MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#49
Jake Arrieta
ERA W-L K
2.85 18-7 186
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 22.12
Position: SPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Farmington, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 23 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Arrieta was dominant as he defeated the Cardinals on Friday, striking out 10 in seven scoreless innings while giving up five hits and a walk.
Analysis: Arrieta was back in Cy Young form after going 1-2 with a 5.32 ERA in his previous four starts. The right-hander feels he figured things out a bit Friday, saying he had been trying to hard. ''A lot of the time more effort creates some inconsistencies in my delivery,'' Arrieta said. ''Trying to do more than I have to. I had several outs today where I took my foot off the gas and I was at 60-70 percent and got nice, easy groundballs to second base or shortstop.''
Sep. 17 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Arrieta gave up four runs - three earned - and four hits with four walks over six innings in Saturday's 11-3 loss to the Brewers.
Analysis: The reigning NL Cy Young winner's ERA in September is 4.15 and has 21 walks over 37 1/3 innings in his last six starts. After throwing six wild pitches all of last season, he threw his 15th Saturday, which ties him for second-most in the majors. He's scheduled to next take the ball Saturday against the Cardinals, whom he has gone 2-1 with a 3.45 ERA in three starts against this season.
Sep. 12 9:07 PM PT10:07 PM MT11:07 PM CT12:07 AM ET0:07 ET4:07 GMT12:07 9:07 PM MST11:07 PM EST11:37 PM VEN8:07 UAE11:07 PM CT-Arrieta allowed three runs and four hits with three strikeouts in 5 1/3 innings in Sunday's win over the Astros. He cruised through the first five innings, allowing a solo home run to Jose Altuve in the fourth to go with a walk and single but ran into trouble in the sixth.
Analysis: Making his first start in more than a week, Arrieta again had control problems, throwing two wild pitches and hitting a batter. On Friday, he'll make his first start against the Brewers since yielding five runs in 5 2/3 innings on Aug. 18.
Sep. 3 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Arrieta (16-6) was charged with three runs - two earned - and four hits in six innings of Saturday's 3-2 loss to San Francisco.
Analysis: This was Arrieta's first loss since July 30.
Aug. 30 9:22 AM PT10:22 AM MT11:22 AM CT12:22 PM ET12:22 ET16:22 GMT0:22 9:22 AM MST11:22 AM EST11:52 AM VEN20:22 UAE11:22 AM CT-Arrieta was charged with six runs - matching a season high, also against Pittsburgh on July 8 - and five hits in 6 1/3 innings before the Cubs rallied to win in 13 innings Monday.
Analysis: The ace right-hander went 4-0 with a 1.98 ERA in his first four August starts, recalling his dominant second-half run to the NL Cy Young Award a year ago.
Aug. 24 9:46 PM PT10:46 PM MT11:46 PM CT12:46 AM ET0:46 ET4:46 GMT12:46 9:46 PM MST11:46 PM EST12:16 AM VEN8:46 UAE11:46 PM CT-Arrieta became the NL's first 16-game winner on Tuesday night when he allowed two hits over eight innings in a 5-3 victory at San Diego. He walked three and struck out six.
Analysis: Arrieta bounced back nicely after giving up five runs over 5 2/3 innings in a 9-6 win over the Brewers in his previous outing. He's now 16-5 with a 2.62 ERA.
Aug. 18 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Arrieta picked up his 15th win Thursday but struggled. The reigning NL Cy Young Award winner walked a career-high seven and gave up five runs over 5 2/3 innings against the Brewers.
Analysis: The right-hander came in off three straight solid outings in which he allowed three runs over 20 2/3 innings.
Aug. 12 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Arrieta pitched one-run ball into the sixth inning and gave up four hits to beat the Cardinals on Friday.
Analysis: Arrieta (14-5, 2.55 ERA) delivered a second straight solid start in August after going 0-3 with two no-decisions and a 4.88 ERA in July. The 2015 NL Cy Young winner pitched eight scoreless innings at Oakland last Saturday.
Aug. 6 4:43 PM PT5:43 PM MT6:43 PM CT7:43 PM ET19:43 ET23:43 GMT7:43 4:43 PM MST6:43 PM EST7:13 PM VEN3:43 UAE (+1)6:43 PM CT-Arrieta earned his first win in more than a month with a stellar outing Saturday in a 4-0 victory at Oakland. He pitched eight innings of three-hit ball, walking one and striking out four.
Analysis: Arrieta was 0-3 in his previous five starts and 1-4 since ending a 20-decision winning streak on June 22. He's 1-3 with a 3.89 ERA in his past six starts.
July 31 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Arrieta lost again Saturday but pitched well, yielding two runs and two hits in seven innings of a 4-1 loss to Seattle.
Analysis: The ace right-hander departed with a 1-0 lead in the eighth, but new Cubs closer Aroldis Chapman would allow the go-ahead, two-run double to Leonys Martin. Chicago has lost the last five starts made by Arrieta - a span in which he's 0-3 - but he has a 3.15 ERA and a .169 opponent batting average in three games since the All-Star break.
July 26 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Arrieta's winless streak reached four starts Monday. He didn't receive a decision after allowing four runs over six innings in the Cubs' loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: The reigning NL Cy Young Award winner is 0-2 with a 5.55 ERA in his last four outings, and he's posted a 6.14 ERA in his past five.
July 19 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Arrieta retired 14 of the first 15 Mets hitters Tuesday, when he allowed one run and struck out eight over seven innings of the Cubs' 2-1 loss to the Mets.
Analysis: This was huge for Arrieta, who posted an 8.27 ERA while losing two of his three previous outings.
July 8 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Arrieta continued his slide Friday when he allowed six runs and nine hits in six-plus innings against the Pirates.
Analysis: The reigning NL Cy Young winner has a terrible 8.27 ERA while losing two of his last three starts.
July 5 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Arrieta earned his first All-Star nod.
Analysis: Though the reigning NL Cy Young winner has allowed nine runs in 10 1/3 innings of his last two starts, he is 12-3 with a 2.33 ERA.
July 2 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Arrieta lost a regular-season road start for the first time in 14 months when Neil Walker hit a two-run homer and Travis d'Arnaud blooped a two-run single that pushed the New York Mets over Chicago 4-3 on Saturday night for their third straight win over the Cubs.
Analysis: After winning his first 12 decisions, Arrieta (12-3) lost for the third time in six starts, giving up four runs and eight hits in 5 1/3 innings. He had been 19-0 in 24 regular-season road starts since losing at St. Louis on May 7, 2015, the only pitcher since 1913 to win 19 consecutive road decisions.
June 28 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Arrieta was better at the plate than on the mound Monday, hitting a solo homer in the Cubs' 11-8 win at Cincinnati to overcome a five-inning outing in which he allowed five runs, four hits and five walks.
Analysis: Arrieta had thrown a no-hitter in Cincinnati just two months earlier. The five runs allowed were his most since he gave up six during a 7-2 loss at Great American Ball Park on Aug. 28, 2014. ''I was my own worst enemy tonight,'' Arrieta said. ''I'm not happy about it.''
June 23 8:20 AM PT9:20 AM MT10:20 AM CT11:20 AM ET11:20 ET15:20 GMT23:20 8:20 AM MST10:20 AM EST10:50 AM VEN19:20 UAE10:20 AM CT-Arrieta labored through five innings Wednesday and allowed one earned run as the Cardinals pulled away from the Cubs to hand him his second loss of the season.
Analysis: Arrieta is 2-2 in his last four starts after going 20-0 in his previous 24 dating to last July.
June 17 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Arrieta pitched two-hit ball over six innings and the Cubs beat the struggling Pittsburgh Pirates 6-0 on Friday.
Analysis: Arrieta (11-1) struck out 11 and walked three as the Cubs started the weekend series on a strong note after dropping two of three at Washington. He's now 7-1 with a 0.82 ERA in his last nine starts against the Pirates, including last season's wild-card game.
June 12 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Arrieta allowed only four hits and two runs in seven strong innings, making an impressive return to winning form as the Cubs beat Atlanta 8-2 on Saturday.
Analysis: Arrieta's 3-2 loss to Arizona on Sunday was his first since July 25 and ended a streak of 20 consecutive winning decisions. Arrieta improved to 7-0 in seven road starts and also had two hits.
June 1 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs ended their string of 23 consecutive wins in Arrieta starts with a 5-0 defeat to the Los Angeles Dodgers on Tuesday.
Analysis: The streak began after Philadelphia's Cole Hamels no-hit the Cubs on July 25. Arrieta pitched seven scoreless innings to keep his personal run of 20 consecutive winning decisions intact.
May 26 11:53 AM PT12:53 PM MT1:53 PM CT2:53 PM ET14:53 ET18:53 GMT2:53 11:53 AM MST1:53 PM EST2:23 PM VEN22:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Arrieta remained unbeaten on the season despite allowing as many as four runs for the first time in nearly a year and the Chicago Cubs beat the St. Louis Cardinals 9-8 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Arrieta joined the White Sox's Chris Sale as the only nine-game winners in the majors. Arrieta allowed four runs in a regular-season game for the first time since June 16, 2015.
May 21 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Arrieta improved to 8-0 on Friday with an 8-1 victory in San Francisco.
Analysis: Arrieta, owner of an MLB-best 1.29 ERA, gave up one run in seven innings while fanning eight. The Chicago Cubs won in Arrieta's 22nd consecutive start going back to last season, with their ace going 19-0 over that stretch. They won on the road for the 24th time in 29 games as they snapped San Francisco's eight-game winning streak.
May 15 10:10 AM PT11:10 AM MT12:10 PM CT1:10 PM ET13:10 ET17:10 GMT1:10 10:10 AM MST12:10 PM EST12:40 PM VEN21:10 UAE12:10 PM CT-Arrieta struck out 11 in eight innings Saturday in another dominant effort. He allowed three hits and two runs.
Analysis: Arrieta improved to 18-0 with a microscopic 0.75 ERA in 20 regular-season starts since Aug. 1. The Cubs have won his last 21 starts, extending a franchise record.
May 9 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Arrieta wasn't at his best on Sunday, but his unbeaten streak continued on in the Cubs' 13-inning win over Washington.
Analysis: The reigning NL Cy Young winner allowed three runs - two earned - while throwing 100 pitches through a laborious five innings. Arrieta is 17-0 with a minuscule 0.76 ERA in 20 starts since last losing to Philadelphia on July 25, 2015.
May 4 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE2:35 PM CT-Arrieta dominated the Pittsburgh Pirates yet again, scattering two hits in seven shutout innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1 on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Seven months after shutting the Pirates down in the NL wild card playoff, Arrieta allowed only singles to Sean Rodriguez in the second and Francisco Cervelli in the seventh. Arrieta (6-0) struck out five and walked two while lowering his ERA to 0.84. The Cubs have won each of Arrieta's last 19 starts. He became the first Chicago pitcher to win each of his first six starts in a season since Mordecai Brown won his first 11 starts in 1908.
Apr. 29 11:37 PM PT12:37 AM MT1:37 AM CT2:37 AM ET2:37 ET6:37 GMT14:37 11:37 PM MST1:37 AM EST2:07 AM VEN10:37 UAE1:37 AM CT-Arrieta's bid for a second straight no-hitter ended after his fifth pitch Thursday, and he had his scoreless streak at Wrigley Field snapped at 52 2/3 innings. The Chicago Cubs ace still improved to 5-0 and won his 16th consecutive decision with a 7-2 victory over Milwaukee.
Analysis: Jonathan Villar led off the game with an opposite-field, broken-bat single over third base. Arrieta finished with one run, three hits and four walks allowed in five innings, the first run he's given up at home since July 25. His run of consecutive quality starts also ended at 24, two shy of Bob Gibson's record from 1967-68. Arrieta's streak of consecutive winning decisions is the longest since Jose Contreras of the White Sox won 17 in a row from August 2005-July 2006.
Apr. 26 5:18 PM PT6:18 PM MT7:18 PM CT8:18 PM ET20:18 ET0:18 GMT8:18 5:18 PM MST7:18 PM EST7:48 PM VEN4:18 UAE (+1)7:18 PM CT-Arrieta says it is "flattering" that "some of the best players in the game" are spreading rumors that Arrieta is using performance-enhancing drugs.
Analysis: The National League Cy Young Award winner and Chicago Cubs ace didn't name names Tuesday but said his teammates have heard rumors from other players that the right-hander has used PEDs to fuel his emergence with the Cubs. The 30-year-old Arrieta credited his career turnaround to a comprehensive workout program and eating well. Manager Joe Maddon added "command and confidence" to the mix.
Apr. 21 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Arrieta pitched his second no-hitter in a span of 11 regular-season starts, shutting down the Cincinnati Reds in a 16-0 rout Thursday night.
Analysis: The reigning NL Cy Young winner threw the first no-hitter of the Major League Baseball season. Arrieta (4-0) struck out six, walked four and allowed only six balls hit out of the infield. He threw 119 pitches, retiring Eugenio Suarez on a routine flyball to right field to end it. Arrieta also no-hit the Dodgers 2-0 last Aug. 30, part of one of the best pitching stretches in club history.
Apr. 17 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Arrieta continues to be lights out for the Cubs. He allowed five hits with eight strikeouts over eight innings of Saturday's 6-2 win over the Rockies.
Analysis: He has not allowed a run in his last 48 2/3 innings - dating to last July - at home.
Apr. 11 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Arrieta pitched seven solid innings and hit a mammoth homer in a 7-3 win over Arizona on Sunday.
Analysis: His 442-foot blast is the longest by a pitcher since 2009.
Apr. 5 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Arrieta picked up where he left off last season, shutting out the Angels over seven innings in Monday's opener.
Analysis: He surrendered two hits while walking one and striking out six.
Mar. 25 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Arrieta said he isn't worried about the blood blister on his right thumb.
Analysis: The NL Cy Young Award winner was limited to a third of an inning Thursday. "It's business as usual today," Arietta said Friday. "It won't be a problem at all."
Mar. 1 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-As expected, NL Cy Young Award winner Jake Arrieta will start the Chicago Cubs' season opener.
Analysis: Arrieta led the majors in wins while going 22-6 and posting a 1.77 ERA last year. His ERA after the All-Star break was 0.75.
Feb. 5 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE10:38 PM CT-Arrieta has agreed to a $10.7 million, one-year contract, avoiding arbitration with the highest one-year deal for a pitcher with four years of major league service.
Analysis: Arrieta, who turns 30 in March, had a breakout season last year, helping the Cubs to an NL wild card. The NL Cy Young Award winner finished with a 22-6 record and a 1.77 ERA, easily cruising past most of his previous career highs. Arrieta made $3.63 million last year. He had asked for $13 million and the team had offered $7.5 million, the largest gap among players who filed for arbitration.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Bal 6 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 100.1 106 57 52 9 48 3 52 1.53 4.66
2011 Bal 10 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 119.1 115 70 67 21 59 2 93 1.46 5.05
2012 Bal 3 9 0 - 0 24 18 0 114.2 122 82 79 16 35 3 109 1.37 6.20
2013 Bal 1 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 23.2 25 19 19 2 17 1 23 1.77 7.23
2013 ChC 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 51.2 34 22 21 7 24 0 37 1.12 3.66
2013 Tot 5 4 0 - 0 14 14 0 75.1 59 41 40 9 41 1 60 1.33 4.78
2014 ChC 10 5 0 - 0 25 25 1 156.2 114 46 44 5 41 2 167 0.99 2.53
2015 ChC 22 6 0 - 0 33 33 4 229.0 150 52 45 10 48 2 236 0.86 1.77
2016 ChC 18 7 0 - 0 30 30 1 192.1 128 65 61 15 74 1 186 1.05 2.85
Career 74 45 0 - 0 166 160 6 987.2 794 413 388 85 346 14 903 1.15 3.54

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bal 18 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2011 Bal 22 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2012 Bal 24 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2013 ChC 9 15 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 10 0 0 .133 .133 .133
2013 Tot 14 15 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 10 0 0 .133 .133 .133
2014 ChC 26 39 3 7 2 1 0 3 2 16 0 0 .179 .220 .282
2015 ChC 33 79 5 12 1 1 2 2 1 45 0 0 .152 .163 .266
2016 ChC 30 63 7 17 2 1 2 7 4 28 0 0 .270 .313 .429
Career 167 206 15 39 5 3 4 15 9 103 0 0 .189 .223 .301

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 ChC Total 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 1 19.2 14 8 8 2 4 1 28 3.66
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 5 0 0 0 0 0 11 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 4 4 1 2 0 9 6.35
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 4 4 1 2 1 8 7.20
Career 2 1 0 - 0 3 3 1 19.2 14 8 8 2 4 1 28 3.66

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 ChC Total 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 1 0 .000 .167 .000
    WC 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 0 .000 .333 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 1 0 .000 .167 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1983 97 89 93.6 65.73
Curveball 369 85 76 80.6 12.23
Slider 539 93 83 89.2 17.87
Changeup 126 91 84 88.5 4.18

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.