MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#24
Pedro Alvarez
AVG HR RBI
.232 18 56
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-3 / 235 NFBC ADP: 82.93
Position: 3BBorn: 2/6/1987 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Pirates (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 5 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Alvarez was placed on the bereavement list Tuesday.
Analysis: Alvarez, who has lost his spot in the lineup because of a throwing problem, may miss up to three games under major league rules.
June 30 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Alvarez had a two-run homer and three RBIs Sunday.
Analysis: Alvarez hit his 13th jack and has Monday off before a three-game set against the D-Backs.
May 24 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Alvarez hit his ninth home run in Friday's 4-3 win over Washington.
Analysis: Alvarez had gone 10 for 49 (.204) without a homer over his previous 14 games.
May 12 6:00 PM PT7:00 PM MT8:00 PM CT9:00 PM ET21:00 ET1:00 GMT9:00 6:00 PM MST8:00 PM EST8:30 PM VEN5:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Alvarez went 3 for 5 with an RBI in a 6-5 loss to visiting St. Louis on Sunday.
Analysis: Alvarez had been 1 for 14 over his previous four games.
May 3 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)5:14 PM CT-Alvarez hit a game-tying two-run homer in the ninth inning Friday against Toronto.
Analysis: Alvarez has raised his average 35 points to .204 after going 7 for 19 over the last four games.
Apr. 18 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Alvarez had a three-run shot and the Pittsburgh Pirates handed the Milwaukee Brewers their first road loss, 11-2 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Alvarez's home run tied him for the major league lead with six, but he was 1 for 21 (.048) in his previous six games. Alvarez, who also singled Thursday, is batting .186 this season.
Apr. 11 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Alvarez hit a three-run homer to cap a five-run seventh inning, which gave the Pittsburgh Pirates a 5-4 victory over the Chicago Cubs on Thursday.
Analysis: Alvarez is tied for the major league lead with five homers after his third in two games. He has seven of his 10 RBIs in the last three contests.
Apr. 10 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Alvarez and Russell Martin each homered twice Wednesday but the Pittsburgh Pirates fell 7-5 at the Chicago Cubs.
Analysis: Alvarez, who has hit 30-plus homers in back-to-back seasons, had his first two of the season in a 12-2 win over St. Louis on April 4.
Apr. 9 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)4:30 PM CT-Alvarez had a homer Tuesday.
Analysis: Alvarez is hitting .192 but his .802 OPS shows how overrated batting average can be. He's still a feared slugger who can make pitchers cringe.
Apr. 5 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Alvarez hit his first two homers of the season in Friday's win over St. Louis.
Analysis: It was the eighth multihomer game of Alvarez's career. Though he hit a career-high 36 in 2013, he only hit two home runs once.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Pit 95 347 42 89 21 1 16 64 37 119 0 0 .256 .326 .461
2011 Pit 74 235 18 45 9 1 4 19 24 80 1 0 .191 .272 .289
2012 Pit 149 525 64 128 25 1 30 85 57 180 1 0 .244 .317 .467
2013 Pit 152 558 70 130 22 2 36 100 48 186 2 0 .233 .296 .473
2014 Pit 121 397 46 92 13 1 18 56 45 112 8 3 .232 .313 .406
Career 591 2062 240 484 90 6 104 324 211 677 12 3 .235 .307 .435

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 6 20 4 6 1 0 3 7 2 7 0 0 .300 .348 .800
    LDS 5 17 4 6 1 0 3 6 2 6 0 0 .353 .421 .941
    WC 1 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 6 20 4 6 1 0 3 7 2 7 0 0 .300 .348 .800


w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.