MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#46
Craig Kimbrel
ERA S K
0.83 13 40
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-0 / 205 NFBC ADP: 76.94
Position: RPBorn: 5/28/1988 Birthplace: Huntsville, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2008)


Latest News
May 26 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 3-0 on Friday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.83 ERA and 0.37 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Kimbrel hasn't allowed a run in 13 straight appearances, spanning 12 2/3 innings. He's given up two hits without a walk and fanned 23 in that span.
May 25 8:33 PM PT9:33 PM MT10:33 PM CT11:33 PM ET23:33 ET3:33 GMT11:33 8:33 PM MST10:33 PM EST11:03 PM VEN7:33 UAE (+1)10:33 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 on Thursday. Kimbrel struck out four, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 0.39 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:48 AM PT9:48 AM MT10:48 AM CT11:48 AM ET11:48 ET15:48 GMT23:48 8:48 AM MST10:48 AM EST11:18 AM VEN19:48 UAE10:48 AM CT-Craig Kimbrel did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Friday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 0.92 ERA and 0.41 WHIP on the season.
May 18 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Craig Kimbrel did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Wednesday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 0.96 ERA and 0.43 WHIP on the season.
May 17 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-3 on Tuesday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 1.02 ERA and 0.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since blowing his only save on April 20, Kimbrel has yielded a mere two hits and racked up 17 strikeouts over 8 2/3 innings and converted six chances. He's proven he still belongs in the elite closer ranks.
May 13 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3 on Saturday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 1.08 ERA and 0.48 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since blowing his only save on April 20 in Toronto, Kimbrel has pitched 7 2/3 scoreless innings while allowing two hits and no walks with 16 strikeouts in his last eight appearances.
May 11 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel improved to 2-0, allowing one hit over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Thursday. Kimbrel struck out five, ending the game with a 1.15 ERA and 0.51 WHIP on the season.
May 7 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 17-6 on Sunday. Kimbrel struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his AL-leading 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-2 on Wednesday. Kimbrel struck out three, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.53 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his AL-leading ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Tuesday. Kimbrel struck out one, ending the game with a 1.46 ERA and 0.57 WHIP on the season.
May 1 6:55 AM PT7:55 AM MT8:55 AM CT9:55 AM ET9:55 ET13:55 GMT21:55 6:55 AM MST8:55 AM EST9:25 AM VEN17:55 UAE8:55 AM CT-Craig Kimbrel did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-2 on Sunday. Kimbrel did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 0.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Craig Kimbrel recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Friday. Kimbrel struck out three, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Kimbrel blew a save chance by surrendering a solo home run in the ninth inning Thursday in Toronto, but wound up with the win when the Red Sox scored three times in the top of the 10th before he struck out the side in the bottom half.
Analysis: Despite this hiccup, Kimbrel has so far been worth the investment for fantasy owners. The five-time All-Star had converted his first six opportunities of the season and owns a stellar 0.67 WHIP with 17 strikeouts over nine innings of work.
Apr. 9 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Kimbrel walked two and allowed a run in the ninth inning of Sunday's appearance, but struck out the side to earn the save in Boston's 7-5 win at Detroit.
Analysis: Kimbrel's outings can be an adventure, but he's now 33 of 35 in save opportunities since being acquired by the Red Sox prior to the start of last season. The hard-throwing righty also owns a stellar rate of 14.14 strikeouts through 9 innings during his tenure in Boston.
Apr. 3 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-Kimbrel had two strikeouts in a scoreless ninth Monday to get the save against the Pirates.
Analysis: Kimbrel had 31 saves in 33 chances for Boston last season, striking out 83 over 53 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Atl 4 0 1 - 1 21 0 0 20.2 9 2 1 0 16 1 40 1.21 0.44
2011 Atl 4 3 46 - 54 79 0 0 77.0 48 19 18 3 32 1 127 1.04 2.10
2012 Atl 3 1 42 - 45 63 0 0 62.2 27 7 7 3 14 0 116 0.65 1.01
2013 Atl 4 3 50 - 54 68 0 0 67.0 39 10 9 4 20 2 98 0.88 1.21
2014 Atl 0 3 47 - 51 63 0 0 61.2 30 13 11 2 26 0 95 0.91 1.61
2015 SD 4 2 39 - 43 61 0 0 59.1 40 19 17 6 22 1 87 1.04 2.58
2016 Bos 2 6 31 - 33 57 0 0 53.0 28 22 20 4 30 0 83 1.09 3.40
2017 Bos 2 0 13 - 14 21 0 0 21.2 6 2 2 1 2 0 40 0.37 0.83
Career 23 18 269 - 295 433 0 0 423.0 227 94 85 23 162 5 686 0.92 1.81

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 SD 61 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 433 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Atl Total 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.1 1 2 1 0 1 0 7 2.08
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.1 1 2 1 0 1 0 7 2.08
2012 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2013 Atl Total 0 0 1 - 1 1 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 0.00
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 1 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 0.00
2016 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
Career 0 1 1 - 1 8 0 0 8.0 1 2 1 0 3 0 13 1.13


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 198 100 96 98 64.08
Curveball 111 90 84 86.6 35.92

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.