MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#56
Héctor Rondón
ERA S K
4.60 0 56
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230 NFBC ADP: 405.92
Position: RPBorn: 2/26/1988 Birthplace: Guatire, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 17 5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 13-10 on Thursday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Rondon allowed three runs on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: How Rondon still has the confidence of manager Joe Maddon is a mystery.
Aug. 13 8:44 AM PT9:44 AM MT10:44 AM CT11:44 AM ET11:44 ET15:44 GMT23:44 8:44 AM MST10:44 AM EST11:14 AM VEN19:44 UAE10:44 AM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Saturday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 9:05 AM PT10:05 AM MT11:05 AM CT12:05 PM ET12:05 ET16:05 GMT0:05 9:05 AM MST11:05 AM EST11:35 AM VEN20:05 UAE11:05 AM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 16-4 on Tuesday. Rondon ended the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Rondon claimed the victory after he stepped in and worked 1 2/3 innings, striking out one.
July 30 3:34 PM PT4:34 PM MT5:34 PM CT6:34 PM ET18:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)5:34 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Sunday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 4.10 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 28 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Friday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 25 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-2 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 24 10:56 PM PT11:56 PM MT12:56 AM CT1:56 AM ET1:56 ET5:56 GMT13:56 10:56 PM MST12:56 AM EST1:26 AM VEN9:56 UAE12:56 AM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 21 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Hector Rondon blew his third save, allowing four runs on two hits and two walks without recording an out, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 11-4 on Friday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 19 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-2 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out three, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 19 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out three, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-3 on Saturday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Saturday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 6 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-2 on Thursday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 4 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 30 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-0 on Friday. Rondon struck out three, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 27 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 6-1 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.55 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 27 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed two runs on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Monday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 25 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Miami Marlins 4-2 on Sunday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 20 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Hector Rondon improved to 2-1, allowing one hit and two walks over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Monday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 15 9:48 AM PT10:48 AM MT11:48 AM CT12:48 PM ET12:48 ET16:48 GMT0:48 9:48 AM MST11:48 AM EST12:18 PM VEN20:48 UAE11:48 AM CT-Hector Rondon allowed two runs on four hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 9-4 on Wednesday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 7 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 10-2 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 5 10:16 AM PT11:16 AM MT12:16 PM CT1:16 PM ET13:16 ET17:16 GMT1:16 10:16 AM MST12:16 PM EST12:46 PM VEN21:16 UAE12:16 PM CT-Hector Rondon blew his second save, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Sunday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Hector Rondon improved to 1-1, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Saturday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-2 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:49 AM PT8:49 AM MT9:49 AM CT10:49 AM ET10:49 ET14:49 GMT22:49 7:49 AM MST9:49 AM EST10:19 AM VEN18:49 UAE9:49 AM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-0 on Saturday. Rondon struck out three, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Thursday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:54 AM PT9:54 AM MT10:54 AM CT11:54 AM ET11:54 ET15:54 GMT23:54 8:54 AM MST10:54 AM EST11:24 AM VEN19:54 UAE10:54 AM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Tuesday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.14 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
May 10 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 3-0 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)5:36 PM CT-Hector Rondon fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on three hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Friday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Rondon allowed a Brett Gardner three-run homer with two outs in the ninth.
May 4 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.88 WHIP on the season.
May 3 11:14 PM PT12:14 AM MT1:14 AM CT2:14 AM ET2:14 ET6:14 GMT14:14 11:14 PM MST1:14 AM EST1:44 AM VEN10:14 UAE1:14 AM CT-Hector Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-3 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 0.77 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Hector Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Saturday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.96 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 6:47 AM PT7:47 AM MT8:47 AM CT9:47 AM ET9:47 ET13:47 GMT21:47 6:47 AM MST8:47 AM EST9:17 AM VEN17:47 UAE8:47 AM CT-Rondon exited Wednesday after tweaking his left knee trying to tag Chase Utley at the plate in the ninth.
Analysis: The reliever said after the game he was better, though still a little sore, and might get an MRI on Thursday.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 ChC 2 1 0 - 1 45 0 0 54.2 52 29 29 6 25 5 44 1.41 4.77
2014 ChC 4 4 29 - 33 64 0 0 63.1 52 21 17 2 15 0 63 1.06 2.42
2015 ChC 6 4 30 - 34 72 0 0 70.0 55 19 13 4 15 2 69 1.00 1.67
2016 ChC 2 3 18 - 23 54 0 0 51.0 42 20 20 8 8 0 58 0.98 3.53
2017 ChC 3 1 0 - 3 49 0 0 47.0 43 27 24 7 20 0 56 1.34 4.60
Career 17 13 77 - 94 284 0 0 286.0 244 116 103 27 83 7 290 1.14 3.24

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 ChC 54 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC 49 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 284 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 ChC Total 0 0 2 - 2 5 0 0 5.0 5 2 2 1 1 0 4 3.60
    LDS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 3.0 4 2 2 1 0 0 2 6.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
2016 ChC Total 1 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.0 8 3 3 1 1 0 5 4.05
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 1.2 1 1 1 0 1 0 2 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 3 1 1 0 0 0 1 4.50
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 4 1 1 1 0 0 2 3.86
Career 1 0 2 - 2 12 0 0 11.0 13 5 5 2 2 0 9 4.09


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 530 100 92 96.3 62.28
Slider 297 89 81 85.5 34.9
Changeup 24 93 85 90.1 2.82

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.