 .207 .276
2011 Cin 47 88 9 29 4 0 5 15 10 21 0 0 .330 .398 .545
2012 SD 155 549 47 150 39 0 9 62 62 101 3 0 .273 .348 .393
2013 SD 97 334 34 94 11 0 6 45 32 47 6 0 .281 .341 .368
2014 SD 84 267 27 64 19 1 7 27 17 36 6 1 .240 .285 .397
2015 SD 103 354 50 100 18 1 5 31 42 48 2 5 .282 .361 .381
2016 Oak 156 482 52 122 34 0 7 56 45 74 3 1 .253 .316 .367
2017 Oak 100 319 52 85 17 0 22 49 50 88 1 0 .266 .369 .527
2017 Sea 42 132 20 35 5 0 6 18 18 30 1 0 .265 .353 .439
2017 Tot 142 451 72 120 22 0 28 67 68 118 2 0 .266 .365 .501
2018 Cle 44 150 18 32 4 0 9 23 14 35 0 0 .213 .279 .420
Career 850 2704 311 717 153 2 76 329 290 490 22 7 .265 .337 .408


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.