MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#41
Carlos Santana
AVG HR RBI
.244 27 64
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 5-11 / 210 NFBC ADP: 200.02
Position: 1BBorn: 4/8/1986 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Dodgers (2004)


Latest News
Aug. 29 10:28 AM PT11:28 AM MT12:28 PM CT1:28 PM ET13:28 ET17:28 GMT1:28 10:28 AM MST12:28 PM EST12:58 PM VEN21:28 UAE12:28 PM CT-Santana was 0 for 2 with a pair of walks in Sunday's 2-1 loss to Texas.
Analysis: The Indians begin a series against the Twins on Monday and Santana is batting .327 with five extra-base hits and eight RBIs in 13 games versus Minnesota this season. He is also 5 for 16 with a homer and two doubles lifetime against left-hander Hector Santiago, the scheduled starter for the opener.
Aug. 23 10:24 AM PT11:24 AM MT12:24 PM CT1:24 PM ET13:24 ET17:24 GMT1:24 10:24 AM MST12:24 PM EST12:54 PM VEN21:24 UAE12:24 PM CT-Santana's home run in the eighth inning accounted for the only scoring in the Indians' 1-0 victory at Oakland on Monday.
Analysis: The blast was Santana's 27th homer, tying his most in a season, and second in six games. He's 7 for 19 with five runs scored over that stretch.
Aug. 14 9:50 AM PT10:50 AM MT11:50 AM CT12:50 PM ET12:50 ET16:50 GMT0:50 9:50 AM MST11:50 AM EST12:20 PM VEN20:50 UAE11:50 AM CT-Santana (head contusion) has been cleared to play and will likely be in the lineup Sunday. He was hit in the head by a foul ball while standing in the dugout Thursday.
Analysis: Santana will get to face one of his favorite pitchers in his return, going up against Jered Weaver. Santana's .556 average in 27 at-bats, is the highest of any of the 123 players that have faced Weaver at least 20 times.
Aug. 12 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET19:47 GMT3:47 12:47 PM MST2:47 PM EST3:17 PM VEN23:47 UAE2:47 PM CT-Santana didn't play Friday after being hit in the head by a foul ball while standing in the dugout Thursday.
Analysis: Santana was back in the dugout wearing a batting helmet Friday and scrambled out of the way of another foul ball in the first inning. He will undergo further evaluation to determine if he has a concussion.
Aug. 11 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Santana suffered a contusion on the right side of his head after he was hit in the dugout by a foul ball Thursday night.
Analysis: Santana, who hit a leadoff home run in the first inning of Cleveland's 14-4 win over the Angels, was standing behind the railing on the top step of the dugout and went down after being hit.
Aug. 2 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Santana went 3 for 4 with his 23rd home run on Tuesday, but it wasn't enough in a 10-6 loss to the Twins.
Analysis: It was certainly a good sign for the Indians after Santana had batted .130 over his previous 13 games.
July 31 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Santana left the game in the ninth with cramping in his right hamstring,
Analysis: Manager Terry Francona said he'll be OK, which is good news for the first-place Indians and their World Series hungry fans.
July 20 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Santana hit a solo home run Wednesday.
Analysis: Following a 14-game hitting streak, Santana has gone 2 for 10 in his last three.
July 20 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Santana drove in two runs for Cleveland in Tuesday's 7-3 win over the Royals.
Analysis: Santana is 1 for 7 in the last two contests since the conclusion of a 14-game hitting streak. Getting on track won't be any easier Wednesday, as he is 0 for 12 against scheduled starter Ian Kennedy - tied for his worst mark among the 110 pitchers he has faced at least 10 times.
July 17 10:51 PM PT11:51 PM MT12:51 AM CT1:51 AM ET1:51 ET5:51 GMT13:51 10:51 PM MST12:51 AM EST1:21 AM VEN9:51 UAE12:51 AM CT-Santana continued his hot stretch with three hits and two RBIs in Saturday's 5-4, 11-inning loss at Minnesota.
Analysis: Santana is 20 for 55 (.363) with four homers and nine RBIs during a career-best 13-game hitting streak.
July 10 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Santana went 2 for 5 with a run scored in Sunday's loss to the Yankees to extend his hitting streak to 11 games.
Analysis: Santana is hitting .356 with nine extra-base hits - including four home runs - over the streak, which has raised his season average from .237 to .253.
July 8 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Santana hit a leadoff homer Friday, the fourth time he's gone deep in his last eight games.
Analysis: It was the 20th homer of the season for Santana, with half of those coming in his last 25 contests. He's batting .351 with 11 RBIs in his past 16 games.
July 4 6:47 AM PT7:47 AM MT8:47 AM CT9:47 AM ET9:47 ET13:47 GMT21:47 6:47 AM MST8:47 AM EST9:17 AM VEN17:47 UAE8:47 AM CT-Santana stayed hot with two hits - including a double - in Sunday's 17-1 loss to the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Santana had three two-hit games with two home runs and two doubles to conclude this series.
July 2 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Santana went 2 for 3 and homered for a second straight day in Saturday's loss at Toronto.
Analysis: The slugger has played a big part in the Indians' rise to the top of the AL Central. Santana is hitting .351 over his last 10 games and has eight homers and 15 RBIs in 19 contests since June 12.
July 1 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-Santana homered in the 19th inning off infielder Darwin Barney and the Indians set a franchise record by winning their 14th straight game, 2-1 over the Blue Jays on Friday.
Analysis: Santana also doubled in eight at-bats and scored Cleveland's other run. He has eight homers and 18 RBIs in his last 25 games.
June 28 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Santana hit a tie-breaking single in Cleveland's three-run ninth inning of Tuesday's 5-3 win over Atlanta, it's 11th straight victory.
Analysis: He is 6 for 18 in five games.
June 24 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Santana had two hits Friday against the Tigers.
Analysis: He has 12 RBIs in his last 13 games.
June 23 7:22 AM PT8:22 AM MT9:22 AM CT10:22 AM ET10:22 ET14:22 GMT22:22 7:22 AM MST9:22 AM EST9:52 AM VEN18:22 UAE9:22 AM CT-Santana went 2 for 3 with a double and two RBIs on Wednesday.
Analysis: Santana finished 4 for 11 with a homer and four RBIs in a three-game series against the Rays. He has five home runs in his last 10 contests.
June 20 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Santana homered for one of his two hits Monday.
Analysis: He's homered five times over his last eight contests.
June 17 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Santana hit a leadoff homer in the ninth inning to lift the Cleveland Indians to a 3-2 win over the Chicago White Sox on Friday night.
Analysis: Santana drove an 0-2 pitch from Nate Jones (2-2) over the wall in center for his 14th homer, stopping Cleveland's three-game losing streak. Both of Santana's hits in 14 at-bats over the last four games left the park.
May 20 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Santana belted a pair of two-run homers in Thursday's victory at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Santana appears to be heating up, as he drove in seven runs during the four-game series with the Reds and is hitting .300 over his last eight outings.
Apr. 28 8:41 AM PT9:41 AM MT10:41 AM CT11:41 AM ET11:41 ET15:41 GMT23:41 8:41 AM MST10:41 AM EST11:11 AM VEN19:41 UAE10:41 AM CT-Santana had three hits Wednesday.
Analysis: Santana is 10 for 26 on the Tribe's trip.

w12 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.