MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Jake Arrieta
1.77 22-6 236
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 101.14
Position: SPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Farmington, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2007)

Latest News
Nov. 18 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET0:07 GMT8:07 5:07 PM MST7:07 PM EST7:37 PM VEN4:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Arrieta won the NL Cy Young Award on Wednesday, beating out Los Angeles Dodgers stars Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw. The Chicago Cubs pitcher got 17 first-place votes for 169 points from the Baseball Writers' Association of America in results announced Wednesday. Greinke drew 10 first-place votes and had 147 points. Kershaw had the other three firsts and 101 points.
Analysis: Arrieta led the majors in wins, going 22-6. He went 11-0 in his last 12 starts, pushing the Cubs into the playoffs for the first time since 2008. He had a 1.77 ERA, struck out 236 and pitched a no-hitter.
Oct. 13 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Arrieta struggled for the first time in a long time on Monday, but the Cubs' offense was good enough to get him his second postseason win.
Analysis: Arrieta benefited from a record six Chicago home runs after allowing four runs in 5 2-3 innings to the Cardinals. The runs were the first Arrieta has given up since Sept. 16.
Oct. 8 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Arrieta was brilliant once again in Wednesday's NL wild-card game, striking out 11 while spinning a four-hit shutout to advance the Cubs past Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The 22-game winner is on an unheard-of roll over the past two months, going 12-0 with a 0.37 ERA and holding hitters to a .136 average over 13 starts. The game's best pitcher right now, Arrieta will start Game 3 of Chicago's NLDS with St. Louis on Monday.
Oct. 3 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Arrieta allowed two singles and struck out seven in six innings in a 6-1 win over the Milwaukee Brewers on Friday night to win his 22nd game.
Analysis: Arrieta finishes with MLB-record 0.75 ERA after the All-Star break, and his 1.77 overall mark is lowest by a Cubs starter since 1919.
Sep. 23 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Arrieta became MLB's first 20-game winner and the first for the Chicago Cubs since 2001 by tossing a three-hitter in Tuesday's 4-0 win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: Arrieta (20-6) became the first Cubs pitcher since Hall of Famer Fergie Jenkins in 1971 to win at least 20 games and strike out at least 200 in a season. He also lowered his ERA to 1.88, giving him a chance to become the Cubs' first qualifying starter with a sub-2.00 ERA since Grover Cleveland Alexander had a 1.91 mark in 1920. Arrieta is 9-0 with a 0.48 ERA in his last 10 starts.
Sep. 17 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Arrieta was unable to pick up his eighth straight victory but was excellent again Wednesday, limiting Pittsburgh to one earned run over eight innings in the Cubs' 12-inning win.
Analysis: Arrieta is 8-0 with a 0.75 ERA in 10 starts since his last loss.
Sep. 12 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Arrieta earned his major league-best 19th win Friday with a 5-1 win over Philadelphia.
Analysis: Arrieta (19-6, 1.99 ERA) allowed one run while striking out seven to become the first Cubs pitcher to win that eight consecutive starts since Milt Pappas took 11 in a row in 1972. In his last 16 starts dating to June 21, Arrieta is 13-1 with a 1.00 ERA and 115 strikeouts in 117 innings. The only blemish for Arrieta on Friday was Aaron Altherr's second-inning solo homer, which halted his streak of consecutive innings without an earned run at 30 2-3.
Sep. 6 10:56 AM PT11:56 AM MT12:56 PM CT1:56 PM ET13:56 ET17:56 GMT1:56 10:56 AM MST12:56 PM EST1:26 PM VEN21:56 UAE12:56 PM CT-Arrieta became MLB's first 18-game winner and won his seventh consecutive start Saturday with a 2-0 victory over Arizona.
Analysis: Arrieta (18-6, 2.03 ERA) gave up four hits in eight innings while fanning seven and walking none. He has an incredible 0.36 ERA in his career-best win streak and is the first Chicago Cubs pitcher to win seven consecutive starts since Mark Prior in 2003.
Aug. 30 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Arrieta pitched the sixth no-hitter in the majors this season and second against the Los Angeles Dodgers in 10 days, leading the Chicago Cubs to a 2-0 victory Sunday night.
Analysis: Arrieta (17-6) struck out a season-high 12 and became the first 17-game winner in the big leagues by throwing baseball's third no-hitter in less than three weeks.
Aug. 26 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Arrieta won his fifth straight start Tuesday, striking out eight while giving up only an unearned run in six innings against the Giants.
Analysis: Arrieta has turned into one of the game's top pitchers, going 10-1 with a 1.17 ERA in his last 13 starts. Opponents are hitting just .168 against him during that stretch.
Aug. 21 11:56 AM PT12:56 PM MT1:56 PM CT2:56 PM ET14:56 ET18:56 GMT2:56 11:56 AM MST1:56 PM EST2:26 PM VEN22:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Arrieta earned his MLB-best 15th win with six scoreless innings against Atlanta on Thursday night.
Analysis: With the 7-1 victory over the Braves, Arrieta (15-6, 2.30 ERA) is 9-1 with a 1.26 ERA in his last 12 starts.
July 20 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Arrieta allowed no runs and three hits with 10 strikeouts over seven innings in Sunday's 4-1 win at Atlanta. He earned his career-best 11th victory.
Analysis: Arrieta has gone 5-0 with an 0.96 ERA over his last six starts.
July 3 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Arrieta won for the fourth time in five decisions Thursday against the Mets.
Analysis: Arrieta had another impressive start, allowing one run over eight innings in the 6-1 victory. He owns a 0.72 ERA over his last three games.
June 27 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Arrieta pitched well over seven innings but was denied his fourth win in five starts when the Cubs lost 3-2 in 10 innings to St. Louis on Friday.
Analysis: Arrieta (7-5, 2.94 ERA) gave up one run and three hits to the Cardinals. He's allowed one run in 16 innings in his last two games and is 3-1 with a 2.45 ERA in his past five.
June 22 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Arrieta recorded his second career complete game Sunday at Minnesota, yielding four hits and striking out seven in an 8-0 win at Minnesota.
Analysis: Arrieta has been better on the road for whatever reason, going 5-1 with a 2.78 ERA in seven outings away from home.
June 11 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Arrieta moved to 6-4 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Arrieta gave up three runs and eight hits in six innings. He struck out eight and walked one.
June 5 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Arrieta pitched six strong innings, and the Chicago Cubs made a pair of first-inning runs hold up as they defeated the Washington Nationals 2-1 on Thursday night.
Analysis: Arrieta (5-4, 3.04 ERA) rebounded from a pair of subpar outings by giving up a run and six hits while striking out eight. He allowed 10 runs - seven earned - in 13 innings in his prior two starts.
May 13 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Arrieta held the Mets to a run and three hits in eight innings of Tuesday's 6-1 victory.
Analysis: After allowing nine runs in 10 1-3 innings over his previous two starts, Arrieta recovered and struck out a season-high 10 batters.
Apr. 21 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Arrieta allowed one run and four hits with seven strikeouts over seven innings in Monday's 5-2 win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Arrieta has picked up where he left off last season, going 2-1 with a 1.74 ERA over his first three starts.
Apr. 9 3:26 PM PT4:26 PM MT5:26 PM CT6:26 PM ET18:26 ET22:26 GMT6:26 3:26 PM MST5:26 PM EST5:56 PM VEN2:26 UAE (+1)5:26 PM CT-Arrieta allowed three hits over seven innings, leading the Chicago Cubs over the St. Louis Cardinals 2-0 on Wednesday for their first win this season.
Analysis: Backed by just two hits from Chicago's offense, Arrieta (1-0) struck out seven and walked three. He was 10-5 with a 2.53 ERA in a breakout 2014 and improved to 3-0 with a 0.74 ERA in six career starts against St. Louis.

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.