MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jake Arrieta
ERA W-L K
4.80 5-3 55
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 34.69
Position: SPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Farmington, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
May 21 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 5-3, allowing one run - zero earned - on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 13-6 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Arrieta had gone 2-3 with a 7.27 ERA and 1.85 WHIP in his previous five starts. He next takes the ball Friday at Dodger Stadium, where he has tossed a no-hitter in 2015. He has allowed just two hits with 20 strikeouts and five walks in his last two regular-season starts against Los Angeles.
May 14 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 4-3, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 5.44 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Arrieta has really struggled this season and is 2-3 with a 7.27 ERA in his last five outings.
May 9 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 4-2, allowing nine runs - five earned - on nine hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-4 on Tuesday in the first game of a doubleheader. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was Arrieta's shortest outing in his 105 starts for the Cubs. The right-hander has allowed at least five earned runs twice in seven outings this season after doing so five times in 31 starts last year.
May 4 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 4-1, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Arrieta gave up two runs in the first inning after being tagged for five in the first in his last start against Boston on Friday. He'll make his next start Monday at Coors Field, where he was knocked around for nine runs in five innings in his only appearance in 2014.
Apr. 29 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 3-1, allowing five runs on 10 hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Friday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Arrieta gave up five runs over six innings in the Cubs' 12-8 win over the Reds on Saturday.
Analysis: Arrieta has allowed as many homers (five) as walks in 24 2/3 innings this season.
Apr. 9 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Arrieta gave up a three-run homer to Ryan Braun but struck out 10 in seven innings of the Cubs' 7-4 win in Milwaukee on Sunday.
Analysis: That's 16 strikeouts in 13 innings so far for the fireballer, who looks like he's in Cy Young form already.
Apr. 5 7:32 AM PT8:32 AM MT9:32 AM CT10:32 AM ET10:32 ET14:32 GMT22:32 7:32 AM MST9:32 AM EST10:02 AM VEN18:32 UAE9:32 AM CT-Arrieta pitched six innings of one-run ball, helping the World Series champions bounce back from a wild 4-3 loss to St. Louis on Sunday night with Tuesday's 2-1 win.
Analysis: The run was unearned, and Arrieta struck out six while walking two. He improved to 8-2 in 14 career starts against St. Louis and lowered his ERA in his last three to 0.48.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.