MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
Andrew Cashner
ERA W-L K
2.36 2-6 59
Team: San DiegoHt / Wt: 6-6 / 219 NFBC ADP: 144.55
Position: SPBorn: 9/11/1986 Birthplace: Conroe, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Cubs (2008)


Latest News
June 23 6:12 AM PT7:12 AM MT8:12 AM CT9:12 AM ET9:12 ET13:12 GMT21:12 6:12 AM MST8:12 AM EST8:42 AM VEN17:12 UAE8:12 AM CT-Cashner was scratched from his Monday start and has been placed on the 15-day disabled list due to right shoulder soreness.
Analysis: The decision was made late Sunday. Starting in Cashner's place will be right-hander Odrisamer Despaigne, who signed with the Padres in May and will be making his MLB debut.
May 18 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Cashner is back Saturday after he has soreness and irritation in his right elbow.
Analysis: Cashner, the team's opening day starter, was on the 15-day disabled list but he's back now.
May 8 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Cashner took his fourth loss in as many starts Wednesday against the Royals.
Analysis: Cashner gave up four runs - two earned - and seven hits over a season-worst four innings. He received no run support for the third straight start and fifth time in eight starts this season.
Apr. 27 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Cashner suffered Saturday's loss.
Analysis: Cashner gave up four runs in six innings. He faces the D-Backs next.
Apr. 17 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Cashner pitched into the eighth inning while lifting the San Diego Padres to a 4-2 win over the Colorado Rockies on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Cashner (2-1) wasn't nearly as sharp as when he took a no-hitter into the sixth inning against Detroit on Friday before settling for a one-hitter with a career-best 11 strikeouts. But the righty was resourceful as he consistently pitched his way out of trouble. He held the Rockies hitless in eight at-bats with runners in scoring position. Cashner gave up nine hits overall and allowed two runs - one earned - with five strikeouts in 7 1-3 innings.
Apr. 12 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Cashner threw a one-hitter and struck out a career-high 11 in Friday's 6-0 victory over Detroit.
Analysis: Cashner took a no-hitter into the sixth inning before Rajai Davis hit a one-out flare single into center field, just past the glove of outstretched second baseman Jedd Gyorko. He ended the night by striking out two-time reigning AL MVP Miguel Cabrera on a 95-mph fastball.
Feb. 28 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Cashner gave up one hit and 18 of his 32 pitchers were strikes Friday. He didn't throw any breaking balls so he is saving those for when the games matter.
Analysis: Cashner led the Padres with a 3.09 ERA last year.
Feb. 8 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET18:28 GMT2:28 11:28 AM MST1:28 PM EST1:58 PM VEN22:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Cashner has won his arbitration case against the Padres and will make $2.4 million in 2014.
Analysis: The 27-year-old right-hander was 10-9 with a 3.09 ERA in 26 starts and five relief appearances last year.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 ChC 2 6 0 - 1 53 0 0 54.1 55 31 29 8 30 5 50 1.56 4.80
2011 ChC 0 0 0 - 0 7 1 0 10.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 8 0.66 1.69
2012 SD 3 4 0 - 4 33 5 0 46.1 42 23 22 5 19 1 52 1.32 4.27
2013 SD 10 9 0 - 0 31 26 1 175.0 151 68 60 12 47 3 128 1.13 3.09
2014 SD 2 6 0 - 0 12 12 1 76.1 69 25 20 2 22 2 59 1.19 2.36
Career 17 25 0 - 5 136 44 2 362.2 320 149 133 28 122 11 297 1.22 3.30

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 ChC 53 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 ChC 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 SD 33 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .143 .250 .143
2013 SD 34 53 7 13 1 0 1 3 1 25 2 0 .245 .259 .321
2014 SD 15 19 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .105 .105 .105
Career 142 82 9 16 1 0 1 3 2 41 2 0 .195 .214 .244

Postseason


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 828 98 86 94.1 73.02
Curveball 12 80 75 78.3 1.06
Slider 189 89 79 84.1 16.67
Changeup 105 89 81 85 9.26

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.